We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
718
52
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
52
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palapa bar ben cruz atm cave mayan ruins horseback riding yoga deck zip lining on site daily specials goat cheese each morning san pedro wonderful hosts packed lunch the open air restaurant belize city ambergris caye
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

The only thing we regreted about our stay at Mystic River was that we didn't spend more days there. Such a beautiful place, and our room was as nice and charming as it was comfortable. The staff was so kind and welcoming, and the owners made a point to talk to all the guests at the restaurant, and check in on our stay, such a nice couple. The food was delicious at the restaurant, and the cocktails at their bar were very tasty...you get hooked on your welcome rum punch cocktail. Everything about Mystic River was serene and peaceful, and just what you could hope for in a jungle/river resort. We hope to stay here again, but will defiantly add a couple more days to our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Purple Heart" room, and it was fantastic, great view of the river.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solearynorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Good morning,
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return with some extra days! "I wish we had stayed longer" is probably the number one comment we get for from our guests so make sure you add an extra day for just relaxing! Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

The staff is amazing and so professional. With both owners onsite, you know you got the highest level of attention. The food was outstanding and a large variety. The tours they arranged were so well planned and thought out. We did a meal plan which I highly suggest. Other restaurants or bars are not close to the resort so you find you will have most of your meals and drinks on site. It was nice sitting at the resort bar and meeting other travelers and the owners.
It was also quite nice hearing all the jungle noises at night!
The drive up and down the resort is bumpy and long due to the road condition(s), but is WELL worth it! Love the resort, the people and the experience. Simple, quiet and restful.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice. Ours had a small pool and faced the river but I doubt there is a bad room on this property.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Good morning Kari,
We just love to read how happy we make our guests and what memorable experiences they take with them when they leave! Thank you for sharing with others and thank you for letting us know. We truly appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely phenomenal. I’ve never been to a resort where the staff genuinely cares about the customers so much. The staff was incredible and went above and beyond for everything. Definitely WAY exceeded expectations. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The owners did an incredible job.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Good morning Evelyn,
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you choose Mystic River Resort for another future vacation. Thanks again for taking the time to write Trip Advisor. Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Ladies and Gentlemen, if you are looking for an affordable, all-inclusive, amazing experience on your honeymoon, look no further than the "Mystical Honeymoon Package" at this wonderful paradise. The staff at Mystic River work tirelessly to accommodate their guests, and the resort grounds are kept pristine and beautiful. Our 4 tours of several Mayan sites were perfectly coordinated, and they are adventures that will stay with us for a lifetime. Every meal at the resort restaurant was tasty, flavorful, filling, and memorable. One highlight was when they brought in a wild hog that they roasted all day before dinner. Treat yourself to a fantastic adventure-stay at Mystic River, with owner's Tom and Nadege!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Good morning Francis,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mystic River Resort. It truly was a pleasure to have you both spend time with us for your Honeymoon and we hope to see you again in the future. I am so glad to hear you had a fabulous time and enjoyed everything we offer. I will make sure to pass your comments onto our staff as they always love to hear what a great job they did! Our BBQ pork has been a great success and we will make sure to add it to our menu on a regular basis. Thanks again. Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We stayed four days in mid-April. The food in the restaurant was excellent, if a bit pricey, but the staff is great. They try to remember your name and ask what you have going on the next day so that they can make sure coffee is delivered to your room by 7 (no coffee maker in room) or if you have time for a sit down meal. Views and property are beautiful, well maintained gardens and rooms.
Room was beautiful, plenty of spaces to sit but no table, which I found odd. A small dining table or coffee table would have been nice. Ceiling fans in each of the casita's rooms plus a floor fan. Lots of windows with screens to keep bugs out. We did, however, wake up to find a scorpion in our bathroom sink one morning. They said it's rare, that they spray for them and they're not poisonous?
They don't supply shampoo or conditioner in the bathrooms though they did have locally made soap samples. No TV, AC, wifi or phone in the room (fine with me! felt nice to be disconnected). There was an ipod speaker but no clock in the room. Our phones weren't international so a clock would have been nice. No "do not disturb" sign for room or an additional key.
Pool by the spa is maybe 20 feet by 20 feet and really is only 2 feet deep. Only a few lounge chairs. Also, not sure if a different "package" would have handled this, but we had to pay about $25 for the hotel to pick us up from in town after one of our tours.
Overall a great stay, just a few little amenities missing that would have been nice. Staff was great, drinks and food were great. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bansheecrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Good morning,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am not sure which room you stayed in but all of them have a patio set which includes a coffee table so you can enjoy your morning coffee or tea! Our studio suites also have a writing desk with chair. Our Cloud9 suites have a round table on the patio for you to sit at. All our bathrooms have home made soap and shampoo/conditioner in a dispenser. No TVs in the rooms bu since we have great internet most our guests will download a movie to watch later on. We will have phones in the rooms later on this summer (slow process in Belize). Our Lilly Pool at the spa is indeed only 2' deep and is a lovely place to sit, relax and enjoy your favorite beverage! We do enjoy the river for swimming, paddling or tubing. As for the scorpion in your room, I do apologize for that as our housekeeping ladies do their utmost every single day to make sure there are none, but the pesky little things do get past them once in a while! They are not venomous but best they stay outside! Overall, please remember we are located in the tropical rain forest of Belize where modern amenities can sometimes be harder to get, but we will always ensure we provide our guests with fantastic experiences through our in-house tour company, BushDog Adventures, along with amazing memories! Again, thank you so much for your comments. Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews