We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the bill!”

The Black Horse Inn Chesham
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Chesham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Your classic country pub, lovingly restored. Large beer garden to the rear, traditional nook with fireplace inside. Originally built in the 18th c so beware the low beams ! The pub is open 12pm to 11pm Tuesday to Saturday, Sunday 12 till 10.30pm cask ales, great wines and lagers available. Our food is homemade with fresh ingredients, local where possible and served Tuesday to Thursday 12 till 2pm and 6 to 9pm Friday and Saturday 12 to 9pm. Sunday 12 till 6pm.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have visited over the last week and ordered the same drinks. The first night the bill came to £ 16.80 the next night £15.00 and the third night £ 17.80. It’s a lovely pub with friendly staff but it does put you off if your being charged different prices and we are talking four drinks in total of which two were soft drinks .

Thank franceso478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHorseTeam, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn Chesham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Good afternoon Frances

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent visits to the The Black Horse Inn. Wonderful to hear that you have found us to be lovely & friendly but very concerning to hear that your charges have not been consistent.
I am very keen to look into this to work out why the exact same order has been different each time you have visited. We do offer a reduced price on some of our products on week days between 3pm & 6pm as part of our 'Three O' Clock Club' and our wine list has recently been updated so this may have had a bearing on the pricing. That being said we have a very detailed till system that will allow me to track things for you if you can provide the day and time of visit and what the order consisted of.

If you would like to contact me (Lisa Walker, General Manager) at the pub on 01494 784 656 I will of course look into this for you with haste.

I look forward to hearing from you

Warmest regards
Lisa & The Black Horse Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

A little expensive and food menu could be a little more exciting, but a truly great family pub. Go and enjoy!

2  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHorseTeam, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn Chesham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Good afternoon Anna

What a joy it is to read your review, we are so pleased to hear that you value you us as a great family pub. Our team work so hard to ensure that this is exactly what our lovely guests experience so they were so happy to see your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Warmest regards
The Black Horse Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A friendly and welcoming setting with good quality food and attentive service. An excellent mix of historical ambience and modern young staff.

Thank ArtM260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHorseTeam, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn Chesham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Good afternoon Art

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to us at The Black Horse Inn. What a pleasure to hear that it was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Warmest regards
The Black Horse Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Had been told previously that there was only one decent pub in Chesham (the Queens Head - see seperate review - and yes that is a decent pub). However after driving around we stopped here randomly - and were not disappointed.

Stopped initially for just a drink. Cozy seat by the fire. Decided to have some food aswell and another drink. All very convivial. Very friendly landlord who recommended a particular white wine and then made a point of coming over to our table to direct my wife to it on the menu. A nice touch.

Good chicken burger and chips. Good draft beer. All in all what's not to like. Dog friendly and possibly the lowest ceiling beams in places that I've ever seen in a pub. So remember to duck!

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHorseTeam, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn Chesham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Good afternoon Rhod

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your visit to us at The Black Hore. It is wonderful to hear that despite only popping in for a drink you were tempted to try some of our home cooked food and that your experience was a wholly positive one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon, perhaps when the weather is more agreeable and you have the chance to enloy our glorious garden rather than the cozy fire.

Warmest regards
The Black Horse Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

WOW What can l say except THANK YOU SO MUCH for a wonderful meal and Fantastic service. WE were a party of 6 celebrating my mother in laws 86th birthday this lunch time. And your VEGETARIAN ONION ROAST is to die for and worthy a daily showing on the menu, not just a Sunday thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jojo64174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHorseTeam, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn Chesham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Good afternoon

What a delight it is to read your wonderful review. It is always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed visitng and even more so when they have chosen to spend treasured occasions with friends & family with us.
The vegggie roast is a big hit with our guests (and team!!) so again great to hear that it was a hit with you too.

We very much look forward to seeing you all again

Warmest regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse Inn Chesham also viewed

Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
 
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
 
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Black Horse Inn Chesham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing