We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long tasting”

Agricola Gian Piero Marrone
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in La Morra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the heart of the Langa of Barolo, in Annunziata of La Morra, the Azienda Agricola Marrone produces fine wines with intense fragrances and elegant flavours. You are always welcome to come and visit our wine cellar and our beautiful tasting room; we can also take care of your days in our region thanks to Italian Delights, our incoming tour operator. A good chance to experience wines, food and to discover a wonderful land.
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We arrived on a Saturday in March. The woman who ran our tour was pleasant and informative. When you arrive, you are taken to the roof for a spectacular view of the region and a description of Barolo and it's history. That was quite a highlight of the tour. Afterwards, some of their wines are described in more detail, and you can select those you'd like to taste. There was a large party during our visit, so instead of a normal 2 hours, the tasting took 4 hours. We felt the large party was significantly more interesting than our party. And they seemed to be understaffed.Their Pitchemej Barolo is well structured, quite impressive, and their Favorita quite excellent and a good value. I wasn't particularly impressed with the variety of other wines we tasted. Some of them didn't have the structure or complexity I would expect. Overall a good experience, but much more commercialized than many other wineries we toured during our stay. If you decide to visit, I would suggest a weekday.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank litetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting experience"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting and lunch"
in 2 reviews
"family history"
in 2 reviews
"barolo region"
in 2 reviews
"roof"
in 2 reviews
"gavi"
in 2 reviews
"mood"
in 2 reviews
"saturday"
in 2 reviews
"type"
in 2 reviews
"cellar"
in 5 reviews
"range"
in 2 reviews
"cheese"
in 2 reviews
"wines"
in 14 reviews
"winery"
in 4 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We had hiked from Castiglione Falletto and our map said it was an easy walk with an Osteria in Annunziata open for lunch. The last steep climb to Annunziata was a slippery and flowing mud stream and we were very hot and exhausted when we got to the top. Also very annoyed to find the Osteria shut.

We were given a warm welcome to the Marrone winery and enjoyed a perfect lunch and wonderful wines. Each of the wines we tasted were superb and enhanced by the obvious pleasure Denise had sharing her knowledge and pride of this family winery. Also thank her for the kindness in helping two tired Australian hikers.

So good to be able to have small tastings and experience some of the range of this winery. Highly recommended for the superb wine, simple but excellent lunch, friendly service and the ambience.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Bluenanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Our lunch and wine tasting at these cellars was exceptional. The best we have enjoyed in a long while. Our hostess Alessia was very attentive and knowledgeable. Lunch was delicious and very relaxed. Highly recommend this Wine Cellar by the Marrone Family.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank angelacamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Good tasting of great wines in a family run agricola.

We scheduled a tasting in the busy truffle season in afternoon. The experience began with a climb to a lovely terrace overlooking the hills and vineyards of Langhe.

We then were directed to the tasting room where we were seated at table with grisini. We were tasting of 5 wines with starters (3), meats, cheese, and dessert.

Each wine was poured with description of each and tasting provided by one of the daughters of the estate. Each wine had an accompanying food taste. The tasting lasted several hours.

An exceptional experience with family attention and expertise.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank regbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

What a fantastic afternoon! We planned a lunchtime visit and allowed 3 hours, knowing that Piedmontese food and wine cannot be rushed. However, the food was so delicious and the wines delightful: we stayed 6 hours and left happy, well fed, and well stocked with fine wine. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable and the whole day was a taste of Italy at its best. Thank you very much indeed. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mike and John

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agricola Gian Piero Marrone also viewed

 
Monforte d'Alba, Province of Cuneo
Barbaresco, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Agricola Gian Piero Marrone? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing