We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of our lives ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Tamarindo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Langosta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This resort is very nice . From the moment you step out of the cab there is someone to greet you with a smile and helping hand . Everything is alfresco so don't expect AC lol only in the rooms . It's a very pretty resort super clean . The food is very good it is authentic Costa Rican food (Spanish food) rice beans chicken steak etc . They have two espresso machines that made the most delicious cafe lattes but there coffee served by the hostesses is also great . There is one restaurant which we got to eat at twice as part of our all inclusive package that was really nice and the food was delicious great service over all . The tour guide juicy (that's her name ) is lovely helped us book two tour which were very reasonably price and great fun . The activity's group were awesome we met Jordon who has us playing games doing Zumba and aqua aerobics with his as well as other team members. There all very sweet and made our time there more enjoyable. There is a band in the lobby that circulates the resort and there also Amazing haven't dance that much in a while . There was a large group of local that came in and dancing with them was so much fun . We're Puerto Rican's so this was very close to the music and food we know and love . Over all the rooms were pretty and clean with balconies facing the pool area didn't have ocean view but did have view of the lush landscape . Beautiful flowers and tree, bird wake you up early which was amazing . Som many birds and butterflies. Truly a beautiful place . The gym was ok need a touch up but enough to get the job done . The beach there is breath taking. It changes by the hour so beautiful. Make sure to sit there in the late afternoon and watch the sun set . The sun sets early about six . Overall would stay there again .

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank sweetacakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear sweetacakes:

I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica.

Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit.

Thank you very much for your time.

Greetings from sunny Tamarindo.

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are friendly and super accommodating. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're a foodie (the food is not one of its fortés - I would recommend the buffet food be covered and not left out in the open as there were flies all over and it was really hot!) We bypassed the buffet-type food altogether and opted for the a-la-carte Oceano restaurant which was awesome!!! If you're lucky to meet Alberto (Capitan -a maitre d' of sorts- at the buffet, he is wonderful as his his staff -especially Adina and Tatiana). The beach area with chairs covered by a canopy of trees was my favorite. For me, this place is great for families with small kids. This was a good choice as a start-off point of our first Costa Rican adventure. If I ever came back, it's to visit the staff. Next time, I'll choose a smaller, more intimate hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank roxana869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear roxana869:

I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica.

Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit.

Thank you very much for your time.

Greetings from sunny Tamarindo.

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Not worth the money, food is really poor, entertainment is really bad. For the money you should find something else with better food, the hotel caters more to locals than to tourists... No nurse aid and wi-fi is $5 per day.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank mq17cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear mq17cr:

I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo.

However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us.

Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances.

Have a nice week!

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We stayed two nights from Sunday to Tuesday in the West Tamarindo, apart from new painting they are still the same facilities and options when it was Barcelo Langosta. It is a relatively small hotel, with the facilities of the all inclusive service in the three times of food, snacks and drinks. The food is nothing special and in our case after two days the taste and variety became repetitive, could not stay more than 4 days eating the same. In the area of the salad bar at the restaurant you will feel an unpleasant smell that could take away your appetite. In general facilities are in good condition, the rooms are comfortable with some minor maintenance missing details, the pool is not very large, gym is useful, they offered an adequate variety of cocktails, the staff were always friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the beach to which you have access. It is a quiet, no-frills hotel located in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Rooms 4000 are kind of noisy. Rooms 2000 or 3000 could be a better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luis5062015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Luis5062015:

Thank you very much for using part of your valued time to post this interesant and detailed comment about your vacations in Occidental Tamarindo.

It's, without a single doubt, the best way to keep improving everyday and thereby offer the best experience All In Costa Rica.

Please, accept our excuses for not achieving the excellence demanded by all our clients; I would like to welcome you again and provide you with some dream days as only Barceló Hotels can pull of.

Have a nice weekend!

Best regards!

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Without wifi life is NOT pura vida ! Explain please why you are not able to fix this ? No $ to fix up or don't have the competency ?

I would avoid this place because in today's world we all need wifi to stay connected to family, friends and the world in general.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Haven007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Haven007:

I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo.

However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us.

Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances.

Have a nice weekend!

Best regards!

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Langosta
1.8 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,504 reviews
1.9 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
13.4 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,500 reviews
18.0 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,132 reviews
4.7 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tamarindo

Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo 26519, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Langosta Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Langosta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Langosta
Price Range: ₹ 11,206 - ₹ 37,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tamarindo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars All Inclusive, with private access to Langosta beach, within the Las Baulas National Park. Boutique Hotel of 198 rooms with exclusive Premium Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Occidental Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing