We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
208
169
64
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
169
64
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass wallrental carindoor poolnorth sidesao miguelocean viewbar menumain restaurantnice hotelhot and cold itemsfoosball tablehotel facingnight lightsauna and steam roomturkish bathbreakfast room isfree breakfast is
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel next to cliffs with breathtaking views of the ocean. A very nice buffet breakfast is included.Hotel has a restaurant and bar, both with excellent food at reasonable prices. There are tennis courts, an indoor and outdoor pool and an o.k. spa. Rooms are spacious and clean, however, no privacy in the bathroom, the bathroom walls are glass. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The downside, this resort is very remote and situated on the other side of the island from airport, city, shopping and tour departure points. A car is a must to go anywhere. The shuttle at the hotel only operates 3 days a week, and only once the week we were there. Taxis I'm told are more expensive than a daily car rental, you can hire both from the hotel. As nice as the hotel is, if I were to come back I'd choose a hotel closer to everything.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kapusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Our family recently spent a week at Pedras do Mar and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel and rooms were very clean and modern. The staff was very attentive and helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we had a wonderful vacation. The location of the hotel was perfect, and a great place to come back to at the end of the day after daily activities throughout the island. Located on the coast, we enjoyed the luxury of relaxing on our balcony overlooking the ocean. During our stay, we also dined in the both the hotel bar and restaurant. We found the service and food to be excellent. We would definitely return to Pedras Do Mar for a future visit, and we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50207KOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

The hotel was pretty and clean. The hotel staff was nice and attentive. The rooms were nice and comfortable although a little awkward because there is a shade that comes down between the glass wall for the bathroom to the bedroom. It doesn't completely block viewing, so it's a little uneasy to be using the bathroom and showering when your kids or anyone else can see directly in. We finally learned to keep the lights out in the bathroom and put lights on in the bedroom so you couldn't see into the bathroom while people were using it. Would've preferred to shower with light, but we managed. It was kind of an isolated hotel, and since we didn't want to drive at night we ended up in the hotel bar/restaurant every night. It was dead. The couple of nights of entertainment they had were very low key and boring. The bartenders were very nice and attentive though. Our kids got really bored. Both the outside and inside pools were very shallow...maybe 4 feet deep, so the kids couldn't jump and play much in them. No hot tub either. The game room consisted of a foosball table, and that was it. They got bored quickly. The breakfast buffet was basically the same thing every day. We were there for a week, so we were over it quickly. The restaurant food wasn't great, and the selection was minimal. We ended up ordering pizza delivered to the hotel a couple of times. This hotel might be great for couples or people that like to go to bed early, but if you like to hang out in the bar in the evenings you will be your own entertainment here. Not much going on.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blackhawk93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

One of the favorite parts of our overall experience in Sao Miguel was coming “home” to Pedras Do Mar. We had an ocean view suite, which was spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff was always welcoming, friendly and helpful (front desk, restaurant, and housekeeping included). The hotel has interesting architectural and design elements, and is centrally located in the island, about 20 minutes north of Ponta Delgada. We were glad to be outside of the crowded city but still the same distance to the main sites (many times even closer). Several
excellent restaurants on the north side of the island. If you’re deciding between different options, I would highly recommend just going with Pedras Do Mar. We are certainly happy that we picked this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank SereneTravelerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My partner and I spent one week here at the beginning of March. We genuinely cannot fault the hotel. Yes its on the other side of the Island - but what a beautiful spot. If you hire a car as most would recommend who visit the island, getting around is really no trouble at all.

The hotel is located right on the coast - I'd absolutely recommend getting a sea view room, waking up each morning and watching the sea was quite literally like a dream. Our hotel room was well sized, clean and well kept as is the rest of the hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Food at the bar was fantastic, large portions and well priced. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room are all well maintained. Breakfast also lovely - lots of options and plenty to go around. There's a pool table in the bar which was great fun. We spent many of our evenings playing a couple of games of pool. Lots of on site parking and walking trails around the vicinity of the hotel. Local towns on both sides of the hotel are in walking distance.

I can honestly say this was the best hotel I have had the pleasure of staying at. Perhaps its the time of the year but we managed to get a week long stay for an absolute bargain too!

Five star all round.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank Dipika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews