We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
83
105
98
66
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
105
98
66
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great wedding venue friends wedding wonderful setting wedding breakfast stayed one night bed and breakfast full english breakfast following morning plenty of parking afternoon tea yogurt conference disco orangery
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I arrived with my husband and daughter late one evening as we had travelled after work from Devon. Unusually, I completely messed up witht he on line booking. Nevertheless the reception and management were able to book us in and to rectify the finer booking rates and details. Very much appreciated and would highly recommend.

We stayed one evening and only had breakfast so not sure what other meals or bar facilites are.

My only comment was that arriving in the dark near midnight it was very hard to find after a long journey. Thank you though for your great support.

Karen

Room Tip: Our room 89 looked out over the car park to the rear but the entire hotel was beautifully quiet which was what we needed.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KarenM8346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Karen

Thank you for a great review and warming comments.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in the area.

Beat wishes
Ashwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Beautiful grounds for wedding. Food excellent. Superior rooms differ in size and facilities. If you're having wedding make sure you ask for extra staff. Lack of staff and lack of communication between departments at wedding caused some disappointment. Would recommend this as wedding venue BUT know and insist on what you want and appoint someone, friend or family, to make sure all is provided as venue wedding coordinator may not always be on duty. Beautiful grounds and very good venue for wedding but management need to realise how hard limited young staff have to work

Room Tip: 89 is superior size. 88, 87 smaller but same price!
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank louisa12342016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Louisa

Thank you for your review and excellent comments, we staff events according to the numbers and have never had any issues, we insit that guests bring their own travel cots due to comfort and hygiene reasons. The wedding coordinator hands over to the duty manager who runs the wedding. I am sorry that you felt that there were not enough staff on duty.

Thank you

Ashwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Went here for a wedding- wedding was lovely lovely grounds but needed more staff for the bar- afternoon tea was lovely evening wedding was lovely but if the weather was raining the indoor venue would of been very small- could maybe supplied outdoor heaters.
The bedrooms are not worth the money ! Paid £95 for one night stay and rooms very poor ! Lasy on phone said she would book a nice room with a view but there was no view at all apart from a wall. Rooms were very hot and not double bed 2 singles pushed together that were rock hard! Rooms desperately need updating.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sianee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Sianee92

Thank you for your review and i am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Some of our rooms do need upgrading but we are always praised for the mattresses and bedrooms. Its that time of the year where the weather is hot during the day but cold at night and so the heating was left on, unfortunately the room was hot for you. The venue is beautiful for weddings and events and i hope you come and stay with us again.

Best wishes Ashwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights was greated at the desk by mike who cheaked me in told me all the relevant information but the one thing missing on a Sunday was food , I was however offfered a sandwiches, I opted for a take away .wheni arrived back mike offered me cutlery and a plate great hosting wifi was hit and miss though . breakfast was a good start to the day. Chef need to look at the evening menu had a chicken curry sorry to say meat was a bit dry butvthe pint went down well. Will happly stay here again

Room Tip: Out oof the place to stay
Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank whanmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear whanmikey

Thank you for review and i will pass on your comments to Mike. We are upgrading our wifi on 29th May and our food is consistently however i will speak to the chefs regarding the chicken curry. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you again at Charrtidge.

With best wishes
Ashwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Booked groundfloor room on booking.com but on check in was informed they do not have groundfloor rooms. Due to chest infection I could not use stairs so was given room in cottage annex. Comfortable bed good TV and hostess tray and was warm enough in snowy weather. But bathroom was a minefield with step down immediately on opening door with no warning! Banged hip on radiator badly. No grab rails in bath for shower also very dangerous as nothing to hold onto and very slippy. Did not like second nights stay when other rooms upstairs and opposite were occupied with inconsiderate guests late at night. Rather dark to come from main building to cottage. Staff were very indifferent and less than giving customer facing service. I did not know we're the cottage annex was but the staff did not attempt to show me when booking in and just indifferent attitude given. The rest of the hotel was empty over the holiday weekend so staff not exactly busy!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank cus2mer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Cusmer2014

Thank you for your review. The cottage is in need of some refurbishment and my apologies for the inconsiderate guests on your second night that didn't allow you to sleep. The staff at Chartridge lodge are excellent and so i will look into why you felt that the customer service you received was not to your expectation, and i am sorry that you felt this way.

I hope that you visit us again and are feeling better now.

Best wishes
Ashwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews