We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilson Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lakeside Hotel(Newby Bridge)
US$ 301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
295
95
30
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
95
30
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish tankconiston old manphone boxfish piecontinental breakfastcopper bathlog firehigh standardgenerous portionsgroupon dealwet roommashgreat beerfantastic foodpuddingbeer garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A particularly wet day had us scurrying to a pub for cover before braving a night of camping and this pub was just what we needed. Inviting cosy bar with open fire and the warmest of welcomes by the lady behind the bar.

Seafood sharing platter for starters was original and delicious Between us we savoured the game pie, fish and Cumberland sausage - all extremely enjoyable. Would have been rude not to do pudding and sticky toffee pudding, and crumble/brûlée combo did not disappoint

Left full happy and ready for any weather camping could throw at us!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank KatrinaN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay here as it was advertised on groupon. Upon arrival the place was lovely and clean with a friendly atmosphere. However, when we sat down for dinner they had ran out of the only vegetarian option available. Being a vegetarian myself, this made it quite difficult. This didn’t affect the standard of the food as what they did provide for me was delicious. After a good nights sleep in the quiet and cosy bedrooms, we sat down for breakfast. What seemed to be the owner of the place made us feel inadequate for being part of the groupon deal and proceeded to act rude and hostile towards us. This included short snappy service to not only us, but every other couple/family using the groupon deal. All in all, the place was lovely and I would recommend. It was just a shame breakfast ruined the enjoyable experience we had had staying here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank wendysmith2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across this pub on a walk from Coniston. It is a beautiful pub with fantastic decor and a separate dining area. There was a coal fire burning and it was very welcoming. We had drinks and the bacon and Brie ciabatta which came with salad and potato salad and crisps and it was perfect. Our dog was welcome and he was so at home we struggled to persuade him to leave. The ladies toilets are brilliant with slabs of slate for walls and doors made from tree sections. Can’t praise it enough. If you are doing a Coniston circular walk go via Torver and stop at this pub for lunch. You won’t be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Tarajaneoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only had 3 days in the area and visited the Wilsons Arms on our first night. We enjoyed it so much we came back for the last night. Every main course we sampled was really good, and seemed to be home made. The portion sizes were generous and the chips deserve a special mention as just about the best I’ve ever had. The dessert menu is very limited (I think there one only four choices) but every one was delicious. If we’re in the area again, we’ll be heading for this place to eat.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank HxBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Great service, friendly staff and lovely food. Book a table so not to be disappointed. Dog friendly too! Good menu with local produce and separate restaurant if you want more formal. Thanks for lovely evening

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews