We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Carara(Tarcoles)
US$ 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
US$ 191
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Punta Leona(Punta Leona)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Caletas(Jaco District)
US$ 236
US$ 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 412
US$ 400
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cerro Lodge(Tarcoles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
112
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrepeshomemade breadthe main housefruitla casitaamazing breakfastthe perfect hostmanuel antonionext morningfirst stoppacific coastthe riverplace to staycarara national parkscarlet macawswonderful placethe main road
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This was our first stop on our way to the Pacific coast. What a wonderful place! We had the two cabins by the pool which is set below the main house so we felt as if we were alone in paradise. Tropical birds and plants abound. Claudine is the perfect host and provides an outstanding breakfast on a patio with a beautiful view. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Wonderful place :)))
Very beautiful place with wonderful view on river Tarcoles. Good breakfast. Very friendly management.
Early morning you can see beautiful sunrise.
The place of power :)
We like this place. And come back later !!!

Room Tip: El Rancho - room for family
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4alexeybragin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stay at Claudine’s the same day our car was broken into and my passport, wallet, and other possessions were stolen. It had been a bad day. By the time we finished reporting the incident to the police, it had gotten late, and the darkness made it difficult to find the turnoff road that led to Claudine’s house. We began to worry we would never find it.

Eventually, after several passes up and down the same stretch of road, we noticed a car sitting near the main road with its lights on. We pulled over. Sitting in the car was Claudine, who, out of concern for her guests, had driven out to the main road and waited patiently for us in the parking lot of a small convenience store. She expressed sympathy over our predicament and kindly waited while we purchased some food and other provisions in the store. Then she escorted us to the house.

After a day of misfortune, it was such a relief to realize that we had made a great choice booking with Claudine—even before we reached the house. Once there we immediately began to relax and feel at home. The price was very reasonable, the property beautiful, and the guest house was cozy and comfortable and contained all the amenities we needed. The only downside was that we couldn’t stay longer.

The next morning, not only did Claudine cook us a delicious breakfast, she provided us with everything we needed to get our vacation back on track, including extended use of her home telephone, computers, and printer. Without this generosity our vacation would have been over, and we can’t thank her enough for it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amyluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Friendly hostess taking care without being present. Nice rooms in green surroundings. The room we had had two comfortable queen size beds. Pancakes, bread and fruits for breakfast. Perfect for a short stay on your way.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank CHFEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend staying here, we stayed two nights on the journey between The Nicoya peninsula and the mainland coast. Views over the tarcolea river and national park. Views from the shower were incredible. Pool was perfect. Breakfast was delicious, the hostess was lovely. We went to a nearby waterfall for a morning hike, very challenging and sweaty! Spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool and watching a big thunderstorm from the comfort of the balcony. Cash only, so we had to make a drive just for cash before we checked out. A few local sodas nearby to get food from. Coffee maker and sink in the room but not enough amenities to make any food. A truly spectacular place!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews