We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best B&B Experience ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool outlook
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool outlook
Gate entrance Barn western aspect
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Pool outlook
Gate entrance
Barn western aspect
Barn verandah
Dining area
Welcome wine
Kitchen
Pantry
Lounge area
Kitchen outlook
Home baking
Bedroom
Bedroom outlook
Local flora
Bathroom
Laundry utilities
Stella welcome
Sunrise over pool on New years Day 2015 by guest
Te Muri beach Mahurangi Regional Park
Rural views over new Te Muri Regional Park
Tennis court
Private outdoor fireplace
Private outdoor area
Kingfisher
Pool / Spa
Pool lounge area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mahurangi West, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RickNStl
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best B&B Experience ever!”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Once you fly in First Class, you can't go back to Coach. But after you fly on a private jet, even First Class seems like a commodity. That's analogous to Te Muri Ridge--once you stay here, even the nicest resorts will seem like a commodity.

It was amazing how many thoughtful details had been care for in designing and equipping the Barn. To call it a barn really understates the accommodations--its GQ (Guest Quarters) with a bedroom, kitchen, breakfast area and living space. The GQ has a private deck with grill and dining table, and there's an outdoor patio area with fireplace that's stocked for an evening fire under the stars. This B&B also has a spa tub, private infinity pool and a tennis court. And I'll mention the indoor parking because that was really convenient.

Te Muri Ridge is a long way from the airport, so we hired an Uber the first night to get there safely and directly. The location in the Mahurangi national park is a bit remote, but that remoteness is the key to stunning views, access to the water and wildlife. When we rented a car to explore the north end of the island and to drive to the west coast, it was really convenient to be out of town when we started.

We learned to press coffee on this trip and found that having a kitchen allowed us to buy the food and drinks that we wanted, grill steak and fish to our liking, and enjoy the quiet beauty each evening brought. Brian and Anna are such gracious hosts--thanks for showing us some sites in Auckland and saving us another Uber expense.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardfamil
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We only had 1 night here which was definitely not long enough, if you are looking for peace and tranquility, luxury accomodation with all the finishing touches then look no further. This is an amazing place, very private with use of the spa and swimming pool which is divine.
Own patio area which has an open fire and a tennis court.
Beautiful sea and country views and their little dog Stella who wanders up to say hello is so cute.
Great base for exploring the area with an array of beautiful beaches and walks.
Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
We were delighted to welcome Claire & Steve to Te Muri Ridge.

It was our absolute privilege to host you both, we appreciate your thoughtful review & hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Mahurangi. Mahurangi West certainly is a great base to explore the Matakana region & all this area has to offer.

Enjoy Spring.. roll on Summer!

Anna, Brian & "Stella"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dabaci
Capital Federal District, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You need to look no furtther. All the comments onTe Muri are very true.
Anna & Brian really care about you and your stay, their kidness have no match. We haven´t been treated so nice. They are very generous on sharing this incredible place with the rest of us.
The barn is excelent....you won't believe the views from it!!!
Lots and lots of places nearby to visit and enjoy. If you are thinking on staying a week or less, you will not be wanting to leave.
We stay 15 days and every one of them was a blast. We´ve had one of the best family vacations ever.
We can´t wait to visit them again and highly recommend to anyone to stay Te Muri.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing landscape of the barn's location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine55...
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Relaxation in amazing scenery”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

First of all, you cannot go wrong with this holiday home. It is brilliant. Read on for more details or just go ahead and book it. You will not regret it.

We felt very welcome by the owners, Anna and Brian. It felt like we were the first guests to ever stay which is a wonderful example of Anna and Brian's 5-star hosting skills. On arrival inside there was a home baking including a heart-shaped cake (extremely thoughtful and yummy - thanks again Anna!), card and bottle of wine waiting for us, and even rose petals in the bedroom.

We stayed during New Years Eve and Brian invited us for celebration drinks which was really lovely and thoughtful. A great person to chat to (thanks Brian!).

The Barn is in a perfect setting with great views to be enjoyed through floor to ceiling windows in the lounge and bedroom. It is even better than the photos show. Quite a grand set of steps lead up from the driveway near the amazing outdoor fireplace area which is situated near the Barn. We did not get to try the fire as it was lovely hot weather but it would be great in the colder months. The kitchen is excellent and has everything you need. Bathroom very nice.

Loads of extras here. Board games, DVDs, Sky TV, large TV, candles, air-con, BBQ, deck chairs (including loungers), dressing gowns & slippers, swimming towels, kayaks, etc!

The Barn has a relaxed clean modern feel and it was so easy to just really relax. The couch in the lounge is super comfy!

The swimming pool is over at the main house and not to be missed. It has a draw dropping view of the bay. Guests are made to feel welcome to go for a swim at any time.

Overall we found it a superb spot for relaxing and also a great location – easy drives North to Matakana etc, and South to Auckland (just mind the traffic at peak times!).

Thanks Anna and Brian (and Rebecca and Stella!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Hi Justine, thank you for your very thoughtful and thorough review.
We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and were delighted to host you. All the very best for 2016 and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Te Muri Ridge in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anna & Brian
Te Muri Ridge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankie F
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise ...................”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Te Muri Ridge is a fine example of a coastal NZ property. The design, the attention to detail and the quality of the finishing touches are beautiful. The native planting and the view from the pool is one of a kind. Thank you so much Brian and Anne for your kindness, generosity and warmth and of course all those gorgeous treats we discovered along the way !! This is truely a piece of paradise and we will definitely be back again - no doubt time and time again.
The barn, the outdoor living space and the outdoor fireplace along with all your gorgeous artworks and artefacts are beautiful
You have done a wonderful job and have created an idyllic property in a stunning part of NZ
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The aesthetics in all aspects
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
Thank you Jill for choosing to stay with us at "Te Muri Ridge" & for your very thoughtful review. We were delighted to host you & your family & we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to stay in 'The Barn'. Anna & Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing