We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lies and sub-standard accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We wanted to do the Tongariro Crossing and were tossing between The Park and another provider. The Park's package was cheaper but the other provider had a much earlier shuttle. We emailed The Park re shuttle times and were told that the manager had said they could organise a 6.30am shuttle for us no problems (theirs goes at 7.30am, which is way late unless you like going at snail pace because of the crowds ahead of you). So with the promise of a 6.30am shuttle, we booked (and paid unfortunately).

When we arrived, we received a very lukewarm welcome from the receptionist (you know, the kind who won't even hide that she doesn't give a toss about you). When we asked for the 6.30am shuttle, we were told that no, they don't do that, the person who told us that did not work there any more and there was nothing they would do about it. Another receptionist came who was friendlier but made it clear she didn't care about the whole situation. And then she said "It doesn't matter anyway because the Crossing will most likely be cancelled tomorrow because of the bad weather". Actually, it did matter a LOT to us, because if we hadn't been lied to, we wouldn't have booked there in the first place. When I booked, I put a note in the comment box about wanting the 6.30am shuttle, so they had plenty of time (I booked back in August) to ring us and tell us it wasn't possible IF they cared. We felt we had been lied to so we would book (and hand our money over upfront) but they knew all along they would never keep their promise. If you have any special requirements, be aware that they are unlikely to be fulfilled even if you have it on an email from them.

Disappointingly (and unlike other providers), there is no refund or alternative offered when the Crossing is cancelled. So read the T&Cs very carefully. If it's cheap, you'll get cheap service. We asked if they could drop us off at the Old Coach Road instead, but they refused. Given that they'd got our booking through false promises, you'd think they would at least try to make up for it and do a small gesture to keep us happy-ish.

Our room was dismal: tiny and badly designed. The only window in the bedroom faces onto the covered walkway, so everyone who walks past can see into your room. If you want privacy, you have to pull down the blinds, which plunges you into darkness. There are two inadequate ceiling lights and a number of fluorescent tubes on the walls, which make you feel like you are in a supermarket or an office. Not very cosy. The TV is on the wall opposite the bed but to the side, so you end up with a crick in your neck by the end of a movie. The furniture is tatty (I think even the Sallies would reject it) and recycled from the office. The only bedside table still had labels on it that read "cleaning supplies" and "lost and found". As mentioned, the room had only one bedside table for a double bed and no bedside lamp at all. If we wanted to read in bed, we had to turn on the fluorescent lights on the opposite wall. This made it impossible for one person to read and the other to sleep, as it was way too bright. Not to mention that you had to get in and out of bed every time you wanted to turn the lights on and off. Apart from the bedside table, there was no other table or desk to put things on, so not a very practical room. Whoever designed it, should be fired. The bathroom was adequate although tiny (you couldn't do a star jump in there without maiming yourself). Because the window leads onto the walkway, you cannot sleep with the window open as it wouldn't be safe. Our first night was very hot and uncomfortable because of this. We had the bathroom window fully open but that didn't provide much in terms of air flow. The partition walls are incredibly thin and you can hear everything in the rooms next to and above you. The floorboards creak awfully, so every time the people above us moved about in their room, it made a hell of a racket for us.

The spa was filthy. It was full of leaves and bits of blue foam from the cover floating on the surface and sitting at the bottom. Clearly, it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. Again, we felt we were promised something that was not supplied.

The breakfast and packed lunch were good. We didn't have any other meals at The Spiral as we were loath to spend another dollar in that place. I think the worst in all of this for us was that we were never give an apology for being misled. The old "this person doesn't work here any more" has got to be the worst cop-out in terms of customer service. Needless to say, we will never return to The Park. We finally did the Tongariro Crossing yesterday and stayed at our first choice of accommodation and we had an absolutely fantastic time. Good to see customer service still does mean something to some.

All in all, it was dreadful customer service, poor facilities and dismal value for money,

Room Tip: Stay away from room 21; has double bed but only one bedside table and no bedside lamp.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natleamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, General Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Wow you have a lot to say. I hope people don't listen to the rubbish you have written. This is an awesome place to stay with awesome people working in it. I don't normally write back on reviews in this manner, I generally have time and effort to put into reviews and customers who actually appreciate life and treat people with respect. You treated my staff as if they below you with no courtesy at all. You are the one that should be ashamed!
My staff were at fault for saying they would do the 6.30am transport but you failed to mention they would try and rectify the situation if the crossing did go. But it didn't so there was no need to continue with this.
My staff are awesome with our guests but they can only take so much from people like you. If you are going to leave a review like this then at least speak the whole truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for The Park Hotel Ruapehu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2017

Like most people we stayed here to access the Tongariro Crossing. We stayed for 4 days to maximise the chance of the weather breaking, which it did; for 1 day.
The rooms are small and very basic. My feet hung out of the single bed (I am 6ft tall) and we had to be very tidy to make sure we could move around. The worst thing though was the noise. Walls are paper-thin and when our neighbours took a shower I though they were in the same room! We could hear conversations next door and from outside quite easily. The gutters are blocked which means that when it rains water pours onto the walkway so you get wet, even though you are under cover. There are two laundries, though the staff use the upstairs one to wash the linen, so you may want to avoid that if possible. On a positive, all the staff were friendly and the food is good, though only one person serves drinks and takes food orders at the bar, so you may be queuing for a while. On the day the weather broke this amazing mountain appeared from nowhere and suddenly the views were spectacular. Most tour companies will pick up from here which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Five-star-critiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We will address the maintenance issue regarding the guttering, thank you for bringing this problem to our attention.

It is great to hear that you were able to see the mountains during your stay and enjoyed our restaurant and found the staff to be helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stayed for one night on 29DEC, 2016 with my family.
Room was clean and staff was friendly enough for me.

As other rooms got a mini fridge (I could see through windows), I requested for one but they just said don't have one for my room. A bit shame as I remember that I had one when I stayed here a few years back with my friends in a similar room.

Except that it was all good. Cozy & nice place to stay. Quite at night for a sleep.
Location is good for hiking. Has a nice bar and restaurant for breakfast, dinner and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, apologies again for the lack of fridge in your room. We hope you were able to make use of the fridges in our guest kitchen that were pointed out to you. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities onsite:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff and great hotel. Nice modern room and bathroom. I wish there was bathtub but it seams it's very New Zealand thing not to have one as I havnt had in any hotel I've stayed so far. Great packages for the Tongariro Crossing hike - hotel organise drop off and pick up and also pack very nice lunch! Good food in the Spiral restaurant for very reasonable prices and when the bar is closed before 4 the reception staff was very happy to organise drinks for me so I could enjoy cool bev after all day hike and admire the view from the restaurant that is overlooking Mt Ruapehu and Togariro.
Definitely recommend! Only small minus is that you can hear your neighbors as the wall is very thin however everybody get dead quiet after 8.30pm so I still got very good and comfortable sleep.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank arutkowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while completing the Tongariro Crossing:)

It is great to hear that your stay was comfortable and made easy with our Crossing Package and you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant as well:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The location of the place is good for doing all the hikes in the area. From the outside the hotel looks like an old barn, the rooms are standard with a tiny toilet/shower. They have a common area with kitchen and TV. On a good note, the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is an OK hotel, so don't expect more. It is good for hiking the area for some days or if you need a shower and nice bed after days of camping.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gerald_WuPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello Gerald,

Thank you for your comments.

We agree, the location of the hotel does make it ideal for those who want to get out and explore Tongariro National Park:) We are glad to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,604 reviews
12.7 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
25.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
264 reviews
0.2 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
510 reviews
0.4 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: ₹ 4,693 - ₹ 7,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay and gateway to all Tongariro National Park adventures and the outstanding Whakapapa, Happy Valley and Turoa snow resorts. The hotel enjoys stunning views of Mounts Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe — perhaps better known as Mt Doom in The Lord of the Rings. We are the only genuine 3 star hotel in the region and our restaurant has the most extensive menu. We offer a quality mix of Queen, Twin and Family Mezzanine rooms for your comfort. We provide a friendly, relaxed environment for you to stay after your day’s activities. Whether you’ve walked the Tongariro Crossing, skied, snowboarded or ventured onto a mountain bike trail — our outdoor hot tubs are waiting to soothe you on your return. Then treat yourself to a drink or two in front of our inviting log fire before dinner at The Spiral, our cosy Aspen lodge style restaurant. Conference, team building, special interest group & wedding facilities are also available at our Tongariro National Park hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing