We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Saaga
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yllasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place but...”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in chalet- which are not a chalets but apartments with its own living room, kitchenette, small bedroom, obviously bathroom, sauna and balcony. The apartment was very clean and very functional with gorgeous views of the slopes. We liked the location- 200 m from the slopes, if you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are a few restaurants just opposite with a nice atmosphere and open fire. There is a very well equipped rental shop.
The bits which we didn't like that much was the gondola not running- although on our way back to the airport (08/02) it started running again. It was a great shame as I really wanted to go up to the top to see the views. Also, I found, as one of the previous reviews mentioned, the information given was very limited and not forthcoming- if you ask the question you most likely will get an answer (but one at the time) but do not expect to be told in advance. I am not sure if it is because they just try to get the last penny out of you even if there are cheaper options or it's just the way it is in Finland. I actually found this in my dealings with all the other places around the area as well. It wasn't clear how to get the sauna in our apartment going- there was no mention about that in the brochure. When we got to the reception the lady at the reception had already prepared diagram of how to get it working- most likely other guests ask the same question many times- why not to include it in the brochure from the start? The same applies to the information about the ski bus- it is not clear where the bus actually stops and different leaflets give different information, and as it was -30 outside and we didn't know whether the bus will run on time we were waiting for the bus inside the hotel foyer so when the bus came, it stopped only for a few seconds and left when we were coming out with our bags- again the receptionist knew we were waiting for it- why not to say 'go outside as it comes on time and leaves if it does not see anyone waiting outside', or why not to contact the bus company and say that the hotel has particular number of guests to be picked up? If it stops in front of the hotel it means it's there for the convenience of the hotel guests. Eventually, we ended up taking a taxi and paying extra 20 Euro.

So all in all I am not sure if we ever return, maybe now knowing how things work it would be easier and less frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    172
    58
    14
    4
See reviews for
205
136
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Went half board and would recommend this option as food is expensive. Hotel has great amenities and even a ski/ boot room. Not much around the hotel but Taiga is good for lunch and hot chocolate.

Much more important it the skiing/ boarding. The snow was great and a runs almost empty. Just be aware the gondola closes in high winds.

Definately recommended and would go back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertieandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Wonderful location etc, spoilt by resorts penny pinching refusal to run gondola, which makes a huge difference to skiing in minus 25-30 deg. The slightest of winds gives them the excuse to close gondola, after chatting to locals it turns out it is all down to cost, also chair lift on other side of resort doesn't run till week 8! Either open a resort or don't! Only option is slow, freezing, long draglifts. Wouldn't return for this reason alone. Same goes for hotel, superb but again penny pinching spoils it, breakfast one morning was scrambled eggs with last nights veg, broccoli etc! Meatballs and potatoes, seems they like to recycle everything here! Most meals were same, leaving us guessing how they were going to reuse the last meal. It seems since they developed resort they are tryin to squeeze every last penny, even short bus trips are €6 never been to a ski resort and paid for local ski bus. most people I spoke to said they would not return for same reasons as above, what a shame! This resort will go bankrupt at this rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We went here for a week on a Half Board, exhursions included trip with Inghams travel.

Good: ski slopes at your doorstep, rooms are large, fridge in room, clean and comfy, bathroom good with AWESOME shower, heated floor and drying closet (great for a bit of clothes hand washing), staff are very welcoming, helpful and fluent english, free internet but only in reception/bar, private balcony off room, restaurant is big and easy to get food from buffet, FOOD WAS FINE! breakky has good range of cold options, hot breakky and usual european cheese/ meats things too, coffee is machine made but ok, dinner buffet was good, different menu each night with usual two meat options (beef or fish for eg) mixed vege (probably from frozen pack but who cares, it's vegies) potatoe bakes, french fries, salal bar, soup of the day, dessert bar with 3 options. All the stuff you need for a full belly! local bus from hotel door to get to shopping area 25 mins away so catch the bus, enjoy the scenery, grab some self catering stuff for your lunch and you're all set. Heaps of activity guides and schedules to choose from if you're bored. Gym, pool, spa and sauna all good, clean and accessible. tv in room with english stuff on every day, ski shops, bar/restaurants/ activity providers just across the car park (check opening times regularly as they may change) prices for food at german themed place is great (recommend the bratwurst, mash and kraut for a cheap lunch)

not so good: alcohol prices! YIKES! 5EU for a beer 330cl at the hotel and similar around the place ( GET YOUR OWN AT ALKO SHOP at shopping centre when you're there) broadband in room didn't work but WIFI throughout is on it's way they said, tv only 8 channels, beds are ok but could be more modern.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the slope,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (age 4 & 6). We spent 8 days over Christmas 2011 in the Yllas Saaga Spa Hotel with Inghams and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and just about big enough for us all and the hotel was very child friendly (loved the kids play area in reception, right next to the log fire and sofas - with free wifi). It's right on the ski slope with some great beginner slopes where we took the kids sledging and gave them their first introduction to skiing! I can recommend the creche at the bottom of the slope, as well as the outside play area which the kids loved. My only complaints would be that the pool was very cold which was a real shame, and also the food in the buffet left a lot to be desired. Rather reminiscent of school dinners. The hotel does have an À la cart restaurant which serves great food. We were half board though so rather resented paying twice for dinner, although after 3 nights we really needed a night off from the buffet! If I was going back I'd definitely only go b&b and fork out for the a la cart dinner each night (although the menu didn't change all week so it is bit limiting). There are no local restaurants open in the evening so you're stuck in the hotel. We didn't go for the food though and had been pre-warned by friends. The kids absolutely loved the Santa's secret hideaway excursion and my husband and I particularly enjoyed the mini-safari. Thankfully the 2 Father Christmas' we saw were very similar. I'm very glad we saw him twice as the first time the kids saw him they were completely dumbstruck and couldn't utter a word!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, facing the top of the slopes apparently are facing the right direction for northe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxfordsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yllasjarvi
36.5 km away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.8 km away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#2 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
6.9 km away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#4 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 km away
Hotel Levi Panorama
37.1 km away
Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)
37.7 km away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Saaga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Saaga

Property: Lapland Hotel Saaga
Address: Iso-Yllaeksentie 42, Yllasjarvi 95980, Finland (Formerly Yllas Saaga)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Yllasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yllasjarvi
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,083 - ₹ 17,019
Hotel Class:4 star — Lapland Hotel Saaga 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lapland Hotel Saaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yllas Saaga Hotel Yllasjarvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing