We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
95
24
12
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
24
12
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch the pub lovely old pub lovely food evening meal venison burger scarecrow trail landlady vicki bun roasties accommodation veg starters regulars pint harrow
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

ate here this evening, avoid the fish pie swimming in grey yuk. cost a fortune, think we were overcharged. shared a starter of charcuterie, average meat, poor olives, cheese bread was the only redeeming feature but would have fed 4. fish and chips...average. 2 shandies and 2 wine spritzers and paying way over the odds, we won't be eating here again

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank mermoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Such a shame this time it was a real let down, we only ate here, but Sunday lunch was terrible the meat was so tough I could not eat it, the gravy had no taste the potatoes and the cabbage looked and tasted as if they had been cooked before and reheated when the waitress came and asked if everything was alright with the meal I said the meat was awful I could not eat it, The comment was completely ignored. The pudding wasn't any better. This was a shame as some time ago we came here and the meal was lovely. Perhaps there has been a change of chef? as it was dreadful and the opposite of the previous visits.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jbell894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

After visiting the White Horse attractions, just passing and fancied a Sunday lunch. There was a very nice atmosphere, bar staff great, tried two different lagers both very nice. Had the best roast beef Sunday lunch we have had for a long time at any hotel. It was not the cheapest, but it certainly was the best and you only get what you pay for! We would certainly go back there again and plan to try a room for the night. We met the pub cat and he was beautiful, a true Blue and joined us all for lunch. A great 'pet friendly' pub.

Room Tip: We have not stayed there yet, but plan to do so, see above comments.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This is a pub restaurant you just have to visit to appreciate its beauty. There are 3 open fires to create a warm welcome.
Food here is first class, a must try is the fish and chips, simple but beautifully put together.
A good range of traditional ales.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We ate here as a convenient stop just off the M4 on a long journey, and were glad we did, this is a very traditional English pub that is cosy, friendly and a little quirky. We stopped in at lunchtime on Sunday with our 3yr old, and were warmly welcomed, the landlady/bar manager was particularly good with the wee man. I had the roast beef which was server appropriately rare and was very tasty, the Yorkshire pud was perfect, and the roasties were a little dry, but ok. The horseradish that was asked for separately was the tastiest horseradish I have ever eaten.

For pud, I had the cheeseboard which was quite simply the largest cheeseboard I've ever seen in a restaurant, and very tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Custa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews