We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where there is no 'off' season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rodney Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

A wonderful two weeks.
Lovey, well kept hotel.
Perfect location.
View of the pool and beach (even though it wasn't an advertised with a view).
The room was large and clean.
The pool was fresh water, well kept and quiet.
The hotel is literally on the beach with a private area just for guests.
The spa has everything you need and rarely used.
The hotel gardens were immaculate.

I am in my late twenties and took my fiancé for two weeks to this wonderful island off-season for a wedding. I have never been on a holiday to simply relax but after a few years working in London I had the feeling like i was going to explode, and wanted to stay at the most relaxing-looking place I could...

I am so glad I booked The Royal.

Everyone was friendly, the bar staff made some incredible cocktails i'd never heard of, the restaurant and room service was fantastic (maybe the best burger i've ever eaten). The vibe was perfect for couples, the Royal even has a section of the beach just for guests which is quiet with free sun beds.

As a watch out; do not expect the brand new facilities of a Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental, parts of the hotel are in need of some updating but are adequate. The spa and gym were well used but operational and worth taking advantage of - you don't notice when you're sweating in a sauna. There isn't the fine tuned attention to detail in some of the physical aspects you might be used to, but all this was a reflection of the chilled vibe and to be honest made the stay nice and relaxed.

All in all I had a brilliant time, I would recommend The Royal to anyone who wants a relaxing stay in to stay in paradise at a perfect location (for the beach and town), a great private pool, wonderful staff and beautiful surroundings.

The only negative was the Virgin Atlantic staff that were staying for work, they were rude to the staff and treated the hotel like an episode of Love Island.

I hope this review helps, and convinces you to stay at the Royal.

Thanks for the stay, i'll be back to see my new family next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a pool view, it's right in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and we really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Your comments will certainly be passed on to our team members and our chef will be very pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for the recommendation on the Royal and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Sincerely,
Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Yet another visit to the Royal confirms that Richard Michelin and his Staff are maintaining the standard set since our visit last year. This is a place for those who are looking for something special. The suites are well appointed, the public areas are welcoming and all in keeping with what one would expect from a top class Caribbean hotel. The food is of the very highest quality. We had a private dinner on the beach with a wonderful view, personal service and food which would grace the table of any restaurant anywhere - and I mean anywhere. That said, it is the people who make the Royal special. They go out of their way to be friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. We have never known better service. We have already confirmed for next year. Do try the Royal and to those who used to visit the hotel, it really is time to try it once again. For former Royal guests, the answer to your question is, yes, the Virgin Crew are still there but the Royal offers so much that the antics of the crew are less than a minor irritation - they can actually provide some free entertainment - especially if you travel BA! Thanks to Richard and everyone at the Royal. See you next year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank donaldrfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStLuciaResort, General Manager at Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Many thanks for posting your review on your recent stay.
It was indeed my staff and my great pleasure to have had the opportunity to have welcomed you back to your Caribbean home away from home again.
It is extremely gratifying to know that you both felt that we are maintaining our standards,that the food is of the highest quality and that all of our hardworking team members make this a special place for you with their friendliness and service.
It would be great to have some of our previous guests back again to see the changes we have made.
My Team and i look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Our very best Wishes
Richard Michelin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We were visiting the beach but found ourselves ambushed by vendors ... Very different from three years prior
The beach was heaving and all we wanted was a cocktail something to eat and somewhere to chill out
We were approached by a young man who pointed out a clothing malfunction on my daughter
He happened to be a member of staff at this hotel
We told him we were just looking for somewhere that wasn't the crowded beach
He took us poolside at the hotel and introduced us to the staff
I cannot sing their praises enough
We were fed watered and well catered to
We had burgers and fries which were delicious
The strawberry daiquiris were heaven ... I'd recommend here for those alone!!!!
The staff were friendly and attentive
We returned just before we left the island and again we were not disappointed... Although we stupidly ate elsewhere that was nothing in comparison to here
I fly back in October and look forward to drinking many a daiquiri before coming back home

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chrisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and our tasty meals! We'd also like to thank you for that recommendation, we work hard to deliver a unique experience and we always strive to deliver great customer service. We would be delighted to serve you again and look forward to making your experience continuously memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We have just checked out following a short stay at The Royal. On arrival we were told we would have a significant delay getting into our room. This was ok for us as we had travelled from a different hotel so hadn't been on a long haul flight. The manageress, Beverley, came to find us on the beach apologising profusely for the delay and informing us we would be in the best accommodation they could provide for us. We were also given a temporary room so we could shower, relax etc Later her colleague informed us we were invited to dinner, free of charge, in their signature restaurant. The room was stunning and the meal fantastic, despite fine dining the restaurant catered for our fussy 13 year old boys!
We also experienced excellent customer service from one of the pool attendants who sourced aloe vera from a beach vendor for our son's mosquito bites.
The hotel is clean, functional and in a great location. The staff are friendly and polite and we were impressed with the standard of hospitality we experienced.
This is a well cared for hotel with some excellent staff - highly recommended and very good value for money!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank mumoftwinsboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStLuciaResort, Director of Sales at Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for choosing The Royal St.Lucia Resort and Spa, and for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and we really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Your comments will certainly be passed on to our team members and our chef will be very pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Sincerely,
Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Am sitting by the pool using the wifi to write this review - we've had no issues with it in the public areas or in the room. We moved here from another Rex resort which had been very disappointing and are delighted to find that this hotel is very different. Beautiful lobby and check in process. Fantastic rooms - spacious, charmingly Caribbean but also very comfortable. All the rooms are 'suites' which in some hotels is just another name for a room. However, these are suites. The bed area is raised and separated by stairs and wooden shutters from the seating area. The bathroom is great - separate bath and huge shower enclosure with great rain shower. Separate WC. Effective and very quiet air con. We have a ground floor garden room which is fantastic - ten steps to the pool from the big patio which has comfortable furniture. There is a lovely turn down service also.
The public areas are very pretty. The only suggestion would be for a few more umbrellas at the pool and perhaps a drinks service around the pool and on the beach.
Staff are very attentive and helpful. The gardener was cutting grass near the pool and came over to explain/apologise. Excellent customer care. There was a manager's cocktail reception held in the lovely bar and this was really enjoyable. The managers were all really sociable and it has made a difference knowing who they are around the resort. The General Manager seems to be very hands on.
There is no All Inclusive option for most guests - perhaps this might change the feel of the hotel if this was an option. The hotel has a more exclusive feel about it which is part of its attraction. The restaurants and bars are lovely and well stocked/staffed. We would definitely come back to this hotel. It's really worth the tortuous trip from the airport!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStLuciaResort, Director of Sales at Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to give your valuable feedback on your experiences at the Royal St.Lucia Resort and Spa. We have noted your overall great experience and we are delighted to have met your expectations.
We pride ourselves in great customer service and work hard to ensure the best food and service to our valued customer.
It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve the service that is provided to our guests. We have noted your suggestions at the pool with regards to the umbrellas and pool/beach beverage service and this will be addressed for even more comfort towards your stay.
We express our appreciation in your recognition of our employees at the resort.
We certainly hope you continue to making your stay at the Royal St.Lucia Resort and Spa a memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
B. Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodney Bay
26.8 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,173 reviews
2.8 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
14.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.8 km away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay LC01 405, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Rodney Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rodney Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rodney Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rodney Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Rodney Bay
Price Range: ₹ 15,435 - ₹ 39,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed as one of the best in St Lucia, the spectacular mile-long Reduit Beach fronts this all-suite hotel while, with a backdrop of rainforest covered hills, atmospheric Rodney Bay is reached within a few moments stroll. Standing in beautifully manicured grounds, the hotel offers an elegant blend of privacy and sophistication. Beneath palm-frond parasols, elegant furnishings allow for lazy days on the sandy beach or relax instead by the large lagoon-style swimming pool shaded by palm trees. The Royal Spa offers an enticing variety of treatments ranging from a reviving jet-lag busting massage to sensual aromatherapy and body care while, for the more energetic, the fully-equipped fitness room is available free to our guests. A delicious full buffet breakfast is included at L'Epicure, an elegant al fresco restaurant next to the beach which also offers tantalising a-la-carte dinner choices. Fine dining experiences can be enjoyed at Chic in the evening while, cooled by gentle sea breezes, the Beach Tent is a perfect venue for lunch. Perhaps enjoy a cocktail at the charming Minstrals Lounge before visiting the elegant Oriental restaurant (seasonal) or Mariners buffet, located at the adjacent St Lucian by rex resorts, or strolling in to town to experience the local ambience. Children are welcomed at the Royal and can enjoy the childrens club available on weekdays at set times at our neighbouring hotel while everyone can benefit from the wide range of activities accessible locally including water sports, horse riding, golf and exhilarating tours to explore the natural beauty of St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resort
Royal St Lucian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing