We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
96
24
12
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
24
12
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch the pub thatched roof lovely old pub chef makes roast beef friendly and welcoming staff the room was nice booked a table lovely food beers and lagers inglenook fireplace landlady bun camembert roasties accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had a lovely meal today, again with excellent service from the hard working staff, with a warm welcome for a lucky pet. This place is a real treat the beef roast was tender with plenty of vegetables to go around. We will defintely call again and early booking is advised as it is deservidly busy. Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jeremysf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

How a pub in the country should be. Thatched roof, Roaring big open fire and the bar area is dog friendly. Always a good selection of ales that are kept to the highest standards.
We had food and there were no complaints at all the dishes were homemade well presented and very tasty.
The landlady is always pleasant and we will be back again.
Should you fancy a night away they even have a few rooms available.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Three of us had a very enjoyable lunch. The food was excellent and a reasonable price. We were all driving so unfortunately did not sample the beer.

We were made very welcome. I don't recall the ladies name unfortunately. However she was very engaging and provided an excellent service.

We chose this place based on reviews and were not disappointed. A nice warm pub in a good location. Well done.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ShaunFlutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Really smashing lunch, very friendly and coped well with a selection of muddy children! We had venison burgers, and the kids ate off their menu - nothing startlingly original on this, but good portions of well cooked food. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Drlizw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Found this location late afternoon and booked room. Very friendly landlady, good ales, good food and most importantly, suffering from a back back, the bed was fabulous.

I will definately go out of way on business travels to stay again

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews