We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
4
2
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
2
1
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Situated near the confluence of Dhansiri and the mighty Bramhaputra, the property shares its boundary with Kaziranga itself. And with the Eastern (Agaratoli) range gate just 10 mins, away - one cannot ask for a better location. Some great traditional bamboo cottages for accommodation, along with fresh, organic Assamese food - one gets a great insight into local culture. Moreover, the whole place is solar powered, meaning very little impact on the environment. And the best part about the place is the host, Gautam who has spent a lifetime tracking and conserving the wildlife of Kazriranga. You will not find a better person to help you explore Kaziranga.

But if you are looking for a holiday with TV, music and partying - this is not for you. But if you want to spend time away from the world in the lap of nature and local culture, make your booking now.

Room tip: The suite cottage is the best
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shanx013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the suite at the eco camp. Eastern zone of kaziranga National Park.
The accommodation is completely made of bamboo supported by solar power for lighting.
For bathing they provided us with hot water in buckets as and when we needed it.
Food was basic and inexpensive but definitely yum and extremely fresh and organic from the fields within the premise.
The best part, you are in very close proximity to the park. From our room we could hear rhinos making mating calls and elephants trumpeting at night. A true eco living experience.
I would recommend this eco camp to anyone who truly respects nature and understands simplicity of life. If you want your chicken tandoori or loud music at night, this is not a place for you.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommended it to every nature/wildlife lover.
Tips- take a flight/Train to Jorhat, we took a flight to Guwahati, but the drive to kaziranga and the camp is 5 hrs. Which is quite a long drive and can be easily avoided if one arrives at jorhat.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Abigail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Do you like slumming it in scenic locales? Then Dhansiri Eco Camp is right up your street. Freezing rooms without heaters, hot water or glass panes on windows? Check. Inadequate stained pillows and blankets? Check. Watery daal and kumhada sabzi on the menu twice a day? Check. To compensate for that, the place does have the Dhansiri river flowing just about a kilometre away, and pristine vistas that allow you to watch a spectacular moonrise, especially on a full moon day. The warm presence of about a dozen dogs and puppies does much to make you feel welcome, as well as that of free range hens and geese. The entire complex runs on solar energy, which is a bummer because the lighting in the rooms is too dim to read, there are no charging points for your mobile phones in your room - communal charging points are there only in the dining area where you have to check during the day to see if they are switched on or not.
The owner, Mr. Gautam Saikia is a well respected film-maker and photographer and makes time for his guests. But if you can avoid his driving, your heart will thank you for it as he goes at a 100 Kms per hour even on bumpy, traffic-ridden roads.
All in all, the place fits into a budget traveller's pocket, and is easy on the eyes. But carry your own rugs and pillows, and if possible, food too to survive the stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank gowherelifetakesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

A refuge from crowded noisy India...none of the noises of civilization, quiet solar lights, hot water for bathing by the bucket. Simple, locally sourced mild organic food, (I am a vegetarian). Comfortable room, clean western style toilet. Unpaved road in, is 4 km of bumps.

Gautam was knowledgeable and usually attentive as a guide, unless he was distracted taking a picture of his own. It was not always easy to understand his English ...often sounded like he had a wad of pan in his mouth.

Would not recommend Brahmaputra trip...not much to see...

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Aum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

I had a company get together at this resort just yesterday night...But sorry Mr. owner, this was certainly not among my best experiences..we were 7 in total and as we had our lunch late in the evening, we asked u for 5 dinner plates. But u and your staff forced us to take 7 plates and that too with poorest quality possible..I am an Assamese guy and the food provided in the Resort was nowhere near the quality of this region... u said lot of people from around the globe visit yr resort. If this is the quality they r happy with, then I don't know,. We decided to leave in the morning instead of evening without taking breakfast and lunch..We cannot compromise everything in the name of "Wilderness''..I am writing this review only for the reason that people should not carry some false images of Assam and Kaziranga.

The location is good but cant advice people to drive their own vehicle..only zeep/Gypsy is suitable..it is far away from the city...The road condition is pathetic..in fact there is no road in some places.. The cottages are with basic amenities and its ok but price is a bit high.

Thank u for giving us some discount on our total bill..u(owner) were a different person on the day we left..

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saurabh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews