We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
458
529
149
49
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
529
149
49
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forum metro station wine hour busy road minute walk nice hotel lounge area room was large street side yogurt single room street noise airport copenhagen cheese bike meats tivoli
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We were four friends travelling to Copenhagen for five days and found the hotel to be well situated for the number 66 bus which pretty much took us wherever we needed/wanted to go. It is situated near many delightful eateries/restaurants.
Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. With a twin/double superior room we had anticipated tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge, it was not clear until after arrival that this was not the case. Free coffee from the lobby between 7-10am was great and appreciated, as was the wine hour from 5-6pm in the bar. We found the price of breakfast prohibitive and therefore found our own nearby. The staff were helpful and courteous. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cuthag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya S, Hotel Manager at Avenue Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Junior Suite is the only category room that has coffee/tea making facilities and an all-inclusive minibar with selected beverages. So, if you are visiting Copenhagen again, and you would like to have this service, a Junior Suite would be an option:)

We hope that we can welcome you to the Avenue Hotel in the nearest future.

Have a lovely weekend
Best regards
Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, and there's plenty to recommend here.

1st off, the staff were great, with the front desk staff being even better. It's a relaxed, comfortable hotel with plenty of space downstairs to sit, along with a decking area in the back courtyard that's an afternoon suntrap.

Breakfast is a cold buffet with hot options extra. The buffet though is a good selection of cold cuts and cheeses to go with bread and biscuits, then cereals, fruits, pastries and plenty more. Good coffee to.

We had a small double that was fine space-wise for our stay. Lovely bed, plenty of hanging space and the shower was fine.

We were at the front of the hotel and the road noise could be loud with the window open. However, the air con kept the room cool just fine so we aired the room in the evening and closed the window to sleep. It's a hotel in the middle of a city, so traffic shouldn't be a surprise!

For getting around tge hotel us 5 minutes from the Forum metro station, and 20-30 minutes wander through town to Nyrhavn.

Oh, and there is wine served on the house from 5-6pm every evening...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheBSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya S, Hotel Manager at Avenue Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your positive and detailed review, we really appreciate.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Avenue Hotel in the nearest future.

Have a lovely day.

Best regards
Freya


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

After much deliberation a group of four friends decided stay here to celebrate a (ahem) 'milestone' birthday. We arrived early evening after travelling from Edinburgh. We received a friendly welcome and all staff speak excellent English (yet again putting us to shame). Our room was 'superior', on the 4th floor, which is accessed either by the large main staircase or by a very small lift which only fits 3 (or fewer if you have luggage). The room was towards the rear of the property which made it a bit quieter apart from if there was a particularly noisy bunch in the partially covered patio area on the ground floor (a great place to gather, although I was intrigued as to why they never seemed to make full use of all the outdoor lighting). The room, in spite of being "superior", had limited facilities - no tea/coffee making, fridge or balcony. The staff explained this to us but we had been led to believe there were more facilities from the hotel's marketing. There was a large twin bed and another smaller one, presumably made up from a sofa bed. The room was spacious and pretty clean, and the shower was good with plenty clean towels provided. No air conditioning which meant always needing to leave the windows open. Beware if bringing electric gadgets - I only found one socket in the whole room where I could use a double adapter as they were all so close to the wall. Room was serviced each day in spite of our later departures. Wine hour (5-6pm) is a great opportunity to relax and get to know the other guests. We did not opt for breakfast as we felt the charge was incredibly high (around £22 per person). Free coffee was available between 7am and 11am. The staff were always very helpful, including making recommendations for good restaurants in the area. Generally a very family friendly and welcoming vibe. Location is good - about 10 mins walk from the nearest Metro station (Forum) and regularly served by the no 66 bus service (along with others) - stops just across the road - which takes you into the city centre. Also within easy walking distance of Frederiksberg and Nørrebro shops and attractions - would recommend taking a walk through the Assistens cemetery which is beautifully laid out and also offers some shorter routes to other destinations.
So, would I stay here again? Yes, however would consider upgrading the room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank pie-in-the-skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya S, Hotel Manager at Avenue Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice and detailed review!

All comments good or bad is highly appreciated, only by being told we can do better.
I am of course sorry that you did not have as good as an experience as you had hoped with staying with us.

We always try our best for all our guests to be satisfied. I take your points to me and will look seriously at how our service can be improved.

Good to hear that you felt that the staff at the hotel was friendly, helpful.

Very best Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The common areas of the hotel were ok but the room I paid $258 for was shocking! Absolutely tiny! Couldn't swing a cat!
Few amenities, no drinking water, noisy street no airconditioning so window needed to be open letting all the heavy traffic sound in. Right next to lift well that clanged all night. And the trump card is mould in the shower! yes mould ! A standard no no for any hotel , what's worse was they knew about it and hadn't done anything about it yet! I would have made
it a priority.
Wine hour was good though. A long way to go with this one to get it right.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya S, Hotel Manager at Avenue Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. All comments good or bad are highly appreciated, only by being told we can do better.
I take your points to me and will look seriously at how our service can be improved.

As far as the size of the room, unfortunately I cannot see what room you had at your stay, but we have different categories of rooms, and also different sizes. We have small single - small double- Superior Double and Junior Suites.
Our bar is open 24 hours, her you can buy beverages. Our Junior suites have a all inclusive minibar - where chosen beverages are complimentary in the rate.
As we speak, we are taking care of our showers, and I apologize that you had the feeling that we didn't take action on this.
I am truly sorry that your stay with us did not become the experience that you had hoped for as we strive towards 100% guest satisfaction.

Feel free to contact me directly, if you are visiting Copenhagen again

Best regards
Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is definitely worth paying a visit. The lounge area at the back is nice and if you love wines and champagne, it is your place to be. The location is just outside the city centre which is positive as well.
The room itself could be made cleaner if you take a closer look. Heaps of dust in the ventilators and outdated and less clean bathrooms. They should focus on that more.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Giliam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya S, Hotel Manager at Avenue Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review - We really appreciate.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us, that you enjoyed both the atmosphere and the staff’s service.
We apologize for the cleaning issue and will take action on this right away.

We hope to welcome you back at the Avenue Hotel in the nearest future.

Have a lovely day.

Best regards
Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews