We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence
St-Eustache
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had booked at the last minute April 7th - 14th , had a wonderful time. Nice room, beautiful beach, the site very clean but food is so so, needs improvement. The staff is very nice, smilling, always willing to help. Very nice hotel for the price. We had no problems with water on our side. I have been in 4 stars and up hotels and this hotel is comparable to 4 stars, just needs to improve the buffet choices. We enjoyed the bus ride of 2 hours, this gave us a chance to drive into the little villages for free. We wanted a quiet place and this is what we were looking for.

Really enjoyed our stay.

Louise & Etienne

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    1,758
    597
    258
    123
See reviews for
1,210
1,595
117
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

wonderful staff ; especially jovani,lisset, (entertainment) mirella (housekeeping) maria (buffet) & sweet gal who cleaned the lobby (sorry i don;t have her name...she has a 9 yr old son if that helps).i judge by public area washrooms...(weird but tells so much about resort) the absolute cleanest i have seen with this my 7th trip to caribbean (cuba,jamaica,dominican).the food was delicious (something for everyone).don't miss the swim up bar FUN FUN FUN.if they offer rm 473 REFUSE,your view A ROOF.upgrade when you make your reservation cheaper & oceanside worth every penny.if your lucky DAYAMI will preform while there, promise you will have tears,beautiful voice & lovely lady.feel free to take along new canada flag (need to replace 1 @ swim up bar) would like to see nova scotia flag there too so pls take.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shirley1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Brisas 3-14 April. We had a fantastic holiday. Our room was on the second floor facing the garden and was peaceful, hardly any noise in the corridor from fellow guests.

We had a leak in the bathroom from the room above and the plumber was at the room door as soon as I had put the phone down! Great service!

We had 2 TA dinners and have made some good friends - hopefully we'll all keep in touch - emails are already whizzing amongst us.

The only a la carte restaurant we didn't try was the kebab - it closed for the low season the day I tried to book. That wasn't a great problem, we went to the buffet instead. I wasn't disappointed with any meal. The quality of food was excellent.

Staff in the resort were so nice and friendly from the lady on toilet cleaning duty to the security men on the seafront. I have to mention the toilets though. I have never been in a hotel (in UK or abroad) where the standard of cleanliness was so high! It seemed that there were toilet fairies who cleaned up almost constantly! I also take my hat of to the young lady who was cleaning the marble walkways after midnight one night (the only night we were up late).

The beach is beautiful with an abundance of loungers and trees or umbrellas for shade. The pool has lots of loungers but not much shade. As anywhere else, there are inconsiderate guests who insist on 'booking' loungers in the shade either late at night or VERY early in the morning and leaving them empty for most of the day - wish I'd had the gumption to take the towels off!!

We had a morning of exceptionally heavy rain and quite a bit of the hotel was under water. The beach was left with deep craturs where the rain had washed the sand into the sea. However, the staff worked tirelessly to keep the hotel dry. Rain went off around lunchtime and normal service was restored.

We would happily go back to the Brisas

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Hamish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Brisas april 6-14. overall good hotel. Family of five. before leaving on our trip asked for adjoining rooms on a higher floor.Arrived and were given two seperate rooms on the main floor with a leaky ceiling in the bathroom in one of them.
However by 14:00 the next day we were moved to the 3 rd floor with connecting rooms. All done with no problem at the front desk villa section. We were really happy about this :) Rooms ok for the purpose. We found that we had to be at the beach before 8:00 to find some places in the shade because the chairs (loungers) were often reserved ! For the respect of the cuban people
please pick up after yourselves. Cigarette butts on the beach. Kids do not like playing with them! I smoke and a simple 30 second walk to the garbage makes a difference. I saw a dirty diaper and plates of food left beside the hotel pool ! Have some class, You represent your country!
The food for me was ok, like they say...it's Cuba. we had some heavy rain which changed the beautiful blue ocean water brown for a few days.Pool to the rescue. Hot by the pool, lots of loungers but again chairs were reserved in the best (shady) places with nobody on them.
The market is fun and not far but try to go before it gets to hot because there is not to much shade. Villa section is quiet, the grounds are well kept, Villa pool was not swimable for at least 2 days.. because of the rain ? lots of restos, Pizza really good. I gave some gloves to the gardeners & they seemed to be quite happy. We asked our maid what she would like the most as for the "gifts",her answer was shoes. Block 1 in the villas,we had one room facing the lobby & the other facing the west. Sunrise and Sunset ! Had to close the patio door at night lobby side because people arrive at all hours of the night. If we were the type to return to the same hotel..... if the price was right. Hope you did not fall asleep reading this

Room Tip: you get what you deserve !!!!!!! Have respect...Get respect :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jalapenoQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We went to Brisas again on March 30th for two weeks. During the first week our daughter was married on the resort. Lisset Almeida (works in guest services) did a marvelous job planning and hosting a bar crawl around the resort for the wedding party. The resort is making upgrades to the grounds, bars and restaurants. The positive part of this is that it gives you more choices for la cartes and theme bars; however, the villa buffet wasn’t open for lunch or supper. We also attended the returning guests tree planting and luncheon, which was again excellent, making all returning guests feeling welcome and at home. During our stay besides the nightly entertainment on the stage and in the hotel lobby, there was a special concert by the bronze statue of John Lennon, which was all very entertaining. We were also lucky enough to attend the private dinner for the ‘trip advisor’ panel members. The food was amazing and the service was extraordinary, prompting me to leave a 5ccu tip. Unfortunately, when I stood up and turned around, some other guest gathered all the tips up off the table, putting them into a cup not leaving it for the servers it was meant for. Without asking permission from the members who left the tips, I viewed this as very inappropriate, rude and in poor judgment. Overall, our trip was another memorable experience and I will be returning again for my sixth stay.

Room Tip: Gardenview in the hotel is quieter than oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impala49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
10.8 km away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
135.2 km away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,454 reviews
4.6 km away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,565 reviews
7.0 km away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,638 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel

Property: Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Address: Calle 2, Playa, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,240 - ₹ 14,686
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Hotel Guardalavaca
Guardalavaca Brisas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing