We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diphlu River Lodge(DRL) - Excellent Stay”
Review of Diphlu River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Diphlu River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at DRL for three nights in December 2012 and it was an outstanding experience. There are 12 cottages of which 1-4 overlook farmland and 5-10 overlook the Diphlu River, with Cottage 5 having the best view of the river.

The room is very well done - the typical Assamese Bamboo look, and every small thing taken care off...three varieties of tea, towels, room and bed heaters/warmers. The bathroom gives an open feeling.The food served was excellent prepared by chef Gautom and the courtesy of the staff was un-parallel. We liked to items a lot - Orange Mousse and Banana ice-cream.

On 25th Night, the manager Bikash Baruah organized for a barbeque night alongwith the typical Assamese dance, Bihu. Outstanding experience - in the open air, chillness, drinks, barbeque and a lot of good friends from Pune, Australia etc.

Our game drives (jeep and elephant) were quite well organized and our guide Bhikan has an incredible knowledge of birds and the car driver Junnu(vehicle no 73) has a good eye for wildlife.

Overall a very good experience albeit an expensive one.

Room Tip: Rooms : 5 to 10 for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank EnigmaticIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Or if you want 3 varieties of tea in your room, 4 different sized bath towels, monogrammed cutlery, toast wrapped in a towel to keep it warm, colour-coordinated table mats and runners, and the most amazing food..muesli for breakfast, athis is where to go. The food is amazing. In fact the whole place is amazing, wonder how they are able to deliver 5 star quality and experience in this relatively remote area. Everything must be coming from outside.

Staff is very attentive. the rooms have everything you would need. The safari vehicles are clean and the naturalist is good.

Of corurse all of this comes at a price. If you can afford it, go for it for at least one night (like we did). The only complaint if at all .. is that it is a bit quiet. Only 5 other guests in the whole hotel during our stay - compared to wildgrass which is buzzing with action ...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank petertheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Comfortable bungalow overlooking the river. Lots of birdlife in the lodge compound. Great driver and guide for our Kaziranga game drives. Nothing too much trouble. Food allergies catered for.

You can hear the main road from the bungalows, but it is mainly background noise.

Saw a huge amount on the game drives, including tiger cubs, one horned Rhino and Hoolock Gibbons. A truly remarkable experience.

Room Tip: Overlook the river, so you can watch the birds from your roomin the day, and look for animals coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 1Mab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at Diphlu River Lodge for 4 nights in February. The lodge consists of one luxury tent, 8 private bungalows, and 6 semi-private bungalows. It is located right off the main highway so it is not as secluded and quiet as we expected; lots of horns honking at all hours; we wore ear plugs at night. You are warmly greeted every time you arrive at the lodge by staff with warm towels and a cold drink. There is a central courtyard consisting of rice plots and a lotus pond dissected by a pretty bamboo bridge.

The bungalow was private and spacious with double glass doors and a balcony overlooking the river. The bathroom consisted of a single vanity, shower stall and toilet. It definitely is due for an upgrade; the shower drain was disgusting, there was mold in the shower tiles and around the base of the toilet, and water damage on the walls where paint was bubbling off. As a result, the whole place had a strong mildew smell which was easily remedied by scented candles that we brought. The hot water tank is very small so 2 people can’t have hot showers without about 30 min. in between. The room also didn’t have a safe so I chose to wear my money belt during the stay.

The dining room and lounge are very nice and spotless. All meals were served buffet style which was perfect for my picky palate. There was a great selection of tasty Assamese and international cuisine. My only critique here is that the restaurant was always late opening which was a challenge at breakfast since they only allow you 30 min. to eat and start your game drive. One lunchtime during our stay, 2 van loads of tourists descended upon the lodge to have lunch. Apparently, the lodge also owns a river boat so this is an excursion for them. I found it intrusive; disrupting the quiet and relaxed nature of the lodge.

There were 2 game drives per day; morning from 7:30-12:00 and afternoon from 2:30-5:45. The vehicles are very old, dirty and small. However, I should say that all of the vehicles that we say at the park were similar. Our driver spoke no english and our naturalist’s english was broken. The roads within the park are extremely bumpy making it more comfortable to stand at times. There is an abundance of wildlife that can easily be seen within the park; elephants, rhinos, water buffalo, deer, otters, hogs, many beautiful birds, and even gibbons. Unfortunately, our naturalist was very focused on tiger sightings which we had already seen at another park. We spent a lot of time at watch towers with very little to see while he looked for signs of tigers. He didn’t even really show us anything or talk to us while we were there. We often drove past wildlife that we wanted to stop and look at because so much time was wasted tracking tigers. We tried to give subtle hints that we were bored like staying in the vehicle while the naturalist spent time at the watchtower but he didn’t get the hint. It was frustrating watching other vehicles come and go while we stayed bored. Finally on our last day we told him that we wanted to go to the village instead of doing another game drive and we had a great time seeing how the locals live. I should say that our expectations of the driver and naturalist were high because we had just had an outstanding naturalist at Kanha. Overall, we were satisfied because we were able to see almost everything we had hoped to see.

We chose not to participate in the elephant ride at the park after learning that their elephants are captured from the wild; (the elephants at Kanha are retired from the city). They are chained up when not working whereas at Kanha they have freedom at the park and drag a free chain so that the driver can find them. We also witnessed an elephant owner “training” his elephant by repeatedly hitting him over the head with a bamboo club. We were so upset that the naturalist asked the man to stop. We also noticed that the elephant drivers control them with clubs where at Kanha they are controlled by the driver’s feet. We were disappointed that the lodge doesn’t discourage elephant rides because of the cruelty associated with it.

Although there are many areas for improvement, we would recommend staying here. I think that this is the best lodge at Kazaranga from what we saw.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the detached bungalows (#5-8) facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The best jungle river lodge we have experienced in 35 years of travel. Oberoi standard without the pretensions.

Relaxed atmosphere, well trained attentive but discreet staff. Fabulous food(best on our two month trip). Luxurious but authentic accommodation, environmentally empathetic - great beds.

We would recommend a four night stay - lots to do around the area including, of course, jungle safaris at Kaziranga National Park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.0 km away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
0.0 km away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#16 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
10 reviews
1.6 km away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ygdrasill Bamboo Cottage
Show Prices

Been to Diphlu River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diphlu River Lodge

Address: Kaziranga National Park, Kuthuri, | Near Bagori Police Outpost,, Kaziranga National Park 782136, India
Region: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range: ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 13,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diphlu River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diphlu River Lodge is the only lodge at Kaziranga National Park that is situated right at the border of the park. We offer all-inclusive stays from three to ten days. Our well-trained naturalists take you out into the park by jeep, elephant or even on foot. We also offer jungle and river walks, village visits and boat rides on the Brahmaputra river where you may also get to view the rare Gangetic River Dolphin. With only twelve twin-bedded cottages, eight of which are individual and four semi-detached, Diphlu River Lodge is intimate in size and built using natural materials (like bamboo, thatch, etc.). Besides comfortable beds, each cottage has a pleasant sit-out as well as a writing desk, mini-bar and a small fridge. A complimentary selection of tea and coffee and an electric kettle is also at hand for when you need a cuppa. The bathroom has a rain shower and a roomy dressing area with a fitted wardrobe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Diphlu River Lodge Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing