We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
Morning coffee on the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morning coffee on the deck
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Morning coffee on the deck
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach
View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Your location - Fofoa Island, Vava'u Islands, Kingdom of Tonga
Natural beauty in the details
Bamboo clad bathroom
fully equipped kitchen
Outside dining
Your boat Lavinuella
view from the deck
Join us swimming with humpback whales
your beach
Kid friendly/family fun
Fruit basket from the organic garden
View from your deck
The view from the master bedroom
village of Hunga
Swimming with humpback whale calf
Onsite Massage
Kitesurfing on the lagoon
Fresh fish for dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Fofoa, Vava'u Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Libby D
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Beach House is the most incredible holiday destination.
My family has just returned from a week of absolute bliss and I am still buzzing with excitement from it!!

We went to realize my life long dream to swim with humpback whales and discovered that Tonga and The Beach House has SO much more to offer. Even if whales are not your main focus,The Beach House offers an idyllic tropical island experience.
Arriving at the Blue Lagoon, I was mesmerized by the clarity of the water and the picture postcard perfection of Fofoa Island.

Our hosts Boris and Karyn were incredibly helpful and welcoming.
They are fantastic hosts and made our stay feel so special.
We really felt like we were with old friends for the week as Boris and Karyn were so relaxed and genuine. They set the itinerary according to whatever we wanted to see or do.

Initially the whales, were a little reluctant to play, so allow yourself enough time for a few days of whale swimming as well as time to explore the lagoon and nearby islands.

I would highly recommend getting Boris and Karyn to provide the meals rather than self catering. After a day of playing with whales, fishing or exploring, to sit on the deck with a drink, watching the sunset, and have beautiful food provided is very hard to beat!

I would also recommend attending a church service in Hunga on Sunday morning.
Boris took us by boat and we were able to experience the incredible singing and meet some lovely locals.

The house is very comfortable, well equipped and stylishly finished.
The views from every room are nothing short of spectacular.
There are thoughtful touches such books on Tongan culture, board games and binoculars.
Having your own private beach is also pretty amazing.

The Beach House is a truly special place and we had the holiday of a lifetime here.
Thanks again to Karyn and Boris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersole...
Kungälv
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place on earth to find perspectives and new values in live”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Can words describe our time on Fofo'a? Well, I’m not sure but will give it a try. What a fantastic time we had! Stayed 2 weeks on this lovely unexplored island and absolutely had the time of our life. So relaxing with no Internet connection, no mobile phones etc, just had to take care of ourselves and each other.
Staying with our magnificent hosts Boris and Karyn and their three marvellous boys was nothing else but paradise. We had the possibilities to go fishing (even if we didn’t get the Marlin all the way into the boat), whale watching seeing and mother and it’s calf and do some really really great snorkelling. What stunning water! Kayaking between white beaches, morning and evening swims on our own private beach, well this is what you need for at totally relaxing holiday. And so many good laughs we had together with our hosts! They really know how to take care of their guests.
We stayed in a beautiful beach house situated on a cliff above the water and the beach with two adorable bedrooms and a combined kitchen/living room in between. But really, most time was spent on the terrace that overlooks the lagoon and in the evenings we could watch the sun quickly disappear into the water.
Top rank from us! ☺

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of our host and the beautiful view from the terrace
Travelling group: Med partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry K
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family bonding holiday, blending adventure, comfort, soul healing, eco-exploration and friendship”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Staying at the Beach House was a wonderful experience for our family of 4 over the New Year period. It's hard to describe what a magical, special place this is -- in terms of the ecology, the scenery and the people. We have traveled to many pacific islands but this place is tops on our list - the extra effort required to get there is quickly forgotten. It is really special and unique. Set on a truely remote tropical island, the setting is exactly how you would imagine a tropical island paradise to be and it really is as beautiful as the photos on the website suggest - in fact more so. From the moment we were met by Boris and Karyn in Neiafu we were made to feel totally welcome. This welcome extended to feeling part of their family, friends and neighbours as we celebrated the New Year with them. Our daughter turned 13 on New Year's Eve, so Karyn and Boris arranged a trip to a friend's resort (Mandala Resort) so that she could have a celebratory lunch - that was a really special day! Other highlights of our 6 day stay were the fishing trip with Boris (our son was rapt to pull in a huge barracuda!); the snorkling - on the beach in front of our accomodation, as well as some local spots visited by boat; Karyn's massage; kayaking to a nearby lagoon; bird watching from the deck....
The Beach House is beautifully designed - clean and comfortable with everything you need. There is no internet and limited phone reception which we really found added to the whole 'off the grid' experience and actually brought our family closer together. We enjoyed cooking our own meals (Karyn and Boris and bought local provisions before we arrived), although I understand you can also order good quality pre-prepared meals.
We reached Vava'u by travelling on Real Tonga from Tongatapu. I have to say that this flight on the MA60 was excellent. The flight on the way there was delayed by 4hrs (no hassle and Boris and Karyn waited for us for the pick up), but we were given plenty of warning of this delay; on the way back everything ran exactly to schedule.
We visited in the 'off season', and while we would have loved to have seen the whales (that will be a return trip for sure), this is a great time of year because things are (even) more quiet and laid back. We did spend time with our hosts, but equally if you wanted to be left to your own devices you could, they never were intrusive. Great value for money, with all costs clearly stated in advance and itemized on the invoice - no surprises or hidden extras. Overall a holiday which had the perfect blend of adventure, comfort, Eco-exploration and friendship.
Thank you Karyn, Boris, the boys and Lulu for sharing your world with us - see you all again in the whale watching season and to tag the marlin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB42
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not be more perfect”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

An absolutely amazing holiday and adventure at The Beach House. One of the best places I have visited on this planet. The property is set on an idyllic island on the outer parts of Tonga and overlooks one of the most perfect lagoons you will ever see. The house itself is barefoot luxury with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large sitting room / kitchen. The best feature of the property has to be the veranda, which is built over the sea / beach an offers amazing lounging facilities whilst looking at the pristine view of the lagoon, which may (depending on the season) include the humpback whales.

I travelled with an old friend for a week to swim with the whales. The owners of the property Boris and Karyn also operate a whale watching boat with Kayrn acting as the guide. They are both amazingly knowledgable and professional and we had many good days interacting with the whales and being shown around the series of local islands. A truly unbelievable experience and one never forgotten.

Back on the island there are plenty of things to do also if you can drag yourself away from the veranda and the view. You can snorkel the beautiful reef that is in front of the property or kayak in and around the lagoons that surround the island. Whilst I travelled with a friend on this occasion I will be returning in the not too distant future with my children as the place is perfect for friends, couple and families. The island is totally safe and has no snakes or bugs to worry about which makes it perfect for exploring and very safe for kids. The beaches are also perfectly safe for swimming for all levels of adult of child.

I have been fortunate to stay at some of the best hotels (mainstream and remote) around this world and The Beach House rates as one of the best and one of my all time favorites. The owners have been completely sympathetic with the environment s and it gets a full eco thumbs up on all areas possible. This is for people who want to get away from it all in a beautifully relaxing and peaceful environment (yet has the activities to engage in as you see fit).

Many many thanks to Boris and Karyn for their hospitality and vision to create such a place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful energy of the house and island
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akofamily...
Wheeny Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were so excited when we entered the Blue Lagoon and saw the Beach House perched up over the amazing blue water and coral. We were greeted by Karyn who showed us through the beach house where we would be staying for the next 2 weeks. The beach house and the location were amazing. The beach house made us feel like we were home, everything was perfect. The next 2 weeks were the best, swimming with the magnificent humpback whales, watching them playing and listening to them singing, snorkelling in the beautiful clear waters and amazing coral gardens, exploring deserted beaches and islands, fishing with Boris and my son Josh fighting a blue marlin for 3 hours, the guided tour around the island with Luca and Felix and the overall feeling of being with old friends, and the Tongan culture. The neighbours, Ross, Sue & Mort, even invited us down for a roast dinner one night, had a great night and one of the best roast dinners we have had. This truly was a holiday of a lifetime, one our family will never forget. Thank you Karyn, Boris, Luca, Felix & Jack, for sharing your home with us, and for doing those things that were so personal to us. We will be back for sure !!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing