We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hole”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Thomastown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Booked the two bedroom apartment and it was the worst room I have stayed in ever. One wine glass, two flat plates, wine glass had dead fly in it. Living room has small court yard which was covered in ciggerette butts and filthy. 170 dollars a night not really budget for a room this crap. Do not stay here unless there is no where else.One teaspoon for four people to make tea and coffee, really ridiculous

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wyzzasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Unless your desperate, like pokies or have to go to the wholesale produce markets early in the morning like me then I don't recommend staying here. The place was rather depressing, accommodation was falling apart and the beds were short with some silly shelf just above your head. Still I didn't die or anything....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Robohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed in the motel and while we did get a reasonable nights sleep the rooms are crying out for maintenance. The hotel has a bistro which was okay but the place caters mostly for gamblers. One stay is enough for me.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank diandray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Recently ate at the Bistro of the Excelsior and must admit was pleasantly surprised.
I'm originally from the area, and this hotel certainly had a checkered past. My how things have changed. The food was your normal bistro fare with a few different specials, but the food was good and the service matched. It's a far cry from the pub of my youth. I would be more than happy to return.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sc0tt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I have stayed at the Excelsior on quite a few occasions and will be continuing to do so. It is budget price accommodation, its simple and does the job and the rooms are as good as the cheap cost to stay there. I have always found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the check in at the Lounge Bar is very easy. If you wish to check out early before the Lounge Bar opens at 10am then you just leave the room keys on the bed and close the door behind you....too easy!!
On one occasion I booked online but then had to change the date that I would be staying, because I booked it online it made it a bit more difficult to change. Anyway long story short Michelle and Gerard could not of been more genuine great people and were also so helpful & friendly and they definitely made me feel very important and got everything sorted. Thanks guys and see you all next time I stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scrivo2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
5.9 km away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,450 reviews
5.9 km away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,411 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Mahoney's Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hume Villa Motor Inn
Hume Villa Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Fawkner
66 reviews
5.9 km away
Bell Motel
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 82 Mahoneys Rd, Thomastown, Victoria 3074, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Thomastown
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thomastown
Price Range: ₹ 4,481 - ₹ 7,143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Hotel Motel is dedicated to providing affordable, comfortable and clean motel rooms. Guests can enjoy dining in the restaurant or public bar during lunch and dinner, with a wide variety of delicious meals to choose from. Our staff are friendly and committed to providing a professional standard of service in order to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing