We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Avisa Beach House(Thrikaripur)
US$ 52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 88
US$ 75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gokulam Nalanda Resort(Nileshwar)(Great Value!)
US$ 40
US$ 36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 118
US$ 81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 190
US$ 148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Horizon(Taliparamba)
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
99
14
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
14
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskavvayi beacharabian seaseafoodback watersmust visit placecrabprivate beachspent two dayspiece of paradisebeach housedoing nothingideal getawayfried prawnsbanana chipscoconut grovedelicious foodan excellent host
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Hello Fellow Travellers,
My name is Keshav and this is my first ever review/ blog if you may call it on any travel advisory site. Sadly, this is not going to be a good one but on a negative front.
I and couple of my friends planned for a long awaited holiday this year and we decided to zero in on Kerala, Kavvayi Beach House (Mind you, this was the first time for the most of us travelling to Kerala) and Off Course, we were super excited and looking forward for this long awaited trip. We checked in at around ~2 PM on 24th March 2016.
Firstly, you have to give it the insanely serene place that this property is located on. It’s really a wonderful place to stay and unwind over the weekend with friends and family. But for you to experience this place, you equally need good hospitality to go hand in hand for the OVERALL HOLIDAY EXPERIENCE. But here the story is completely different to what the owner claims to provide on this site. Surprisingly see a lot of positive reviews and surely you will judge me for being so negative.
Please note, this is brutally honest feedback that I’m posting here so that, no one else gets cheated and go through the wonderful hospitality that we received from this place  lol. “Hospitality”, something Mr.Ranjith doesn’t have in his dictionary or understand the overall meaning of it. BTW, you need to meet Mr.Ranjith personally to see how wonderful person he is and his behaviour towards his guests.
Event as they occurred:
• He tells the housekeeper to shut off all the lights and AC. Also, directs us not to turn on the AC when not in the room. Come on, we haven’t even entered the rooms or the guest house.
• Secondly, we were a group of 9 boys. You can imagine the kind of appetite boys would have after a long travel from Bangalore? Guess what, we get some 8 fried prawns. 2 bowls of fish curry, 1 veg starter, 2 bowls of sambar, around 3 not really big bowls of white rice and not to forget some delicious papad and pickles.
• Tell me, who will be happy with this kind of heavy lunch served to us? Will you or your friends/ family be happy going hungry?
• We were taken aback with the kind of food we were served for lunch and we chose to ignore and move on with the holiday as we didn’t want to start on a wrong note.
• We very politely informed to Mr.Ranjith that the food was not sufficient for lunch and we would require extra food for dinner including the starters. He acknowledge to it and asked what we would like to eat for dinner and we gave our menu. Nothing out of the world, just simple dishes, e.g.: Fried Fish, Rotis, Veg starter and curry along with rice. He offered to cook some squids for us, but we politely declined since none of us wanted this on the menu.
This is what happened post our evening beach walk:
• We started to drink around 8ish and the starters came in, 4 pieces of half fish and some salad after requesting it what’s there for veg starters. May be 250 grams of banana chips. That’s is all we got for the all the promises made to us earlier that day.
• For dinner, each of us had probably 2 rotis each. That’s 9*2 = 18 rotis for a group of 9? Along with rice, sambar. Oh, not to forget we got the other 4 half’s of the fish as part of the dinner menu.
• This is point, we lost of cool and told him that we would leave this place by tomorrow morning and surprisingly he was OK with it and said please leave.
Message to So Not Gentleman Ranjith.
My friends, never misbehaved or make any noise as agreed before renting out this place with Ranjith, we stuck to our side of the promise and stayed put and adjusted to all the things you did to us.
But, how can we just let you walk away with everything? We paid you in full the next morning and you didn’t even have the courtesy to apologies to the things you said or did to us. This is my way of getting back to you and your management by letting the world know what a WONDERFUL PERSON YOU ARE and the place definitely DOESN’T DESERVE You.
KARMA is bad, always remember to DO GOOD and BE GOOD. They always catch up with you.

This surely, won’t be my first write up. Going forward I will make it point to promote some awesome people like you I meet in my life and avoid others meeting you 

Au Revoir!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Keshav_rao2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhyan R, Owner at Kavvayi Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Kavvayi Beach House was set up by us as a “Home stay” with total focus on customer satisfaction as our USP. Having said that, you will kindly appreciate that we would never compromise on the aspect of customer service and give room for such adverse reviews. The large number of positive reviews on the site bears testimony for the quality of services rendered by us.
A confrontation with our customer is the last thing that we would indulge in. However, in view of the rather damaging review posted by Sri Keshav on the website of Trip Advisor leaves us with no option but to explain as under our position for the benefit of Sri Keshav as well as our prospective customers.
(1) We are thankful to Sri Keshav for his extremely positive observations on the location aspects of Kavvayi Beach House.
(2) It is also a matter of satisfaction for us to note that the quality of food provided by us came in for appreciation and the dispute was largely on the quantity of food made available. In this connection it needs to be borne in mind that we did provide about 13 tiger prawns fried as starter for 7 non vegetarians and an abundant quantity of fish curry, vegetable curry and other side dishes to go with the rice and rotis which we thought would be quite adequate. When it comes to the question of connectivity to markets Kavvayi Beach House is placed in a slightly disadvantageous position and, therefore, adequate prior notice is essential for us to be in readiness for any special requirements of our customers. The above aspect is always made known to the customers in advance. Another matter is the time of dinner. It is clearly mentioned as 8 -8 30 Pm. This group never showed up until 11Pm. We sent the cook home and the owner and care taker waited for them until then .
(3) It was to certain extent clear to us that being a group of youngsters the attraction offered by the place had serious limitations for them to stay on. It is in the above context that we did not try to dissuade you from leaving after a day’s stay instead of two days.
(4) As the drinking session went on we thought the demands on us were mounting too. Towards the close we were inclined to believe that the expectations of the customers were turning out be rather outlandish and, therefore, beyond the scope of a responsible tourism operator’s services.
(5) "It is a well known fact that Kerala is a state with severe power shortage and particularly at the height of summer the Govt expects all consumers to limit their use of power. As a responsible tourism operator we consider it our bounden duty to carry the message of the Govt down the line. It is only in the above context that we indicated to our customers the need to economize on the use of power without , of course affecting their genuine needs."

Notwithstanding the explanation detailed above we wish to reiterate that we value customer satisfaction the most in our day to day functioning and given another opportunity to serve you we are totally confident of rising up to your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Fantastic location, great hosts, best choice we could have made on this trip. This is much like a barrier island stretching for some 25km between the backwaters and the ocean with <5min walk from side to side and so sparsely inhabited you almost see no one. At the end of the season we actually had the entire cottage (looks like something out of the Swiss Alps) to ourselves and were pampered by our hosts with some of the most delicious food we had in this part of India.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms with a veranda facing sunrise
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lior W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

The place was absolutely peaceful away from hustle and bustle of cities which is surrounded by water. Backwater on one side and Beach on the other side. The island was all ours and all of them enjoyed playing on the beach sans the crowd. The hospitality was great with sumptuous food served by our hosts. I recommend this place, if you like to be away from the crowd and enjoy the nature at its best.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank umeshnkatwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Amazing location with very good view.One side beach and other side back water. Peaceful place. Nice hospitality. Good food.co operative staff. I recommend people to stay upstairs in new property. Enjoy a lot.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank tushar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

This was the highlight of our 2 month trip to India. There is nothing more beautiful than staying on this strip between the backwater and the ocean. The suites are large and extremely clean. The owner and staff are lovely and accommodating. The meals are incredible and unforgettable. I wish for nothing more than to return as soon as possible.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews