We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for drivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fugen
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good for drivers”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After several visits to Austria, this was our first ski holiday there. So we were ready for taking ski-bus or driving to the slopes. Yes, if you don't have a car you should be prepared for longer journeys to the ski slopes and for quiet evenings. But we had a car and enjoyed this hotel at full. 15-20 minutes drive to Arena, but there are also very good ski area of Hoch Zillertal with maximum 10 minutes drive. The hotel located on the edge of the village, not in the very centre of it, but after skiing all the family - including our teenager daugthers - was ready to sleep at about 22.00, so we didn't miss anything. Excellent food, very friendly attendance at the reception desk, good rooms, nice spa with 6 saunas and mid-sized swimming pool. We stayed in the main building of the hotel, but as some reviewers already mentioned, there is another building, which is Pension Held. Guests from boths buildings come to the same dinnig-room for breakfasts and dinners, to the same sauna and to the same ski-room. Of course, it's just a bit more comfortable when you don't need to cross the street for it, but my impression was that all guests were happy to stay there. We saved time by booking and paying for our ski-passes at the reception desk, with no extra charge or sort of booking fee. Even after some efforts I don't remember anything we didn't like in hotel Held.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipakip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
124
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Everything you read about the Hotel Held is true - excellent food, large, clean spa, friendly service, large ski cellar with lockers, etc. However, there are a few provisos that you should consider before deciding whether the hotel is for you. These are certainly not necessarily negative points, and may well be positive, depending on your point of view.

1. If you don't come by car, you have to rely on the skibus which only passes once per hour to Fugen, or twice per hour to Hoch Zillertal / Kaltenbach. Furthermore, if you are slightly outside the peak ski season, as we were, most of the skiing takes place in Hoch Fugen, for which you'll need a second bus. Total travel time from taking the bus until you're ready to ski is at least 40 minutes.

2. About 90% of the clientele were German or Austrian and the tv only shows German channels. However, the staff all speak English and the menu is also available in English.

3. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes' walk from Fugen so expect quiet evenings! The entertainment provided by the hotel is also of quite a calm nature - one evening a man with an electric organ and another evening a candle-lit walk to a church.

4. Although we thought we were staying at the main hotel, we were actually placed at the "Pension Held", which was a couple of hundred metres from the main hotel. This was rather inconvenient as meals/spa/ski-cellar etc were in the main hotel. The rooms were also very small and not well equipped.

Room Tip: Make sure you know whether you're being put in the Pension Held to avoid unpleasant surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We spent eight days in Hotel Held this August.
The hotel is located a bit outside of Fugen, which for us was a positive, as the location is quite silent. Still, some traffic is heard from the road nearby, so those who avoid noise should ask for a room overlooking the meadow. On this side the rooms are very silent.

The hotel is quite new and very well kept. It consists of two buildings, connected by underground passage, which for sure is convenient in wintertime when one gets to the dining area or wellness facilities from the neighboring building. We had a family appartment at the roof floor of the main building and it was very comfortable. I noticed that the othe rooms were also spacious there. The decor is typical tyrolean style. What could be added is a tea/coffee making possibility in a room (but of course these items are available downstairs in the restaurant).

The hotel has good wellness/relax facilities: the swimming lake, the ouside pool, the indoor pool, and a number of various saunas with silent areas. The facilities seem to be spacious enough for a number of guests (about 70 rooms in the hotel altogether). In summertime there is a good number of sunbeds available at the swimming lake and at the outside pool. Generally nice. Good and very useful drink dispenser in the wellness area, offering juices and water.

The food is good or very good, no complaints at all. In addition to the breakfast and dinner, they serve also a light lunch and cakes in the afternoon. Twice a week the little concerts were presented in the restaurant during the dinner.

The service and the staff are friendly and capable. The owners are still around and keep good eye on everything. The hotel is about five driving minutes from the gondola lift taking you uphills (they seem to be good skiing slopes in winter).

Recommendable, would return there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ovelooking the meadow if you want it to be silent. Otherwise you would hear the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turysta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We were spending 6 days around X-mas in hotel Held;it was a first time for us to be at this time away from home, but the experience was outstanding! Our room ( a family 2-rooms appartement) was big, clean and had a balcony; the food was simply delicious, wellness superbe, outside swimmingpool just takes your breath away!!!! on X-mas evening, St-Claus was giving the presents to the children:)
The best things are the hospitality, fantastic service and food, and wellness center.
The situation of the hotel is nice,but you need a car if you dont like to take a public transport to go to the piste.(there is a bus)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The hotel is situated outside the village of Fugen, about half a mile from the main roadway through the Zillertal. We stayed in the recently renovated Zirben Doppelzimmer. Nice room with a beautiful view and a modern, nice bathroom. The hotel has wide open views all around but since it is not located in the heart of the village you might miss that typical Tirolean feeling. Be aware that you might experience a bit traffic noise from the roadway.

The restaurant is generally good although we found that the quality varied. You will have a choice out of three menu's each day. The service on our first night was terrible, we had tot wait 15 minutes before our drinks arrived and it took them 40 minutes to serve our first course which they served in the wrong order. The other days the service was ok, not excellent.

The hotel offers good bikes and has a very nice wellness area. However, they open different sauna's each day. This is a good example of the overall feeling we had in this hotel. The facilities are good but the hotel lacks a certain sense of hospitality you often get in Tirolean hotels. Apart from the service at dinner we noticed this in several small things e.g.:
- the tv automatically switches of after a period of time (in the middel of a program). Why?
- there was not enough showergel available (you only get two small portions eac day)
- towels could not be changed at the sauna area
- extra pillow was not delivered the first night
These are all small things but they add up. If this was not the case Held would be a perfect choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fugen
27.6 km away
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
#1 of 8 in Hintertux
596 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Kohlerhof
Hotel Kohlerhof
#3 of 11 in Fugen
412 reviews
1.0 km away
Gartenhotel Crystal
Gartenhotel Crystal
#4 of 11 in Fugen
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Alpina Zillertal
Alpina Zillertal
#1 of 11 in Fugen
305 reviews
16.4 km away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
39.3 km away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held

Property: Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Address: Kleinbodenerstrasse 6, Fugen 6263, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fugen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fugen
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,455 - ₹ 37,289
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing