We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Farmers

The Farmers
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 46
Description: Family and dog friendly classic pub offering freshly cooked food all day, every day. Attractive garden with a large children's play area. Well kept local ales along with the popular classics and a good selection of wines. Well decorated interior with a log fire. Decking as well as large garden. Separate room available for weddings.
Restaurant details
Description: Family and dog friendly classic pub offering freshly cooked food all day, every day. Attractive garden with a large children's play area. Well kept local ales along with the popular classics and a good selection of wines. Well decorated interior with a log fire. Decking as well as large garden. Separate room available for weddings.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Bearing in mind we have lived in the area for 28 years, I thought it was about time we tried out the Farmers. Booked a table for two for Thursday night (19:30). Arrived and received a good welcome at the bar where we ordered drinks. Definitely a sort of locals feel to the place but not unwelcoming. It is a large pub with many separated areas for sitting with a drink or eating plus a long bar area. (it also has a large garden to the rear.) Were told we could go straight through to our table or, if we wanted to stay a the bar, should just let the barman know when we were ready and he'd take us through. Very good!
Had a look at the menu - nice selection and got hold of the specials board where unfortunately all but couple of items had sold out! Went through and sat at our table; ordered, all good. Food was tasty - wife had the sausages (good quality) and I had the pie ( a proper one shortcrust pastry all round and cut from a big home made one). I was slightly disappointed that the edges of the pie, were slightly dried out, presumably from heating (reheating?) in a microwave. but the pie was packed with meat and very tasty. The staff were pretty good - attentive enough without being over the top.

However bearing in mind that the owners appear to take note of customer comments on here, a few thoughts for them: Others have commented on the staff not quote having the systems in place to make the service slick and efficient and I noticed a bit of that. Like when our half full carafe of water was removed during our meal with other stuff and not replaced?? Just weird! Also when we were finished and ready to pay we seemed to lose all the staff for a while. ( By the way I noticed the 10% optional service charge that would be added to our bill but it is "optional" so you can have it removed if you want - just hope it goes to the staff!)

So, would I go back -Yes. Are the small issues regarding getting a system in place for the staff to raise that extra star feasible and easy to do - Yes. Do I think the management will attend to this - Yes. Do I want it to be like Claridges? No!

It's almost there and won't take much to sort. It needs the management to get on top of it, watch the activities from the customers perspective, and they'll be successful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eaters53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, . at The Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for trying The Farmers after 28 years! It is good to hear you like the ambience, menu and food.
We have been delighted by the success of The Farmers since we opened last November, we do have new members joining our staff who have their L plates on whilst learning the ropes so occasionally this can cause the odd oversight but our hardworking and friendly team do do all they can to make your visit enjoyable as can be seen from recent glowing reviews.
Yes, all service charge goes to staff, adding it on enables us to operate within HMRC law and distribute a percentage to the hard working team, running food, washing up etc as well as your server. All democratically agreed and successful.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes
The Farmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

I went for lunch today with a group of friends the food was brilliant as was the refurbishment it has had since being taken over. Unfortunately I had a reaction to something I ate (nothing related to the pub).  I don't have a diagnosed food allergy but I've reacted a few times in the last few weeks so now starting to see a correlation. However, the team at the pub were fantastic so wanted to pass on my thanks for being so kind and helpful. We will definitely be back soon and will spread the word about the fantastic food and customer service.

1  Thank CLSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, . at The Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for visiting The Farmers and for writing such a nice review. We were sorry you had a reaction and hope you find the culprit soon. We look forward to you coming back soon.
Best wishes
The Farmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch at The Farmers today, mix of roasts, specials and main menu. The food was great, very tasty... especially the gravy, and puddings. All good portion sizes. Only reason not top marks, despite the staff being lovely and friendly, the actual service was a little slow and disorganised. However that did not mar an overall fantastic lunch, we will definitely be back !!

1  Thank A2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, . at The Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for visiting The Farmers and for writing such a nice review. It is lovely to hear you thought everything was great and very tasty and you especially enjoyed the gravy and puddings, our favourites too! We are sorry to hear the service was a little slow, we are still training some new staff and it occasionally takes a little time to be truly slick, however we are relieved you found everyone lovely and friendly and the overall lunch was fantastic. We definitely look forward to your return.
Best wishes
The Farmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

So we have heard good things about the place since it was taken over a few months ago and decided to try it out for Mother's day.
The menu was set but had a great selection for all 3 courses and catered for many different dietary requirements.
The food it's self was nice but didn't wow any of us, the portions were very generous, the presentation was good but unfortunately everything was just a little bland and although tasted fine and pleasant that was it. The staff were lovely and although they were very busy tried to be as attentive as possible, they didn't seem to have an area each looked after so we were served by several different people which I don't think really helped them with knowing who had taken orders or asked if we needed more drinks ect which let them down a little.
The wait between courses was a little long and it took a long time to get someone to bring dessert menu's especially since we were only allocated 2 hours for the table.
I think they should have concentrated more on the quality of the food rather than quantity and trying to squeeze in several sittings during the day especially since I can get fabulous food for the same price in similar venues locally.
Overall I think 3 stars is fair for now, I will give it another go at some point in the hope that it will be as good as some of the reviews I have heard, otherwise they will find it tough in an area with some fabulous pubs who produce consistently great food.

Thank Charlie643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, . at The Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you Charlie, for letting us know that you have heard good things about The Farmers. It is good to hear you thought the menu selection was great and we catered for many different dietary requirements with good presentation.
We agree our staff are lovely and you are quite right they were very busy but coped admirably. We are sorry you had to wait for your desert menu but pleased you are going to visit us again.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes
The Farmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

The food was delicious and serving staff were lovely; however, as a big group our experience was disappointing. Firstly, the dining room was very hot which made our meal quite uncomfortable. Secondly, there was a big delay between meals being taken out to our table - nearly 20 minutes between the first and last meal (on a table of 15).

1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, . at The Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you Amy for letting us know you thought the food was delicious and the front of house team were lovely. We are sorry for any delay while serving your table of 15 and that you felt the dining room was too warm for you. We work hard to make everyone's visit a pleasant and enjoyable experience so we always check out any problems and rectify anything we can, we will certainly look into your comments.
We do hope you visit us again.
Best wishes
The Farmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmers also viewed

Polegate, East Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
South Chailey, East Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to The Farmers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing