We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
100
258
153
66
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
258
153
66
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playa blanca santa lucia small resort water shoes horseback riding horse and buggy snack bar fries free bicycles fish ocean view resort beach cuban guests other resorts pizza christopher columbus carriage ride
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent the first week of September at Don Lino. We have been to Cuba many times, mostly staying at 3 to 3.5 stars but have also stayed at 4 to 4.5. We read the reviews which were generally positive, so we gave it a try. I am sure glad we did.

This small resort is well planned and I really liked the layout. The Snack Bar & Beach Bar are in one large building along the ocean. The buffet dining room is also quite large. The service at all of the above was excellent. All the food at the Snack Bar was good,& plentiful, such as fries, pizza, sandwiches, etc.

There was a good variety of food at the buffet & we were never hungry. Liked that the meat & fish were always cooked perfectly.

Our chambermaid was Carmen & she did a great job of keeping our room clean.

Nice walking outside of the resort too with lots to see including a pair of wild pheasants one day.

We quite enjoyed our week at Villa Don Lino

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshinegirl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Returned from Don Lino September 7 after 1 week. This was our first time to this resort.

The resort is listed as a 2 ½ resort, but deserves a higher ranking. This may be because of the coral at the waters edge. The beach a little ways away is good. Not many Canadian tourists. 4 of us arrived on August 31 for the week. A few other tourist arrived at different times.

The food was decent during the entire trip. You would not go hungry. Items during the week include a leg of pork, red snapper fish and a turkey to name a few. A special dinner was offered to us one night at the a la carte restaurant which was great. The food was better than some 3 ½ - 4 star resorts. The selection may not be as great though.

Snack bar had cold Cristal beer, the best, all the time as well as a selection of liquor. The food bar was open from 10 am to 3 pm serving fries, meat balls, pizza etc. Never ran out of food or Cristal beer. Wine at the restaurant was good – better that some higher star rating resorts that we have been to in Cuba.

On the weekend, there were lots of Cubans with their families – did not find them rude as they mostly kept to themselves. They sure did eat a lot of food and consumed a lot of beer.

Stayed in a bungalow 1054 – was clean – shower had plenty of hot water. TV had 1 English channel with mainly movies, other channels were Spanish.

The staff at this resort were all friendly and tried hard to please. Service at the bar and restaurant was always great.

Off the resort had a carriage ride for a tour of the area. Visited Yudy in the local village, got our nails done. Yudy is an artist.

Would we go back? Probably yes as long as the price was good.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveller724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had the opportunity to relax here at the end of our trip exploring Cuba. We were positively surprised! The beach is white and beautiful. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is okay, there's a variety of food available for everyone's wishes.

The wooden cabins are lovely and have a warm and cozy atmosphere. The bathroom is very spacious and clean. Both the air-conditioning and refrigerator worked well.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Martijn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We were very pleased to stay here. It is out of the way and quiet. The staff is exceptional! The food is perfect and the presentation well done. Live local music during supper was a very nice touch. Peace and Quiet is what you will find here. The entertainment was so much fun.

Stayed: April 2018
5  Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have been looking at this resort for years but always decided against it. This year, we needed a relaxing holiday at a reasonable price and we booked this hotel.

We have been to Cuba many times at 2.5-4.5 star resorts. This was one of my absolute favourite resorts!

Food:
For a small resort, I was extremely impressed at the variety of food and especially the quality of food. Bread was homemade, sometimes still warm. The meats were normally a variety of fish, beef or pork and chicken and were not always the same, bland taste we have seen throughout Cuba. Most of it was so good I went for seconds. They even had a lasagna that was really good to Canadian standards. What really surprised me was the salad bar. The options changed on a daily basis, some days was better than others, but there was always tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, beans, and 2-3 varieties of pre-made salads that often included eggs, beans, onions, herbs, etc. Fresh fruit was normally papaya, pineapple, guava,and watermelon. Deserts were delicious and I especially loved the homemade papaya or guava jam they made at supper. Just wish they would have served it with breakfast! Breakfast was basic... made to order omelettes, the occasional bacon, the normal stuff. Fresh delicious real fruit juice in the morning. Guava juice was my favourite.

Bar:
Two bars were available, one at reception and one at the beach. They also served drinks at the buffet. The bartenders were all good and the drinks were always good. Never had to wait too long. The reception bar had a blender if you wanted a fancier drink like pina coladas or mohitos...Not 5 star drinks but the service usually was, so no complaints! Ruben at the beach bar was amazing, so was Alexiv and Jose (new guy)but they were all great.

Rooms:
We ended up in a beach bungalow. View from the room was spectacular. Hot water worked perfectly, so did air condition. Only disappointment was that the room was a bit musty (high humidity and rock walls in room) and the door key didn’t work well... other than that rooms was clean, more than adequate, bed was firm but comfortable. Not super pretty but who cares?

Staff:
Loved the staff. Always friendly and helpful and full of smiles. Only disappointment was that since we have been too lazy to learn Spanish, a lot of the staff only knew basic English as it relates to their job (drinks, food, etc)... so it was more difficult to get to know the staff. Made us realize we should make an effort, not always depend on them to learn our language.

Summary:
Loved the resort. Probably our top 3 beach vacations. Would definitely return. Loved the quiet beach. It was peaceful and not busy. We read a lot and got to meet a lot of the guests since the resort is small it is easy to meet people.

We originally planned on doing a few excursions but the tour buses don’t go to the resort. Lots of options to get out (free bicycles, also optional horse and buggy or taxi or mopeds. We were happy staying at the resort.

Suggestions:
If you visit resort, see if you can exchange money at the airport and get the smallest change possible. Getting change once at resort is not easy so we ended up tipping larger bills less often. Always made us wonder if we left out anybody since we do enjoy tipping.

Other than that, just have fun!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews