We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location perfect to visit Kandy”
Review of The Kandyan Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kandyan Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Katugastota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We just spend 2 nights in this very charming place. We loved this cosy colonial guest house.
The owers were very friendly with us, Suzy is a very good cook, we suggest you to dinner once there so you'll be able to judge.
You can enjoy the pool and the garden. This is a perfec place to chill after a day of visits. Just for your information: wifi not availabe 24h/24h an no tv in the rooms (for us it was not an important detail).
Simona & Jeroen

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank si-jer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We received a warm welcome from the owners. There were 10 of us staying at this place and it was set back off the road and I would agree it was probably a little bit difficult to find but we had a guide that been there before. It was a quaint little place decorated in a local style and owned by a family that goes back five generations. I need a little story and pictures on the walls from ancestors. I can highly recommend this as it was comfortable and quaint and had plenty of outdoor space to sit outside and enjoy a coffee or breakfast or just a chat with friends. We only stayed one night so cannot give this the full review it deserves but considering the time we arrived in the comfort of the rooms I would say it's well worth it. Do be prepared as they have outdoor showers which can be a little bit crisp in the winter.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

If you are looking for a cozy Home stay experience in historical City of Kandy, This is the place to be. In addition to yummiest home made dishes, the hospitality of the this family is out of this world. Let me be honest, If you want 5 start luxury, don't go here, but for me, who seek non 'Hotel' environment, this is absolutely amazing experience. You will enjoy the quite uncommon interior designs, blended with Cultural architecture. simply enjoyed every minute during my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We have spent 2 nights in this beautiful and peaceful place and it was hard to leave it. The Manor is amazing, very vibrant and authentic, and the owners are incredibly nice and helpful, they made us feel home. The entire place calls for calm and harmony.
It is not easy to find, like every piece of Paradise :), but the drivers are used to call the owners and we have always found our way back home! The rooms are very spacious with a lot of charm, not luxury though but comfortable enough to have a great stay. And the food is fantastic! The WiFi was random but, hey, this is Sri Lanka ;)
I can only recommend this place and I will certainly go back if I have the occasion!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Quite difficult to find as no sign from the main road, but when we did find it after our driver went passed it four times we found a nice old house with a pleasant garden.Very welcoming on arrival and whilst we were very early the host made our room available quickly. Big family room with plenty of space to sleep three or four. Bed was comfortable but fittings had seen better days, especially the bathroom which was dirty.
We had booked a market tour and cooking demonstration with the hosts. The owners said that they were busy doing other things and a young boy took us to market in a Tuk tuk which we had to walk 15 minutes to meet from the house. On return the lady took us to the kitchen but then left us with the young boy and an even younger girl for the demonstration. This was still enjoyable but I got the inmpression that the hosts were not that interested in us.
We had dinner in the first night which consisted of a three course meal which was simple but adequate and reasonably priced.
Breakfast was disappointing on both mornings as their was no choice with just a plate of fruit and a hard boiled egg and bread. This could certainly be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paul087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katugastota
2.6 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
5.8 km away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#24 of 56 in Kandy
535 reviews
2.2 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#28 of 56 in Kandy
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
556 reviews
1.9 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
3.7 km away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#7 of 56 in Kandy
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandyan Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandyan Manor

Address: Rambukwella Walauwa | Yatiwawala, Katugastota, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Katugastota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Katugastota
Price Range: ₹ 2,330 - ₹ 5,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kandyan Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kandyan Manor is a traditional Walauwa, built more than 110 years ago, in the hills of Kandy, a world heritage site. Now managed by the 4th generation, it is a truly peaceful setting complemented by a five and a half acres of shrub jungle,in a typical hill country, rural environment, amidst green woods. The Kandyan Manor has an alluring cozy atmosphere in tranquil surroundings, ideal to unwind and enjoy a relaxed holiday. The area is a paradise for bird watchers to listen to the chirps and songs at sunrise and observer a large variety of rare and colourful birds, a mini nature walk for the hill walker (trekker) and naturalist, village scenery for the artist and a grand view of the Hunasgiriya peak for photographers. Hosts, Bhathiya and Suzy Ratwatte, and their staff assure you of comfort, convenience and hospitality, providing delicious home made meals, cooked in the traditional way on fire wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Kandyan Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing