We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm, extremely comfortable and welcoming...”

Review of Windmill Cottage

A beautifully renovated 18th C slate fronted Cornish Cobb Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautifully renovated 18th C slate fronted Cornish Cobb Cottage
Large private enclosed garden backing onto old windmill Cosy lounge with log burner, comfy sofas, TV, DVD, IPOD dock and WiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A beautifully renovated 18th C slate fronted Cornish Cobb Cottage
Large private enclosed garden backing onto old windmill
Cosy lounge with log burner, comfy sofas, TV, DVD, IPOD dock and WiFi
Log burner. Ideal for a cosy night in.
Well equipped kitchen with  Rangemaster double oven, dishwasher and large farmhouse table
Exposed original beams in master bedroom. King size bed and luxurious linens
Exposed original beams in twin bedroom
Downstairs bedroom with king size bed and adjoining shower room.
Upstairs twin bedroom with ensuite shower room
Bathroom with bath and power shower
Downstairs Shower room
Trevone Beach 1/2 mile from the cottage (10 min walk)
Harlyn Bay 1 mile from cottage.
Bedruthan Steps. Top 10 photo destination in the UK. 20 minute drive.
The famous Rick Steins Seafood Restaurant
Padstow Harbour 1 mile from the cottage
Constantine Bay- 5 minute drive. Beautiful beach. Great surfing
RNLI on every beach
Winter on Boobys
Coffee on the beach at Constantine.
Beautiful Crugmeer Beach just 5 minute drive from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trevone, Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Allanah J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm, extremely comfortable and welcoming cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Dear Gail,
Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful and comfortable home from home. We visited Windmill and Cornwall for the first time in August 2013. We found the cottage to be prefect in every way for myself, my husband, our two boys (1 & 5), my mum and my mother in law (whom has restricted mobility).
The cottage has an open plan sitting room and kitchen which has a fabulous large wooden table which is great for family meals. Extremely comfy sofas with warm blankets to curl up on to watch DVDs or to play the numerous board and card games. A very welcomed door between the main cottage and the grandmother's wing! This meant the grandmothers weren't disturbed early in the morning by our very lively boys. The downstairs double room with the walk in shower was ideal for my mother in law.
The upstairs bedrooms are light and the beds and bedding are very comfortable indeed. To have three bathrooms with showers and one bath was great for cooling down in the hot August weather or for warming up after a day of bodyboarding in the pouring rain!
The massive enclosed garden was a great hit with our football crazy boys as there was a goal. So while they played we could relax on the sun loungers.
The location of the cottage is fantastic for reaching the wonderful beaches, visiting Padstow, cycling the camel trail, exploring the incredible castles or Bodmin moors.
Hence that is why returned again in August 2014 and the only negative part is we had to leave.
With best wishes,
Allanah, Declan, Joseph, Rafferty, Helen and Pat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pigletto
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My partner and I have just stayed for 5 days at Windmill Cottage. It is gorgeous. The accommodation is charming. Everything has been well thought out. I could happily live there! It's in a lovely quiet spot but handy for Padstow and beaches. I didn't find the entrance particularly small (which some have mentioned) & I have a pretty big car (large Merc convertible) there's a mirror on the other side of the road so you can see traffic coming. I would definitely recommend Windmill Cottage & can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
thanks Jennie for your very kind review, delighted you had such a good time & you liked our cottage. So glad you felt at home there - we do try to keep it as a home from home so guests feel comfy & cosy! It is a good base to explore the surrounding area which is such a stunning part of the Cornish coastline. We would love you to come back & stay again in the future. Thanks for leaving the cottage so immaculate - we really appreciate that.
with best wishes
Gail (cottage owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“'The Windmill' little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

'The Windmill'

What more could one say after a visit to possibly the most beautiful cottage.
It was our first visit to The Windmill and will certainly NOT be our last. There is nothing the cottage does not have.
Gail is very lucky to have such a beautiful cottage and you can very much tell she loves and cares for the cottage. To be greeted with fresh cut flowers (which lasted all week) and fresh scones from The Cough Bakery, all one can say is every last detail was covered and thought about.
Very highly recommended with NOT one single bad word to say about the cottage except just 'When can we return'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing