We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing: just rooms round a small pond”
Review of The Green Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Village
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We are not sure why this is so highly rated by others because we found it to be little more than rooms surrounding an uninteresting small pond on a rather cramped site on the main road. The owners have tried to add interest by creating a King Kong statue, a restaurant looking like a cave and ornately decorated room interiors but if you are here to visit natural Assam then the money was wrongly spent. Maintenance of rooms was poor (not checked for everything working before guests arrive) and the windows in our room had been installed with the plastic protective film still attached making it impossible to see out of them. They also did not close and one was cracked right across. The room had a balcony but no chairs. The whole site, excluding the path over the lake to the restaurant entrance which was lit by fairly lights but including the rooms and restaurant were incredibly (dangerously?) dimly lit at night so you really need a torch outside and reading in the rooms is very difficult. There is no bar and what green area that was present on the site has been turned into a building site with the resort seemingly trying to double its size. The menu was a bit limited but the food was good. The senior staff were very helpful and arranged trips to the National Park (West entrance just 4 km away) and gave lifts to the town to use the ATM and buy beer. The more junior staff were if anything over-attentive and frequently asked for foreign coins which I later found out was their way of asking for tips (they were not coin collectors!). They were very willing though. Unless you have your own transport or go on trips to the park there is nothing to do at the resort except eat or sleep. The rooms had TVs but amazingly for the price of staying there these were pay to view and it seemed though you had to subscribe to the channels you wanted to see so effectively no TV!. Overall we would not recommend this property but with children and your own transport you may find it OK.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CJL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

The resort is spread over a big area, there is a small water body as well which flows through the resort, overall a good place to spend time with the family. They also have a tea estate which you can visit or you can just walk around the resort but the rooms need maintenance and so does the restaurant. The food at the restaurant is strictly ok.
Overall if you are not too fussy about the rooms a good place to stay for the ambience in the resort.

Stayed: December 2016
2  Thank abhinarvekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This resort is situated on the highway very near to the safari point. It has good amenities and the restaurant serves very good food. They serve all kinds of food. I enjoyed the traditional Assamese thali very much. They arrange for special cultural programs for us. They also arranged for safari passes and ensured that we did not face any difficulties while entering the forest. The staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: The nearest ATM is 2.5 KM so please carry enough cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jagneswar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_greenvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope to serve you again in the future, and make your stay the most pleasurable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

The green village resort is very good and beautiful resort. resort surrounded by natural greenery with Forest and tea garden. Rooms are very beautiful and unique.we have never seen this type of interior I tell about deluxe rooms......but standard rooms are not so attractive. Restaurant is so beautiful and interior of restaurant is like a cave. Food is also very reasonable price and tasty. We take chicken butter marsala and ethnic food really it's amazing. staff behavior is also very nice. We really enjoyed....
We take elephant safari and Jeep from 1st gate ghorakati range only 4 km.
Resort management arrange everything.
Ooh really thankful to everyone.......

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mabud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_greenvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you had a memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

The location of the resort is very beautiful as it is surrounded by natural beauties. The resort staff was very helpful and hospitality was excellent. The restaurant KHOLONG food was very delicious, health and affordable. We were very overwhelmed to be there.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sultana Jasmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_greenvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your honest review. We hope that we have served you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0 km away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
81 reviews
0 km away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
120 reviews
0 km away
Kaziranga Golf Resort
Kaziranga Golf Resort
#2 of 8 in Jorhat
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 72 in Guwahati
386 reviews
0 km away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#8 of 72 in Guwahati
64 reviews
0 km away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Village

Address: Bagori | Close to Jhakalabandha, Kaziranga National Park 782136, India
Region: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range: ₹ 1,656 - ₹ 4,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort interiors have been inspired by the Assamese royalty, and we have tried to merge all modern amenities in our cocoon in the wilderness of Kaziranga. The restaurant serves Continental, Chinese, Indian and Authentic Assamese cuisine. We have all the provisions for meeting the requirements of serious Wildlife enthusiasts as well as those of holidayers willing to spend a few days in the lap of nature, and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Village Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing