We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New Years at Buen Viaje” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Buen Viaje

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Remedios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Buen Viaje
Ranked #1 of 14 Remedios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“New Years at Buen Viaje”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at Buen Viaje for New Years, we had such a fantastic time. Naty and Lester welcomed us like family and helped us with our requests. They are incredible cooks and the breakfasts and evening meals should not be missed. I had an upset stomach while I was there and they went out of their way to nurse me back to health, bringing me special herbal teas picked from the garden and delicious broths. We will remeber our time in Remedios forever, thank you so much Naty and Lester.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbeaton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
255
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed as a solo traveller for three nights in mid December. Lester and Naty were fantastic hosts and great all-round folks! The food was delicious, and being a vegetarian, the meatless beans were welcome. The patio is a great place to relax with a good book and engage in conversation with Lester and Naty. Overall, one of the most relaxing and pleasant stays I've had in Cuba since my first trip there in 1999.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delgado1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

we stayed here for one night and had booked this casa based on reviews. Upon arrival Lester and his wife greeted us with big smiles, coffee and a complimentary cigar!

The garden courtyard area is really chilled and lovely and we spent most of the night sat outside here. The food was great (we had lobster!) and the portions were huge! BReakfast was also delicious and Lester was always there to give advice and help out. He arranged a taxi for us to go back to Havana and spoke good English.

I would definitely recommend this casa!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treviso
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in Remedios only for one day but we really enjoy to spend time at this hostal...very clean, the owners are really nice persons and the house is a perfect example of colonial house!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

It’s hard to say what we liked best at Hostal Buenviaje. Was it the beautiful garden setting, or the fantastic home-cooked meals, or hosts Naty and Lester themselves? Remedios is a great low-key alternative to the bustle and hucksterism of some of Cuba’s tourist towns: it has a beautiful church, great little museums and warm, open, friendly people with absolutely no ulterior motives! And it’s also a good jumping-off point for the beaches to the north. But if we do return someday—as we would love to do—the main attraction that brings us back will be the incomporable people and accommodations at Hostal Buenviaje.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosYCristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remedios
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buen Viaje? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buen Viaje

Property: Hostal Buen Viaje
Address: Calle Andres del Rio No. 20 | e/ Enrique Malaret y Maximo Gomez, Remedios 52700, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Remedios
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,451
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Buen Viaje Hostel, located in the city of San Juan de los Remedios, we rent two double rooms with air conditioning, comfortable beds and private bath. The guest can also enjoy furnished rooms to the colonial style, a fresh terrace with comfortable rocking-chairs, an inner garden, and a great courtyard with fruit trees.It maintains until today the high props of the wood ceilings, the austerity in the decoration and the natural light, which is complement with the necessary comfort and the familiar atmosphere in a balance of history and contemporaneity. The house is very advisable for those who look for proximity to the Central Park of the town, 150 meters from the same one; but simultaneously stillness and spacing of the noise of the traffic, the nightlife of the square, and the passers-by.¡IMPORTANT! ¿HOW TO FIND THE HOSTEL?Coming from Caibarien take the main street into Remedios. Keep right because street divides itself. When you see the church ¡¡WATCH OUT!! You are on A. del Rio. Andrés del Rio street is a different street. It is the next parallel street in the back of the church.Coming from Santa Clara you will need to take around the central park and find in the back of the second church Andres del Rio street. ¡¡WATCH OUT!! The hostel is located in Andres del Rio, not in A. del Rio street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Buen Viaje Remedios, Cuba - Villa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing