We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Le Vieux Relais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pepieux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vieux Relais
Ranked #1 of 2 Pepieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have visited Le Vieux Relais on a number of occasions and you always receive a warm welcome , lovely food and a spotlessly clean and tidy place to stay. Mike and Val are lovely hosts and make a visit thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. The food is super - lovely cakes too !! They are always helpful and work very hard so that every visit is what you would wish for. I travel a lot and only put in reviews if somewhere merits it - Le Vieux Relais does.Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSURREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was the third consecutive year we stayed at Le Vieux Relais for a couple of weeks in August. As usual, we had the downstairs suite and it was as comfortable, spotlessly clean and relaxing as ever. It's well worth the 1000 km drive up from our home in Spain to Val and Mike's home from home. Pepieux is a very tranquil, safe, well-looked after farming village where the local people are very friendly to visitors. I disagree entirely with the recent comment about road noise, the passing traffic is mostly agricultural vehicles and they only pass infrequently, and not at night, so guests can get a good night's sleep without any problems.
Locally, there are beautiful places to visit such as Chateau Cabezac, Bize Minervois, Le Somail next to the Canal du Midi and Pezenas a bit further away. His year we were very fortunate to meet a local wine maker from Pepieux called Henry Briole and he gave us an excellent wine tasting session - his wines are outstanding quality and were a good buy to take home. Already planning next year's holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tybraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The accommodations and hosts are fine, but just make sure that you do not reserve a room facing the street. The road noise is ongoing, which makes having a window open in hot weather all but impossible. Also the pool is inadequate for anything but a dip. Two strokes and you're done.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersPepieux, Owner at Le Vieux Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are very disappointed, but unfortunately not surprised, to receive such a negative review from these guests. They were unhappy from the moment they arrived in the area and had telephoned us several days before they were due to arrive for their stay with us complaining about the hotel they had found for themselves in a nearby town and demanding that we suggest other places which might suit them better. We did our best to oblige, as we would with any guests, but it is very difficult to find available accommodation in a seaside town in France in August and the only hotel available was not to their liking pricewise so they stayed where they were.
They knew when they booked their room with us that they had the last room available as the rest of the house had been booked by an extended family group so there was no possibility of upgrading them. We cannot be certain but we felt that a free upgrade would somehow have made their adverse comments go away. We are located on the edge of the village square and the normal sounds of village life are at times audible in some rooms, the guests also knew this when they booked, we do not hide our location. Equally this is France, not Spain, and the local culture is not a particularly late one as most people are up and working early the following day.
Our pool is pictured accurately several times on the website and the size is obvious, it is indeed a pool for a refreshing dip after a day out, not for swimming laps. There is a lovely lake nearby which offers a clearly defined swimming beach alongside other leisure activities but that was apparently not suitable either as it does not offer lockers!
We always do our best, as can be seen by the many lovely reviews we have received from happy guests, and we always try very hard to meet all the needs of all our guests but sometimes this is just not possible where those needs confilct with the needs of others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a great discovery for us - Val and Mike gave us such a warm welcome and were the perfect hosts. We had a spacious, light and airy room looking over the garden with a large bathroom, and we really appreciated the swimming pool at the end of each day. Val and Mike's knowledge of the area is invaluable, as they can suggest many interesting places to visit and can recommend restaurants for the evening - which they will book for you as well. We were lucky enough to have a delicious dinner cooked for us by them one night too. Nothing is too much trouble for these two and we would heartily recommend the Vieux Relais - we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMike128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Once again we had a most enjoyable few days with Val and Mike who are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble, from watching the rugby and lovely afternoon tea and cake(s) to a bottle of champagne as a surprise gift for our anniversary. They also cooked several enjoyable suppers / dinner depending on our itinerary during the day and made reservations at local restaurants on our behalf. Nothing was too much trouble and we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Vieux Relais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Relais

Address: 1 rue de l Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Pepieux
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pepieux
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Relais as seen from the village square. In the 18th century Le Vieux Relais was a coaching station situated on the corner of the village square. Today it is a well situated relaxing oasis that affords a unique insight into French village life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing