We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for Wine tasting and lunch”

Agricola Gian Piero Marrone
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in La Morra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the heart of the Langa of Barolo, in Annunziata of La Morra, the Azienda Agricola Marrone produces fine wines with intense fragrances and elegant flavours. You are always welcome to come and visit our wine cellar and our beautiful tasting room; we can also take care of your days in our region thanks to Italian Delights, our incoming tour operator. A good chance to experience wines, food and to discover a wonderful land.
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 14 h and had a nice tour and introduction to their wine. Chose the 5 wine menu and had the most delicious antipasti together with the wines. Recommendable!!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank L7907QIannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting experience"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting and lunch"
in 2 reviews
"family history"
in 2 reviews
"barolo region"
in 2 reviews
"roof"
in 2 reviews
"gavi"
in 2 reviews
"mood"
in 2 reviews
"type"
in 2 reviews
"cellar"
in 5 reviews
"range"
in 2 reviews
"cheese"
in 2 reviews
"wines"
in 14 reviews
"winery"
in 4 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

This is a family-owned winery, in the family for three generations. The property is located just outside La Morra, in the Barolo region. It stands on top of a hill, and the three-story building is rather new and beautifully constructed. The ground floor has a restaurant with multiple, rustic tables, surrounded by large barrels. It also houses the wine shop and tasting area. Higher up there are private rooms and at the top, a great balcony that offers a 360 degree view of the Barolo area. The food, a multicourse pre-set menu, was quite enjoyable. The wines are mostly good, table wines, including dolcetto, barbera, arneis, favorita, several barolos, a barbaresco, gavi, moscato d'Asti and several red blends. We did not get to taste the top wines, but those we tasted were average and not memorable. Service was extremely slow.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We first had a tour through the facility and then had a 5 course lunch with 5 wine pairings. It was really delicious and fun. My favorite wine was the Borolo and I bought a bottle to take home. I highly recommend this activity.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We had high hopes given great online reviews and this experience still managed to top it! We ordered 5 wine tasting and were greeted by a tour of the winery, with lovely lesson on their wines and family history. We then proceeded to wine tasting with 'snacks' - a full on lunch and dinner combined! Honestly, come hungry and don't plan on other food in the evening ;) Everything was delicious, wines were progressively more complex in flavour so you got time to adjust your palate. The trip was great value for money and the location is superb, perfect Piedmontese wineyard experience

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 833MG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We visited on a clear crisp winters Saturday. Book in advance as even at this time of year they are busy. The offer a range of tasting options we chose the option with 4 wines and 4 foods/snacks. Per person 19 euro.

We were greeted by our friendly host who showed us around the cellar and introduced the wines. Great atmosphere among the huge barrels.

We were then lead to the roof where we had panoramic views of the surrounding towns. Absolutely stunning.

We were then taken to the beautiful tasting room with terracotta floors, wooden tables and again the moat amazing views out of huge glass windows. We were brought generous tastings of 4 wines. A white, red blend, Barolo and Muscat. Each accompanied by some food. Tamatoe bruschetta, cold cuts, cheese then to top it off a delicious slice of apple pie! One of the owners poured our wine and explained each briefly. She also let us taste two more reds which were amazing.

We loved the relaxed laid back afternoon we spent here with no one rushing us. The service was impeccable and I would say the type of tasting made it one of the best we have had in Italy. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agricola Gian Piero Marrone also viewed

 
Monforte d'Alba, Province of Cuneo
Barbaresco, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Agricola Gian Piero Marrone? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing