We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now closed”

Snibston Discovery Museum and Country Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a fascinating journey around Snibston where you can discover 500 years of technological innovation and its impact on our everyday lives. From the earliest mining tools, prototype jet engine to the largest fashion display outside London, there is plenty to explore at this must see museum!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Now closed through ashby de la zouch county and district councillors running down coalville. Purely a political move by councillors not wanting a successful museum that was not situated in Ashby de la Zouch. Ashby museum to close? Don't think so

9  Thank steviewonder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

We've visited this museum over 10 times since it first opened.

It has many unique and interesting exhibits which are educational for younger children.

A shame it's now closing but what was really needed was additional funding to modernise it.

1  Thank Adoniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCC_HeritageService, Manager at Snibston Discovery Museum and Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Response – Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit
Cheers

Mark
Heritage Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We visited Snibston because we heard at the last minute that it was being closed down by the County Council to save money and wanted to see it before it was too late. What an excellent discovery centre and museum. Being particulay interested in transport we really liked the industrial side, but the whole place is marvellous. The county council should give this place over to enthusiasts to run...

4  Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCC_HeritageService, Manager at Snibston Discovery Museum and Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit

Kind regards

Mark
Heritage Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Such a shame this is closing on Friday. Had a fab day here enjoying the museum and excellent outside area. Restaurant well stocked and staff great customer service too

Thank Wellygirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCC_HeritageService, Manager at Snibston Discovery Museum and Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Thank you for leaving such a good review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit

Kind regards

Mark
Heritage Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely day here, I bought 3 children 11,9,5 and there was something for them all to enjoy. Staff were great, the indoor picnic area is fantastic, kids absolutely loved the water area and fashion area. Fab value for money, all in all a great day!

Thank H_bannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCC_HeritageService, Manager at Snibston Discovery Museum and Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your day with us

Cheers

Mark
Heritage Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snibston Discovery Museum and Country Park also viewed

Coalville, Leicestershire
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Newtown Linford, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing