We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect spot for Wine tasting and lunch

Arrived at 14 h and had a nice tour and introduction to their wine. Chose the 5 wine menu and had... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
L7907QIannek
via mobile
Wine tasting and lunch

We first had a tour through the facility and then had a 5 course lunch with 5 wine pairings. It was... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2018
Ramadama
,
New Providence, New Jersey
via mobile
Read all 159 reviews
  
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
114
35
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
35
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting experience wine tasting and lunch family history barolo region roof gavi mood saturday type cellar range cheese wines winery
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We arrived on a Saturday in March. The woman who ran our tour was pleasant and informative. When you arrive, you are taken to the roof for a spectacular view of the region and a description of Barolo and it's history. That was quite a highlight of the tour. Afterwards, some of their wines are described in more detail, and you can select those you'd like to taste. There was a large party during our visit, so instead of a normal 2 hours, the tasting took 4 hours. We felt the large party was significantly more interesting than our party. And they seemed to be understaffed.Their Pitchemej Barolo is well structured, quite impressive, and their Favorita quite excellent and a good value. I wasn't particularly impressed with the variety of other wines we tasted. Some of them didn't have the structure or complexity I would expect. Overall a good experience, but much more commercialized than many other wineries we toured during our stay. If you decide to visit, I would suggest a weekday.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank litetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We had hiked from Castiglione Falletto and our map said it was an easy walk with an Osteria in Annunziata open for lunch. The last steep climb to Annunziata was a slippery and flowing mud stream and we were very hot and exhausted when we got to the top. Also very annoyed to find the Osteria shut.

We were given a warm welcome to the Marrone winery and enjoyed a perfect lunch and wonderful wines. Each of the wines we tasted were superb and enhanced by the obvious pleasure Denise had sharing her knowledge and pride of this family winery. Also thank her for the kindness in helping two tired Australian hikers.

So good to be able to have small tastings and experience some of the range of this winery. Highly recommended for the superb wine, simple but excellent lunch, friendly service and the ambience.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Bluenanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Our lunch and wine tasting at these cellars was exceptional. The best we have enjoyed in a long while. Our hostess Alessia was very attentive and knowledgeable. Lunch was delicious and very relaxed. Highly recommend this Wine Cellar by the Marrone Family.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank angelacamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Good tasting of great wines in a family run agricola.

We scheduled a tasting in the busy truffle season in afternoon. The experience began with a climb to a lovely terrace overlooking the hills and vineyards of Langhe.

We then were directed to the tasting room where we were seated at table with grisini. We were tasting of 5 wines with starters (3), meats, cheese, and dessert.

Each wine was poured with description of each and tasting provided by one of the daughters of the estate. Each wine had an accompanying food taste. The tasting lasted several hours.

An exceptional experience with family attention and expertise.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank regbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

What a fantastic afternoon! We planned a lunchtime visit and allowed 3 hours, knowing that Piedmontese food and wine cannot be rushed. However, the food was so delicious and the wines delightful: we stayed 6 hours and left happy, well fed, and well stocked with fine wine. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable and the whole day was a taste of Italy at its best. Thank you very much indeed. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mike and John

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews