We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

we went last easter to six senses zighy bay and we love it. Wonderful food, enviroment, adventures, the sea, the swimingpool is the best temperature in the world!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

Our team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay here in our scenic paradise and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    218
    77
    16
    20
See reviews for
483
809
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I checked in for ten days just before Easter. From the moment we arrived (from Dubai at 3.30 am!) the staff were marvellous.
Set on an empty beach with crystal clear seas Its all very eco friendly the food excellent, all three restaurants were excellent but the highlight was a Bar B Q cooked and served by speciality chefs in our own villa.
The spa is very special, as good as we'e seen and we've been to lots in Asia and the US and the management really seemed to care about us having a good time.
Transfers are best left to the hotel to arrange - I woouldn't have been confident in my navigation skills from ZDubai.

Room Tip: Do NOT ask for a front row beach pool villa. All villas have their own pools and those not adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

I am very glad to know that you really liked our environment friendly approach, the food, and dining experience in our restaurants, as well as our multi-award winning SPA. The in-villa barbeque in the privacy of the villa is a favorite with many of our guests.

Our team is indeed happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at Zighy in February 2012. They e-m you in advance and ask for your preferences, and then e-m you when you return for detailed feedback.

The resort is beautifully designed, in an absolutely breathtaking setting, but the service let it down very very badly. We would be very reluctant to try another Six Senses resort, which is a shame because we were expecting very high standards.

The comments below are taken directly from our feedback form - interesting to note that this was sent to them nearly a month ago but we've had no reply, despite ticking the box that said "would you like us to reply".

"In giving you this feedback, we would like to say firstly that we did enjoy our stay with you, but that the following issues certainly made the experience less good than it should have been, and we hope that this detailed feedback is helpful.

1 - advance guest survey. We asked to have rum in our room, there was no rum. When we tried to explain this to the person servicing our room we were not understood.

2 - we asked to have a room that was not next to people with children - you confirmed in an e-mail that this had been done, yet on our second day a family moved into the rooms on either side of us - we believe it was one family with noisy children sharing two rooms, with us in the middle. Our butler offered to move us but by this time it was really too late.

3 - the experience on Senses on the Edge was apalling. When we e-mailed in advance to book, we were advised to go for the Thursday or Saturday as Friday was for familes. We duly booked for the Saturday as we were not arriving until very late on Thursday night. We were not told that it was a special astrology evening. When we arrived at Zighy, and were given the menu, we were pleased becuase it looked very nice, but confused, becuase we thought we would have a choice. We were told that it was a themed evening, but nothing else. We could not believe it when we arrived to find that a) we were sitting on a long table with everyone else ie where was the romantic tables for two shown on your website? b) we had to listen to a very long, and not very interesting lecture on astronomy before the first course was served. It must have been over 45 minutes long. And then the lecture continued between every course. It was so bad, and so boring, that the couple next to us left and went back to the resort. The main course arrived cold, because it was so late. We are sure that there is a time and a place for a lecture on astronomy with dinner, but Senses on the Edge, when you are expecting a romantic meal for two, is not that time and place. We gathered from our butler, and one of your other staff that spoke to us, that everyone who attended complained. We were offered free wine the following night but really, the entire cost should have been removed from our bill. Eighty rials for such an experience is a dreadful price to pay. No formal apology was given, depsite the fact that everyone was clearly unhappy with the arrangment.

4 - the service at breakfast and at the bar was not good. At breakfast, we asked for tomato ketchup with our main - it never arrived. At the bar, we asked for olives with our drinks - they never arrived.

5 - by far the worst service was at the Terrace restaurant. On the Friday night we had the BBQ - the food was great but the service was dreadful. It took a very long time to be served drinks, and no-one seemed to be able to seat us. It seemed as though no-one was in charge. On our final night though, the service took a turn for the worse. It took 25 minutes to obtain a wine list from one of the waiters, then another 26 minutes to actually be brought our wine. This is shocking service. It seems as though there is no maitre d', there is no-one controlling the restaurant. So many staff walked past our table and saw that we still had the wine list but no wine but did not stop. And then, once we eventually got the wine, it was placed in a wine bucket out of reach, but no-one came to top up our glasses. In the end we got the wine from the bucket and did it ourselves. Either put the wine within reach of the guests, or make sure that your waiting staff are on alert to top up glasses.

5 - service in the room - bizarrely, the person servicing the room did not replenish the things we used. For example, it was obvious that we were using only English Breakfast tea, yet by the third day there was none left and none had been replaced. Why??

6 - there was a mixup with our spa times. We had booked in advance, we had e-m confirmation of the times, yet when we arrived our butler told us it was at a different time. It took some sorting out to get the right time. Why??

7 - you need to tell people in advance about Zighy time, as we looked up the time that the sun set and booked a sunset cruise accordingly. To arrive and be told that you operate an hour later than Oman time, completely messes up the timing of events like this.

8 - the letter from Godfrey Vas in our room was illegible. It is printed on a very bad printer, and was simply not readable. Why didn't someone notice this and replace the toner in the printer?"

So these were the comments sent to Zighy. It will be interesting to see if Godfrey Vas responds on this website, and if he does, if it will be exactly the same cut and paste that he uses for every other response, or bothers to write something more appropriate to our comments. It's really not worth putting a pasted identical message in response to everyone that posts a review, shows a lack of care and attention to detail, just like the service at the resort.

Having said all of the above, we did enjoy our stay becuase the setting was so spectacular, and it wasn't our main holiday, just a mini trip as an extra. If it had been our main holiday of the year we would have been v disappointed indeed. One final point - the microlighting is amazing, well worth doing that.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a beachfront room, otherwise you are just looking over roofs of the villas in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJM_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the account of your recent stay with us. I am glad to note that whilst you enjoyed some of the services, we are equally disappointed that in quite some other areas it did not match the required level of service.

First and foremost may I apologize most sincerely for the problems you experienced and you have certainly not experienced us at our best.

Please also accept my apologies for the reply not received to the feedback shared online. We were part of an online trial for the month of February and the usual process of guest questionnaires being filled prior to check out was temporarily discontinued. As the receipt of the online reports took a bit longer, this delayed the reply procedure too.

I am glad to know that you liked the breathtaking setting and beautiful design of the resort.

Although we tried our best in allocating villas, however due to a sudden surge in demand for certain villa types we could not avoid families with children being assigned close to yours. Hence the offer from the Butler to move your villa was made.

Our Visiting Astronomer and our team thought that it would be a good fusion to have the Zodiac Dinner. From the feedback we understand that it was not as enjoyable a dining experience as we wanted it to be. As it was a special wine dinner involving an Astronomy Talk, the set-up was changed from the standard separate seating to a long table style. I am glad to inform you that we have a new Michelin Star Chef de Cuisine who has joined the team recently and we are now open 5 nights a week at Sense on the Edge for the high season. The menu has been changed totally and this has vastly improved the fine dining experience at Sense on the Edge restaurant.

I would like to assure you that we take all feedback very seriously. I am sure that you will be delighted to know that we have discontinued the concept of Zighy Time and reverted back to real Oman time from early March this year.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restore your confidence in us.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the poor impression of your last stay.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We arrived at the gate of Zighy Bay not knowing what to expect and I must say the drive was spectacular as you wind yourself up and then down the mountain to get to the resort. Signs were lacking as you approached the Zighy camp but the gate keeper did mention in broken English large doors that we needed to pass through and sure enough within minutes we arrived at reception with all the politeness and pleasantries which you would expect from a six senses five star establishment (the date smoothies were excellent). 

Our butler (a concept in itself which amused us) was very pleasant and to be honest we could not fault his enthusiasm and commitment to help all the way through our visit. He began the induction to the resort and we ended a 10 minute tour at our beach front villa. The villas are spacious and have all the mod cons you need to be able to relax  and enjoy your stay (sound system, coffee machine, internet) and of course there's the private pool and spectacular view of the beach to the front (along with your private pool) and the mountain landscape to the rear. All positive right? Afraid not.
At each end of the beach the beachfront villas increase in size from one to two stories. The more expensive two story buildings sit 10 feet apart from their smaller one story cousins with just an alleyway in some case separating them The result is a two story balcony which overlooks both the patio and the 'private' pool of the one story, not ideal for either occupant, especially considering the outlay for a private/exclusive holiday. 
Needless to say after some deliberation we complained and what I will say is that the staff were professional enough to realize this fopar and offered us another villa BUT you guessed it, the other side of the beach which had the same issue, a two story overlooking our 'standard' one story villa! Lucky for us the two story was unoccupied for the duration of our stay but again, I can't imagine anyone being pleased with having their dream stay at Zighy Bay made uncomfortble through being overlooked constantly. We were made aware of this feeling as we attempted to relax in our bathing costumes and in our own 'not so private' pool?

This is point one, point two would be the fact that after waiting for the new villa to be cleaned and made ready once moved in we found that the water would not get hot and that maintenance needed to fix the issue. This took about an hour or so and to be fair, it was sorted swiftly enough but with these two negative points mentioned it effectively ruined our whole excitement about the place and from then on in it was difficult for the Zighy Bay to truly win us over. 

There are always positives and negatives to a hotel/resort and quite often enough it can just be an unfortunate event that leads towards having a bad experience. However, when you pay over 1000USD per night you do not expect to run into the issues that we did and it has to be said, from the majority of people that I've spoken to who have visited Zighy the same seems to ring true of their accounts, i.e. 'lovely place but not convinced that it's worth the amount you pay'. 

Perhaps another stay there is needed where we get off on the right foot instead of being disappointed from the get go. We live in Dubai so the possibility of a revisit is quite possible, however again for the price, I'm not sure that will happen. 

Room Tip: If it's a beach villa you want, be sure to specify a villa which is not overlooked by the two st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshDubai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, this will be of great help in resolving our shortcomings. I am nonetheless disappointed that your stay did not fully meet your expectations.

First and foremost I would like to apologize to you as its seems we have not lived up to your expectations and we have obviously not delivered to our best. The problems you experienced are certainly not the norm.

Please be assured that a lot of attention has been given to maintain the highest levels of service and facilities at the resort. Personalized service is ensured vide the Butlers and the Villa Attendants who go beyond their way to ensure a memorable stay for all our guests.

There is no excuse for not being able to deliver perfect standards. All I can say is that we are in the luxury hotel business and any areas that need refinement are in constant review as we too seek perfection in our delivery and please be assured of our untiring efforts to achieve this.

During the forthcoming summer months, we will be offering some attractive rate packages on our website, and do hope that you will consider the same as a possibility for a return stay.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restoring your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

amazing weekend experience. the location is beautiful. best time to visit is between Oct - March. the villas are decorated very stylishly and are very comfortable. staff is friendly. environmentally friendly. each villa has personal bicycles that is fun to move around the area. a destination that should not be missed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehershirazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

I am very glad to know that you liked the location, stylish decor, friendly hosts, and the personal bikes to move around the resort.

Our team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay here in our scenic paradise and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
15.9 km away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
13.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
4.3 km away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
25.6 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
14.4 km away
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
#3 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Property: Six Senses Zighy Bay
Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 36,238 - ₹ 89,589
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing