We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
15
25
11
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
25
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly hotelnice breakfastmaniareopolislimeni
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Six of us stayed one night in this nice hotel. We were given a warm welcome and the room was adequate and clean. Shame one of the bedside lamps did not work. Very nice breakfast although one or two items ran out. Lovely pool for a dip. Situated close to Areopoli it was ideal for us as a stopover

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank TheArchers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilis G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Dear TheArchers15,
We are extremely grateful to you for writing such a detailed and interesting review about your recent stay with us and it is always a pleasure for us to hear from our guests as we appreciate their opinions greatly.
About the lamp, please accept our apologies for this malfunction, but it is true that a light bulb's life not lasting for ever, you could just notify us of this problem in order to replaced a new lamp at once.
We are very pleased you liked our breakfast very much, considering that everything is handmade some products which have more demand there is a possibility to ran out, but that's why we offer a vast breakfast variety to meet all needs.
Οur hotel is strategically located with many graphic ,interesting and traditional places of Mani being next to us, available for our guests to visit.
It will be glad to visit as a again!
Yours sincerely
Vasilis Goudis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We booked an "Executive Suite" and another room for teenagers this summer. We arrived and were shown to only one room which was so small we could only just walk around the bed. The balcony looked over a donkey field and our "adjoining room" formed part of the suite we were told. There were two camp beds for the children!

I went to reception twice to ask if this was our room as per Booking.com description. Was told it was. So we immediately checked out. Went to an amazing place down the road for half the price. Only once I complained and said we were leaving were we told miraculously that "oh... sorry - no you are supposed to have another room!"

The website simply doesn't do it justice and the pricing on Booking.com is ridiculously high. The owner was adamant we were in the wrong and clearly thought we would just put up with what we were given. I had to negotiate a cancellation fee directly.

Room Tip: Avoid the views of the dying donkeys!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indigolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel. It is a family business that are very polite and available to assist the customers.
It has good wifi and parking. It has a nice pool for adults and one for kids. The location is good and quit, 5 minutes from the city of Aeropoli by foot. The menu of the restaurant is not very big but has a good quality.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank scaramous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilis G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kastro Maini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Dear scaramous,
Thank you very much for your ''short'' but informative review and for your time sharing your thoughts and expirience to TripAdvisor about your recent visit to Kastro Maini Hotel ,we are very pleased when our efforts recognized. Moreover , about the culinary is true that we are focusing more in quality of the offered dishes rather quantity.
We are looking forward to visit us again soon!
Yours sincerely,
Vasilis Goudis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We loved this hotel and the people running it. Breakfasts were great. The hotel is 5-10 mins walk from the town centre. There are plenty of cafes, bars and tavernas. The town is ideal for exploring the Mani and an easy drive to Mystra and Sparta.
The hotel is clean and the beds comfortable.
Our only gripe is the plumbing. Wash basins wobbling against the wall, mobile taps and non functional plugs in the sinks used to be ok - not now.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view at the back of the hotel to get a quiet room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hillybills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We were pleased with this hotel in which we spent one night. We had a good room with a large terrace, overlooking a view to the rear of the building. No noise from the road in front.
Our group were delighted to find a sizeable pool in a sunny location. Towels were supplied from the friendly reception. Some comfortable chairs round the pool but the wood slatted "loungers" were pretty hard.
The bed was comfortable enough but the pillows were the firmest I have encountered. We did not use the small shower but a few in our party said they were "embraced" or had a bit of a tussle with the shower curtain that wrapped around them! A curious arrangement instead of a simple straight curtain.

A fair breakfast with freshly cooked fried eggs and the best bacon to date. Very good croissants, home made apple cake and other specialities . Rice puddings with cinnamon and yoghurt. Nice cafetière coffee. Orange juice was not fresh although there are masses of orange trees in the area.

The price was very reasonable and it was very good value for money. Clean and in good condition. And good crisp sheets !

An easy walk from the village which is a delight . So a very good place for a stopover !

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank scenario34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews