We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
152
38
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
152
38
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts bird life facing cottages buffet style dietary restrictions spotting birds elephant safari other guests park entrances service was top notch prince william swamp deer knowledgeable guides kaziranga np different species beds were very comfortable monsoon season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021

We stayed two wonderful nights in February and there are many highlights to share. The cabins are excellent, and do feel like many other luxury lodges we have stay at on top flight tours in Africa. Tasteful rooms, well-appointed, with excellent balconies. The common area for meals and drinks was also good and the meals all were good. A huge success of the lodge was the service and guides. The service was top-notch and always accommodating, and the nature guide we had, Bumani, was the best we have had on more than a dozen safaris across multiple continents. He found us a tiger, which is rare, based on his careful listening to the warning cries of deer, and he knew all the good locations to go to. Other drivers and guides began to follow us around. He spoke just the right amount--always knowing what every bird or tree was, and spotting birds way before any of us--providing key insights but never being obtrusive. One afternoon he took us on a 5 kilometer hike of the local rice paddies and hills and again showed us his tremendous knowledge. The lodge was worth the stay and I definitely recommended it. And I recommend you get Bumani as your guide if you can.

Room tip: Room 5 is where the Prince and Princess (William and Kate) of England stayed
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RRCEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Diphlu River Lodge is well acclaimed for being one of the best Wildlife/ Forest Reserve Lodge/Hotels in India. Prince William and Dutchess of Cambridge Kate Middleton stayed here in Cottage 5 ( by chance the same cottage where we stayed ).

The acclaim is clearly well deserved. This 12 cottage cozy place is quietly tucked away on the bank of Diphlu River. The river facing cottages have an excellent view of the idyllic River. The inner cottages are also lovely since we stayed 2 nights in river facing and 2 in the forest facing. Rooms are very nice and cozy. This was winter time and the evening temperature drops quickly. The room heater and the hot water bottle in bed are nice touches.

The one thing that stands out is the 100 on 100 for service across board. Food = stunning. Whatever you ask for lunch and dinner (with advance notice of few hours) magically appears. The standard menu is also very tasty and nothing is repeated. Even a request for Rajasthani veg food was brilliantly executed with gattey ki sabzi and Kadhi with pakora. One of us had dietary restrictions of veg food with no onion and garlic. This was always specially prepared and always without a single error. The last night cultural program of Bihu dance was very entertaining. Naturalist Anuj and driver Bablu ( also very knowledgeable on birds and animals) were our perfect hosts for all safaris including a very special private river safari on Brahmaputra. Gaurav -our main host from the hotel was a picture of hospitality. All in all this place was amazing and the experience was stellar.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank vagishdixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

This was our second trip to Diphlu River Lodge and needless the say, we loved our stay there. It was the perfect escape especially during this pandemic. They had all their safety protocols in place, making us feel safe. They ensured staggered dining, and that all staff wore their safety gear including gloves while serving food. One great addition they did with their lunch and dinner was that they served their buffet in plates (like all the appetisers in one plate, followed by the main course in another plate) making sure contact with other people and serving ware was limited. They arranged a special dinner for my parents’ anniversary which was very sweet . The service there is impeccable. The staff is well trained and are always around to ensure you have the most comfortable stay ! Keep up the good work! Looking forward to our next trip there ♥️

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank divijarajkhowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Excellent western-style accommodations. Besides the breath-taking surroundings, the staff and accommodations are top notch. The lodge is only open November to the end of March with good reason. The area floods during monsoon season and is really hot in summer. But during the winter you will get to see large herds of rhinos, elephants, boars, possibly a tiger, etc. close-up un-disturbed by man. We were chased down the road by an angry wild momma elephant. Absolutely thrilling.

Room tip: 13 cabins. Bring warm clothing for early morning excursions.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Y6406SWdennisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

A 4 hour drive from Guwahati along the AH1 highway. Secluded in substantial grounds. Very nice cottages (for want of a better word). We stayed in No1. Large room with nice big bathroom. Lots of hot water with excellent pressure. All amenities. Fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Comfortable bed. Balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Adequate hanging/drawer space for clothes. The Dining Area/Lounge (Machan) is about 2 minutes walk away. Comfortable lounge with WiFi. Lunches often taken here overlooking the river. Good sized restaurant. Excellent food throughout our stay of 6 nights. Plenty of choice in the buffet for all meals. Such nice staff who always wore a smile and were happy to help. A programme for each day is given to you by the guide at evening dinner. Our guide, Bablu, was an excellent birder. Very knowledgeable and determined. Park entrances are as close as 10 minutes or as far as 45 minutes. Rhino very prolific. Good numbers of deer too. Tigers for us were invisible but that is how it goes sometimes. The river trip on the boat with lunch is a great addition. A well run establishment. Worthwhile staying here.

Room tip: Rooms are mostly the same, up on stilts because of the Monsoon floods in summer.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diphluriverlodge, General Manager at Diphlu River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you for your very kind and detailed review of Diphlu River Lodge. We regret that the Tiger eluded you - but that leaves us hoping that you will visit again, and, maybe explore other areas of Northeast India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews