We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class guesthouse in a lovely area”
Review of Le Vieux Relais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pepieux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vieux Relais
Ranked #1 of 2 Pepieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Le Vieux Relais is a beautiful house located in the heart of the languedoc wine region.It is owned by an English couple who were very welcoming and catered for our every need. The rooms were big and spacious with very nice decor. We also had the option of an evening meal which was served in the enclosed walled garden and was very relaxing and delicious. They have a great knowledge of the area and their recommendations re places of interest, wine chateaux and restaurants to visit were invaluable. The nearby lake is an excellent amenity for swimming, sunbathing and windsurfing. We were very impressed with the guest house and the area and will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here in Aug 2012 for 2 weeks with our 5-year-old and 19-month-old. We had such an amazing time. Everyday, we did something different. Somedays we went back and did the same thing because, we enjoyed it so much, like cycling along Canal du Midi. Val and Mike were so helpful, I really think that we couldn't have had as much fun if it weren't for them. For example, when we went cycling, Val called the bike shop ahead of time so, the bikes were ready for us when we got there. She told us which way to go from the bike shop so that we'll be cycling under the trees in the shade and where to find a playground. These were valuable information to us because, neither of us speak French and the woman who runs the bike shop doesn't speak any English. and it always helps to be well prepared when traveling with young children. We went to 3 different lakes nearby and a beach near Bezier which was about an hour away. Val and Mike packed a picnic for us which was tasty and convenient.
We stayed in the big suite downstairs which was perfect for us. It fit the 4 of us comfortably with lots of space leftover. Our kids loved splashing in the pool with the giant inflatable turtle and Orca. It was so nice to come back to a clean and comfortable room after a fun filled day.
It was also nice to have dinner with Val and Mike and the other guests. Mike's lamb and Val's tarte tatin are to die for!!
Traveling with young children are never easy, but Val and Mike made it a lot easier for us. They were wonderful with out kids. So much so that our 5-year-old still asks about them. They really care about helping the guests have a wonderful holiday. I would recommend this B&B to any family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daburin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A warm welcome and a very authentic and personal approach to hospitality. We spent a very enjoyable evening having a delicious dinner with Val and Mike. They have converted the Relais with quiet style which has preserved the character of the old house, but provides excellent comfort. We loved the terra cotta (and C19th painted) floor tiles; Mike's sparkling conversation at breakfast; Val's delicious lemon drizzle cake with afternoon tea, eaten in the garden; the excellent recommendations for restaurant dinners; and their relaxed friendliness and care for their guests. Thank you both!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Halzephron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Four of us, two couples, have recently returned from a week's holiday at Le Vieux Relais. The owners, Val and Mike Slowther, hail from the UK and set up this Chambre d'Hotes in the Languedoc some seven years ago, really putting their heart and soul into running the place.

Although there are five rooms available, we happened to be the only guests for this particular week but we had an opportunity to look into all the rooms. They are all good-sized rooms with equally large en-suite bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable. There was also plenty of hot water.

Val and Mike are accomplished cooks and offer evening meals on a regular basis to their guests. Apart from the excellent food, they were very adept at meeting our particular dietary requirements and personal tastes and, what with pre-prandial drinks in their pretty courtyard and the meal in their loggia, the four times we ate with them were amongst the highlights of our stay. We really felt that we were more than house guests.

There is also a small swimming pool and loungers to enjoy after a day's touring.

Amongst other things, we selected Le Vieux Relais as our base because Pepieux is reasonably central for touring round the Languedoc, being around one to one and half hours' driving time from the main cities, Carcassonne, Narbonne, Beziers, Perpignan and others. Val and Mike were very helpful regarding routes, restaurants and other tips, such as the best place to get the cheapest fuel. We also spent a day at the beach at Narbonne Plage, about 45 minutes away, and they provided us with chairs and a parasol for the day.

We would highly recommend Le Vieux Relais - you shouldn't be disappointed - and we would not hesitate to stay there again if we returned to the region.

Lewis and Sheila Osborne
Bill and Geraldine Gardner

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisOsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were so impressed with every aspect of our weeks stay at Le Vieux Relais.The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean and a dip in the pool was very welcome after a days sightseeing. Val and Mike couldn't do enough to ensure that we got the most from our holiday, whether it was providing information about places to visit or ensuring we got the very best food and service available in the area. This enabled us to relax totally and enjoy the beautiful countryside in this lovely part of France.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Vieux Relais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Relais

Address: 1 rue de l Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Pepieux
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pepieux
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Relais as seen from the village square. In the 18th century Le Vieux Relais was a coaching station situated on the corner of the village square. Today it is a well situated relaxing oasis that affords a unique insight into French village life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing