We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveller rating
536
232
45
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
232
45
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dodgy dock street food free shuttle cooking class rum tasting grand anse beach infinity pool small kitchenette dive shop wednesday night dive trip medical school view of the bay fresh fruit honeymoon suite spiral staircase local food
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 841 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Best thing about this hotel is the staff who were all friendly and charming. Worst thing is its location - without a car, you will be marooned. Liat lost our luggage so we wasted 2 days before we could hire one. There is a hotel courtesy bus to Grande Anse beach but otherwise you are miles from supermarkets to make use of the self catering facilities in the rooms. Food in the restaurant was expensive for what it was and a bit erratic. My partner's shrimp salad was quite frankly, not up to scratch. Grenada is a beautiful island however and this hotel one of the better value ones of its class. Shame about the gaudy colours and cheap fake design of the lower swimming pool. Christmas decorations were very sweet.

Room tip: Book a hire car via hotel in advance
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guardianeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueBlueBayResort, Guest Relations Manager at True Blue Bay Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you found our staff personable and helpful and also appreciated your other comments which we would like to address.

While it can be a good idea to rent a car for longer stays so you can explore the island on your own, our concierge is always willing to organize taxi, tours or any other activities outside the resort. Hopefully you had a chance to take advantage of this service while you were here.

Most of our guests enjoy our food however we have passed your comments on to our chef so that he can ensure that quality is maintained and at a reasonable price.

The colors used at the Infinity pool are meant to give guests a "Caribbean feel", we understand that this may not meet everybody's preference but we are happy that you enjoyed our Caribbean Christmas decorations.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We chose this place because of it's proximity to St. George's University, as we were planning to visit our son there. It is literally directly across the Bay, and just a 13 minute walk away from the campus.

We had a waterfront suite, and loved waking up to the beautiful view of the bay each morning. The suites have a lower balcony off the living area and another balcony off of the bedroom. Even though we didn't use the kitchenette, it seemed to have anything you'd need to fix simple meals.

There are two pools, one on the beach and the other up higher. Both have plenty of shaded area to escape from the sun. If you are unable to navigate slopes and stairs, this is probably not the place for you, as the resort is built on multiple levels with sloping paths and stairs leading from one area to the next. There is plenty of lush natural vegetation all around, and you really feel as though you are in the tropics.

We loved the Dodgy Dock, a restaurant literally on a large dock jutting out over the water. Whether for the complimentary breakfasts that are included with the stay or for a meal or just a cocktail in the evening, it was a fun relaxing place to sit and soak in the view. Staff was friendly and helpful. In the evenings there was live music at times. We were never bothered by the music at night, even when we went to our room early.

For a simple lunch meal, there are several options within a ten minute walk. At the top of the driveway turn left, and then take the first left again. You'll come to an area of outdoor food vendors with picnic tables that the students from St. George's use. Good selections and inexpensive.

One of the most beautiful beaches on the island is Grand Anse, and the hotel provides a complimentary ride to and from the beach. Just let them know when you'd like to go and be picked up. There's a great lunch place right on the beach. Umbrellas is in the name and the food and drinks were terrific.

It's worth it to arrange for a driver to take you around the island, and the resort has a concierge who will arrange that for you. We arranged ours privately, but the price given on the hotel's bulletin board seemed reasonable and I heard guests speaking positively of their experience with the all day tour booked through the hotel.

All in all, a delightful vacation and I'd stay here again if I was going to the island.

Room tip: Loved the waterfront suites.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Lovely hotel managing to stay small and personal whilst still having all that you need. The bayview and waterfront rooms are especially nice. Simple but luxurious, good food, great diving centre, lovely staff

Room tip: Avoid the rooms near the bar if noise disturbs you ! there are only two rooms there and the rest are all fine!!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic, only stayed one night but could happily stay longer! Only downside was the service for dinner was rather slow for food and drinks, however the quality was good! The only problem this hotel may have is that it is built on a hill and therefore may not be easily accessible for elderly and infirm.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We LOVE this unique resort nestled in a residential area. It was also close to all the sites and restaurants we love. Our room overlooked the bay and it was so relaxing to wake up to that view every morning. Room service was very good. We also got an excellent recommendation from Binta and did the dingy tour which was the highlight of our trip where we got to snorkel and see squid!!
The restaurant service at Dodgy Dock and at breakfast was not impressive so we tended to order room service a bit more than we normally would have. I had a wonderful pedicure at the spa and found some nice souvenirs in the gift shop. Overall we had a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews