We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT SO BAD..”
Review of Chattai Beach Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chattai Beach Huts
Ranked #36 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Agonda
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NOT SO BAD..”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here recently.. What pics see on the site are the same what resort is, but very very basic. Hardly 08-10 Rooms n as theme goes its all made of Cane Sheets. The resort is damn safe & staf is very co-operative but u dont get much relaxed..

Rooms have no privacy.. Sound travels from one room to all rooms. It becomes very obvious specially in adjacent rooms.

Also, many have uploaded pics on TriAdvisor those are of Agonda. Where as Chattai is on Palolem & Chattai Yoga is at Agonda. Pololem Chattai is not on beach. Its a 02 min walk distance by a shortcut.

The food is also ok. Though its least expensive, we enjoyed breakfast.

The biggest asset would be there staff.. Very friendly & Co-operative.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlyNil1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is one of the good beach resorts in that area. the resort like many others in Agonda is sea facing and always has winds blowing. One can sit on the chairs provided by the hotel staff on the beach and can enjoy a drink or salad with a book (thats how time is spent in Agonda by most of the people). We went in February 2014 and 3 of us took a single room (they will add one bed on request) and its cost us Rs. 2100 in total for accommodation. The bathrooms are clean and rooms are decent enough for a cottage. There is no AC and many resorts don't have one (you won't need except maybe peak summer) . You will have to make do with a central ceiling fan. The resort does not provide you with toiletries which I found a little annoying ( you can always get them at store nearby). The food here is not that good by my standards but they do have a decent range. If you are planning to eat here please do eat the King fish that they cook ( do not eat the scrambled eggs here, they make a mess of it).
Also the photos that are posted on their site do not give a true picture of the place. Its not as luxurious or extravagant as the pictures suggest but a good place to stay none the less.

Room Tip: Choose the ones that are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soppy_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Location: Agonda is such a lovely beach, that when i traveled all the beaches from Palolem to Arambol. I could not find anything which can beat this beach in terms of serenity, tranquility and beauty. But then location is same for all the 70-80 beach huts lined up over that beach.
Chattai does not score a special point here. Its located towards northern end, but still there are some 10 more beach huts of various accommodation companies lined up there.

Facing the beach: Most of the beach huts, owned by various localities or entrepreneurs, have a small sea facing rectangular plot. So, the owners have arranged their area, in such a way that either the restaurant faces the beach or the beach huts facing the sea. Only, a few beach huts owners are lucky enough to have a big plot so that they can have both the restaurant as well as huts facing the sea. But unluckily, chattai is not one of the big ones. So forget one odd sea facing beach hut (which is generally booked), all the beach huts are not sea facing. Yes, when you move out of your hut, stroll a little, you will manage to have glimpse of the beach. I would like to mention that at Agonda, sea facing beach hut means, that you open window of your room, you can see magnificent beach, you sit at your balcony/terrace/ or personal area, just outside beach hut, you should be facing sea. But Chattai, does not have a single beach facing hut like that. So if you are going there, expecting a beach facing hut, you will surely get disappointed. But, the restaurant of Chattai is beach facing and lovely too. So i suggest you stay at some other beach facing huts, and stroll over the beach to Chattai restaurant for meals.

Interiors: The hut interiors are neither bad nor great. Actually, all the beach huts of various onwers have almost similar interiors. No air conditions (not expected in beach huts), basic amenities and basic washroom. Actually, all beach huts at Agonda are make -shift huts, which are rigged up from November to April. So I will say, Chattai interiors are average and you will find the same everywhere, barring a few.

Overall Decors/ Projection on website: They have decorated the exteriors nicely and taken all the pictures in low wind using best of the marketing techniques. They have done the job of digital projection on net very wisely. They should get five stars for that. But once, you land up here, you will not be able to even see 20 % of what you expected. You will surely feel tricked!!!

Restaurant: The restaurant is nice and reasonably priced, as similar to other huts. They let you get your own drinks and snacks too. They even place the seating/ candle light in front of restaurant right on the beach. Dining over there is surely, memorable.

Pricing: The pricing of the beach huts at Chattai, is actually twice. If you land up at Agonda, you will find a lot of beach huts (actual sea facing ones) at Rs 1000-1500. And the ones, similar to Chattai (the behind ones), you will find Rs 800-1000 easily. If you really like to splurge, you will find amazing beach huts at Rs. 2500-3500.

Agonda has lot of beach huts, guest houses and lodgings. Even if you reach there in peak season, you will find huts and if not, other options like hotels/ lodgings.

I stayed there for one pre-booked night and shifted elsewhere. Overall, I do not recommend Chattai honestly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bharat_Aquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Oh man, Agonda is such a beautiful place that any place on the beach can be nothing less than awesome. It's true for Chattai Beach Huts, Agonda. Located 20 metres from the water. You enter the place and immediately feel like running to the waves. Although located in one corner of the beach, it's simplicity can win you over. Without providing you with too many amenities, the place is able to help you get away from the city feel and make you realise you are truly in goa.
I would love to visit the place again. I thank the EXTREMELY friendly staff for their service.
Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vineetsingh290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent a lovely week at Chattai Beach Huts on Agonda. The huts are located at the far North end of the beach. This is one of the reasons we chose it as we like to be out of the main action for sleeping but within walking distance to it when wanted. Agonda is itself fairly sleepy so the action isn't like busier beaches ... but everything is in walking distance and there are plenty of good options for eating outside the huts.

That being said, the restaurant at Chattai was decent. Not outstanding, but good. The service was very friendly and attentive, albeit choppy and slow for eating. Few basic extras missing too - e.g. toast comes dry without option of butter - you can ask for it of course but often won't come until after you've finished toast - and favourite chicken tikka doesn't come with green chutney/sauce.

Also the restaurant is closed from 4-6 which isn't a big deal - but tended to be the time we wanted snacks as we ate dinner late, so it had us leaving to spend our money elsewhere (note for owners as really there was no shortage of neighbouring places to chill and drink and snack). Also only Nescafe if you're a coffee drinker - but again other options with great coffee are nearby too.

The bungalows themselves are basic thatched Goa bungalows. None are 'on the ocean' or facing the ocean like some of the options mid/centre beach. But all have a balcony on top of the bungalow that has sea view peeks and are amongst a palm tree grove ... it is a great place to have your morning coffee or an afternoon Kingfisher or three. Some of our neighbours did yoga on theirs. The way they have them situated also affords more privacy than a lot of the options sitting side by side facing the beach. This was a big plus for us. Private bathroom with cool shower - which tho warm is nice, not really needed in the Goan heat.

Price was also great value with discounts offered for more than five days. We would have stayed for our total eight days had they had our hut available. Instead we moved down to centre beach for two nights at Madhu which I've written a review about too. Both have their pluses and minuses depending on what you're looking for.

For Chattai, all minuses are easily solved with a stroll down the beach. For the owners, a few small things would make things a lot more conducive to us spending more of our time and money at the huts: food issues mentioned above. Also a little more chill space in the common area (like hammocks or day beds - or a day bed option at the hut). Plus outdoor mats would make the upstairs decks that much more atmospheric.

All in all recommended for as a basic beauty. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the middle huts - preferably second in from the front ... the ends are too close the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agonda
6.6 km away
Chattai Beach Huts
Chattai Beach Huts
#41 of 140 in Canacona
28 reviews
0.5 km away
Madhu Coconut Beach Huts
2.2 km away
Khaama Kethna
Khaama Kethna
#22 of 61 in Agonda
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Romance Beach Huts
Romance Beach Huts
#9 of 61 in Agonda
112 reviews
0.0 km away
Agonda Paradise
Agonda Paradise
#18 of 61 in Agonda
68 reviews
0.3 km away
Marv-Inn's
Marv-Inn's
#15 of 61 in Agonda
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattai Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattai Beach Huts

Property: Chattai Beach Huts
Address: Doval Kazan North Agonda Beach | North Agonda Beach, Agonda 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Agonda
Also Known As:
Chattai Beach Huts Agonda, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing