We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
151
41
19
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
41
19
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking holiday the owner medieval town beautiful view both nights a wonderful stay lovely hotel great character toast buffet style staff were very friendly loved this hotel pastries the main square jesus castle tailor
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Lovely little hotel / restaurant in the stunning village of Santa Pau .Warmly greeted by Eve and Jesus and quickly shown to our fab room with all the facilities that one would want .All Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.Breakfast which was very good was taken in the cafe / bar and was buffet style with the usual culprits .We had dinner included with our two night stay as part of a walking holiday so appeared not to have access to the full menu which was a bit of a disappointment as it looked fabulous.Helpful tip ask Jesus to mix you a special gin and tonic and sit back and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Propietario at Cal Sastre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Gordon10,
Thank you very much for sharing your sincere and pretty comment. We are happy to know that You enjoyed the Cal Sastre Hotel-Restaurant. We hope to see you again next year!
With best wishes,
Team Cal Sastre, Jesus & Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This place is a dream of a hotel! Eva and her team are superbly welcoming; the facilities in the suite were simply extraordinary; and there are delightful views across the town to the mountains. The wonderful service and the lovely location in the cobbled town square are like something out of an exotic movie - quite remarkable. A wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Get a suite! Very well worth the small extra charge.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rickanstis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Propietario at Cal Sastre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Rickanstis,
Thank you very much for sharing your sincere and pretty comment. We are happy to know that You enjoyed the Cal Sastre Hotel-Restaurant. We hope to see you again next year!
With best wishes,
Team Cal Sastre, Jesus & Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful little hotel in the heart of the medieval village, next to the castle. We upgraded to their suite for a very modest cost and it was definitely worth it. Gorgeous accommodation, and an amazing shower. Not to mention the toilet with integral shower and bidet. Once experienced, immediately addictive. The food is excellent, and the proprietors are friendly and welcoming. We loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Propietario at Cal Sastre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Dinah,
Thank you very much for sharing your sincere and pretty comment. We are happy to know that You enjoyed the Cal Sastre Hotel-Restaurant. We hope to see you again next year!
With best wishes,
Jesus & Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

The Cas Sastre hotel has been open only 18 months following a major reconstruction of the cloistered building in the main square of Santa Pau opposite the castle. The building has great character yet the bedrooms have been fitted out with style and sympathy. The bedrooms and bathrooms have high quality fixture and fittings and it was great to soak in a tub after a days walking in the stunning countryside which surrounds the town. The restaurant was started by the current owners mother and father in the tailor shop which his grand father ran. Great family connections to compliment the excellent food served. Breakfast is buffet style in the breakfast room but there is a great range and choice, and should suit the majority of tastes. Definitely a place we would go back to!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Propietario at Cal Sastre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for sharing your sincere and pretty comment. We are happy to know that You enjoyed the Cal Sastre Hotel-Restaurant. We hope to see you again next year!
With best wishes,
Jesus & Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We were welcomed immediately by the owners Eva and Jesus with open arms. It was like returning home to old friends. Cal Sastre was a very special experience because of the comfort, dedication, pride, and friendliness that Eva and Jesus showcase. The hotel itself is based on history of Jesus's grandfather being a well-known tailor of the area. Trinkets and antiques were sprinkled throughout the hotel to link back to this piece of history and add personal touches to the atmosphere. The rest of the hotel functioned modernly with antique charm, woodwork, and thoughtful spaces. The room was quite large with a comfortable bed, picture windows, a jacuzzi tub (with shower), and many other touches that added to a romantic stay. While Eva does a perfect job running the hotel, Jesus orchestrates delicious meal experiences at the adjoining restaurant. He takes care of his guests with a glass of cava and has a comprehensive menu of offerings. A specialty is the fesoles de Santa Pau (white beans). You must order those to start for an authentic experience! Finish your meal with the cheese plate and some homemade rataffia digestif.
Location-wise, the hotel is situated perfectly in the volcanic area in order to explore the parks and swim in the waterfalls.
We wished we had more time to stay at Cal Sastre to not only continue exploration of the area but to be around Eva and Jesus. What a dynamic duo!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JLytton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Propietario at Cal Sastre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear JLyton3,
Thank you very much for sharing your sincere and pretty comment. We are happy to know that You enjoyed the Cal Sastre Hotel-Restaurant. We hope to see you again next year!
With best wishes,
Jesus & Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews