We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
102
38
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
38
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvisit kandycooking demonstrationsri lankatuk tukbig gardencooking classhouse is beautifulkandyan manorfish curryhome away from homewi figuest housesuzyhostsdrivercoconutluxury
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed at the Kandyan Manor for 3 days at the beginning of the Esala Perahera (the largest festival in Asia). Despite struggling to find the place initially we were extremely grateful that it was about 4 km away from Kandy as it felt like we could escape the mad streets and crowds and return to our beautiful green guesthouse. It takes about 20 minutes to get into Kandy centre on a tuktuk and cost about 300 rupees.

The guesthouse is set in lush gardens surrounded by a rainforest and tea plantations on one side and then the main road going down to Kandy is below. It is very quiet and we had candle lit dinner in the gardens looking at the stars. The house is an old, Kandyan manor house, built in stone and timber with lots of photos, pictures and interesting trinkets. It has been in Bhatia's family for centuries.

We stayed in a room outside of the house. It was very colourful and I loved the stone, wood and brick design of the shower. The bed was actually made of stone with a mattress on top so it was still fairly hard.

Suzie and Bhatia were fabulous hosts, arranging a day trip for us to Sigiriya at reasonable cost and giving us good tips for seeing the festival. The meals are delicious, authentic Sri Lankan. They would just bring out a whole range of dishes and explained what they were to us, which made the meal have an air of discovery! Unfortunately they don't sell alcohol but you can have wine/ beer with your meal that you have bought.

We enjoyed tea on their patio looking out onto the monsoon rain at times. I just wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank miquelaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

What an absolute pleasure it was to stay at Kandyan Manor. The location, accommodation, dining and service are impeccable. What you get at Kandyan Manor can not be bought, personal touches, friendly accommodating hosts and relaxation. Thank you for restful undisturbed time. Our children felt very at home and enjoyed the hospitality shown. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mantismk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights and it was wonderful. Just far enough away from Kandy to not here the noise, but only about 400rp to get into town, just don't expect it to be walking distance. Suzie and Bhatia are great hosts and will call a tuk tuk and organise where they need to take you. Suzie is an amazing cook and will host 25 of Sri Lanka's Hotel Chef's soon to teach them how to cook! The rooms were clean and simple. A bit rustic but big enough and comfortable enough. Overall I would recommend this place highly. We were very well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viv_stillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked the deluxe villa since it was the most expensive and therefore supposedly the best. But It was much more basic than I expected. It was also very difficult to walk to the "villa" from the garage (even more difficult to find the guest house in the first place!). Food was simple but tasty. Everything worked in the room except the TV! I don't regret booking as the owners went out of their way to make sure we had everything needed. I would just pre-warn potential visitors that this is not a hotel and offers only an authentic Sri Lankan experience in a tropical/ jungle environment. I wish the friendly hosts well. I neither recommend or not recommend: it all depends what you are looking for on a holiday.

Room Tip: I would expect the rooms in the main house to be a better choice. Closer to everything, particularly the hosts etc. I was offered the chance of moving but we were not there long enough to be bothered.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in a huge, colourful room in the house and found it refreshingly different to the normal hotel experience. Food is obviously a real feature when booking here and meals were great but the shopping/cooking experience was really superb. Suzie is a fabulous cook and really wants you to have a great, authentic experience. The setting is simply beautiful and Bhatia encourages you to make yourself at home and wander freely. The manor house itself is very old and full of artefacts, so great if you are a history buff too. The bathrooms really could do with updating but as Suzie says, they aren't pretending to be 5 star. There were a lot of mosquitos when I visited and my repellant was useless but Suzie very kindly offered hers. On the downside, there were no mosquito nets and drinks were pricey.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house are huge but the cottages in the grounds offer a more private feel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaHavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews