We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant”

Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #5 of 124 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Newtown
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

That's a great place to eat in Newtown. It's a bit expensive but the food is great. It is Spanish style with tapas to share.

Thank Emylie817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I couldn't fault the food. The menu was creative and provided excellent choices. This isn't a hippie vegan type diner that one would come to expect from King st. The food is exceptionally good. I found the prices reasonable given the quality. The chefs must have a serious pedigree to produce this kind of quality food. I'm from Melbourne and Bloodwood reminds me of the sort of restaurant along Flinders Lane where you'd spend huge dollars. It's a sharing dish style menu. The waiter recommended we chose about 4 to 5 dishes, depending on choice. It was plenty for 2 very hungry blokes. Very interesting beer list and a great choice of wines.

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloodwood, Manager at Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Paul,

Thank you for writing your review, we very pleased that you have enjoyed your experience with us!

We look forward to having you dine with us again the next time your in Sydney.

Kind regards,


Bloodwood management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Recommended by my friend Chino Banzon, Bloodwood was definitely the most interesting place I’ve tried during my trip to Sydney. Its limited seating capacity guarantees a 45 minute wait; which fortunately was worth it. Its dimly lit interiors, minimalist menu and extensive drinks list reminded me of Your Local. As its serving sizes lean on the smaller size, they advised us to order 3 to 4 dishes to fill up both our tummies. We started with the Polenta Chips (AUD 10) , served piping hot. Dip them in the light gorgonzola sauce it comes with and you’re solved. Its Chicken Liver Parfait (AUD 14) features a large scoop of chicken liver spread enough to share with a group. I love that it was served with warm and fluffy ciabatta bread (a whole stack of it, and yes, you can ask for more); and sweet earl grey infused fig preserves to temper the saltiness.

The Sticky Fried Basket (AUD 30) was visually overwhelming as heirloom carrots, enoki mushrooms, quinoa, and black seeds are artfully layered atop the chunks of beef brisket. This dish takes a while to prepare, but you’d understand why after your first bite. The beef is made so tender that it wonderfully melts in your mouth. Its Charred Lamb (AUD 24) showed more restraint by using significantly less ingredients. This allows one to fully appreciate the smoky flavor of the lamb pieces. Try to eat this dish right away though as the lamb gets tougher over time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank milcah889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloodwood, Manager at Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Milcah,

Thank you for the review that you have written and thank you for waiting. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to having you dine with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniel De Gabrielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Went her on the off chance on a Sunday for lunch, as I have been wanting to go for yonks. Wasn't disappointed. Food was outstanding. The best lunch I have had in Sydney for ages and really well priced too. Well done Bloodwood team . I will be back!

Thank brewju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloodwood, Manager at Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for writing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to having you dine with us again!

Kind regards,


Daniel De Gabrielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Booked here a few years for my wife's Bday and loved the food, back in Sydney again, it won't disappoint, try the trifle

Thank Deyvis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloodwood, Manager at Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Deyvis,

Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you dine with us the next time you in town.

Cheers,

Bloodwood management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bloodwood Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing