We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuba authentica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 12 days at this hotel. I really enjoyed it here and rate the hotel at a 4 star, but my boyfriend was not as impressed and rates it closer to a 3 star.
The hotel is 11 years old and is dated, but the rooms are clean and spacious. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for.
The buffet does have quite a variety of food for Cuba, but the best food is at the cooking stations.The most popular seems to be the pizza and the pasta stations as there is always a lineup and approx. a 10 minute wait.
The Japanese restaurant is very good,but too much soya sauce makes the food quite salty.
The Italian restaurant was just ok , the Cuban a little better. Our favorite was the steakhouse.
Although it cost 15 pesos to eat here it was well worth it. You got a real bbq'd steak or a whole lobster for this price.
The beach was quite nice although not as large as in Veradero. We found the sand nicer here than at the Blau or the Pesquero. The snorkeling was disappointing to us as we went to Jamaica last year and the fish were not as plentiful or as colorful as what we saw in Jamaica.
We enjoyed this area of Cuba better than Veradero. It is in more of a country setting, not just a hotel strip and therefor when you travelled outside of the hotel you had a better representation of the real Cuba.
The people in the area seemed very friendly as they were always waving as you went by on the bus, or taxi or even in horse and buggy.
The staff in the hotel were also just as friendly, but only if you were outgoing with them. Otherwise they gave you just average service.
All in all I found the hotel very relaxing, which is probably why they have so many returning customers. A large number of people that we met here had been to this hotel over 5 times.
It does seem to be good value for your money.

Room Tip: The superior hotel rooms which are closer to the pool are centrally located, so they are nearer to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Puppiesluvme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,085 of 4,432 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

great food, clean rooms, staff is great....beach is not a 5 but a 4 at least, but the snorkeling is right there and they supply you with the equipment for free.....nice buffet, ala carte we enjoyed the most was the Japaneese and the Cuban was excellent as well and also for lunch...24 hour snack bar by the pool with pretty good breakfast and lunch and a decent burger as the beef in Cuba can be a bit tough at times....veal stew at the Cuban was delicious. The air conditioning was a bit iffy and i woke up a few times becuse of it. other than that very quiet for sleeping.

Room Tip: its a small resort. easy to get around, there is a handicap building near the pool if anyone in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oldbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was my first time on an airplane let alone a tropical island. Playa Costa Verde is an absolutely beautiful 4 star resort in Holguin, Cuba, where you will constantly find something to do where you want to relax and get a massage or party and dance at the disco, with the aqua bar in the pool you can lounge, or a short walk to the beautiful beach where you will find a coral reef just off the shore. Between snorkeling, scuba diving, catamaran rides, 24/7 food/beverages you will never be bored or wondering what to do that day. The entertainment staff especially makes you enjoy your trip, between the games they play everyday they put on amazing shows everynight, they will also get you involved and make sure everyone is having a great time enjoying their trip. Overall, I will never go to a different resort.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good depending on the location you prefer. If you want to be by the pool or clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TCARRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I were very happy with this resort. It wasn't too big and it never seemed busy. The food, room and staff were great.
I'm not sure where all the complaints came from but I don't think they were at the same resort as we were or even in the same country. These people must remember where they were and if they wanted steak and potatoes they should have stayed at home!!!
Our room was very clean and our maid very accomodating and nice to talk to. All the staff was friendly and the front desk were helpful when we had questions.
The beach was a nice walk from our room but had to pick your way into the water because of the coral. Lots of snorklers. The beach was fairly clean and lots of chairs available.
Food was great as there was something for everyone and lots of it.

Room Tip: Centre block rooms are great as you are not too far away from anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlowwormPalmerston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were here in Nov 2011, but I forgot to write the review! We were to the Blau next door a few years back. This is right next door. A very exceptional resort for Cuba. Flew Sunwing once again with no complaints. This hotel is excellent and would recommend to anyone. Great food, service and rooms. Some of our group used the tennis courts daily and the gym. Beach was very nice. Lots a food choices everywhere. Nice little outside bar at night where we sat and played cards. Been to Cuba a few times with no real complaints but this one is one of the best! No bugs at night! They fogged. Cannot remember the a la Cartes we were at but very good! I ordered a birthday cake for my husband for $5 for our group and they served it personalized. Very nice. Recalling one little complaint....the white wine...not so good, but lots of other choices for drinks so no worries, adapted! Internet worked from the lobby but a little slow sometimes but that is Cuba, grateful for any. Great buffet and pool bar, restaurant by pool, beach bar and food too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeresaKKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.2 km away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
10.0 km away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
0.6 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,785 reviews
3.7 km away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,714 reviews
10.7 km away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range: ₹ 7,102 - ₹ 15,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El Bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Cuba/Rafael Freyre, Holguin Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing