We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Barley Mow - Aunty's Favourite”
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Walderton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Traditional country pub nestled within the pretty village of Walderton nr. Chichester, surrounded by beautiful untouched Sussex countryside right in the middle of the South Downs National Park and just a short walk to the famous Kingley Vale. A warm and friendly welcome awaits with cosy log fires in the winter & a pretty summer garden. Great food served 12-2.30 and 6-9 Monday to Friday 12-9 Saturday 12-4 Sunday
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My Aunty, who reached 100 this year, loves her trip to the Barley Mow for the Sunday carvery. There is a good choice of meats, including a beautiful gammon, and loads of vegetables, plus Yorkshire pudding and roast pork crackling. The horseradish sauce is deliciously fiery and other accompaniments include cranberry sauce and apple sauce. The gravy, for us, could be beefed up a little (excuse the pun). We have always found the staff to be friendly and very helpful and the pub itself exudes a cosy atmosphere. All in all a very pleasant experience which we have enjoyed over a number of years.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ALTJW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMWalderton, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you very much for your kind review, we here at the Barley Mow really appreciate you taking the time to mention.
I have asked chef to put some extra veal bones in this weeks stock to improve the gravy.
We hope to see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2015

Well worth a stop at this lovely pub, cosy, quaint and the food was delicious. Great Value for money and the portions were just enormous............you wont leave hungry!

2  Thank Holly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMWalderton, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Barley Mow with such high Praise, we all appreciate it very much and hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Four of us and a dog visited the Barley Mow yesterday for Sunday lunch. We were warmly welcomed. The staff were extremely friendly, highly efficient and attentive. The carvery was outstanding. The various meats were all very tender and plentiful. There was a wide range of vegetables, Yorkshire pudding and crackling! The desserts were also high quality. Our dog was provided with treats! Our lunch was excellent value for money. I would highly recommend the Barley Mow to anyone who enjoys very good food in a friendly, calm pub environment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank BobbyG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMWalderton, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Barley Mow with such high Praise, we all appreciate it very much and hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We often go the Barley Mow for the carvery. It is excellent value and the food is very good. Four different meats, roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding, stuffing, crackling, cauliflower cheese, red cabbage, swede mash, leeks and gravy!
The service has always been attentive and friendly.

1  Thank Eciloppots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMWalderton, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

So very kind of you to review us in suc a positive way. Thank you from us all at the Barley Mow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Good country pub. Lots of room inside and pretty outside eating area too. Myself, my partner and daughter all found lots of options on the menu. Staff were polite and very helpful. Would defiently make another visit and would recommend .

1  Thank blobsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMWalderton, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at The Barley Mow. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Singleton, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
West Ashling, Chichester
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing