We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location with direct access to Monsal Trail”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John P
Coalville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good location with direct access to Monsal Trail”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked the stay at short notice and chose it particularly for the location. The cottage was comfortable with two double bedrooms each with en-suite. Unfortunately we did experience a problem with the heating and hot water and had to contact the owner about this. A temporary fix was carried out which enabled the shower to be used and we were assured a more permanent solution would be effected after our departure.
It is worth noting that there is no Wifi at the property and you need to bring your own towels and tea but this is clearly stated in the property particulars.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating and hot water issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adaajoku
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Average Accomodation”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here as a group of four and the pictures look so much better than the accommodation. Whilst it wasn't a bad place, I had very high expectations of the property on booking. Something are very obvious as it's 2015 but this wasn't the case. A good example is that the property lacked wifi and with the very poor mobile reception in the area, keeping in touch with the real world was very difficult. I suppose this wouldn't be a problem for people that just want to get away but not very good for me. The cooker is also as if it's been handed down from the 80's as it's the very old style electric hob. Over the three nights, it was impossible to get hot water in one of the shower rooms, the parking was also a little tricky on the first night as there was a car in the allocated parking space so both our cars had to be parked by the gate. Which soon filled up as there was a large group staying. The next morning, the car was moved but it would have been nice if the owners enforced the rule a bit more. Another bug bear was that it was impossible to get hold of the property owners on the evening that we arrived as there isn't a mobile number which you can contact and they didn't always get the fixed phone. The cleaners also need to do a better job in my opinion as it was very dusty around the property. I also don't understand why towels and tea towels aren't provided, I know that you get warned beforehand but they are very basic requirements. Also if you plan on cooking, you will need to take your own condiments like cooking oils etc.
All in all, I've stayed in better places for less

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Coach House; we appreciate that this takes your time and we are grateful as this helps us to ensure we are providing suitable accommodation for all the different groups we have the pleasure of hosting.

Firstly, As you mentioned, each cottage has allocated parking for guests, which should always be available during your stay and we apologise that another guest chose to use your space. We allocate parking so guest arriving later or popping out will always find their space available. We trust that guests will be considerate to other guests. As soon as we were aware of this error we contacted the guests first thing the next morning and as you said they removed the vehicle straight away. We find that our guests are generous towards others and are quick to rectify matters if this is mentioned to them.

We are sorry that you had high expectation that you felt were not met in this cottage; we have a lots of guest using the cottages and many prefer the more traditional style of cottage and return each season to this cottage. Each of the cottages are different as we have a variety of guests that visit the Peak District, for example the Old Dairy is more contemporary barn style cottage with a large open plan living area which might not suit guests looking for a cosy traditional cottage We are pleased that you reported it is not a bad place and that the facilities and comfort was not a concern to your party. We have not had any comment relating to dust previously so we will discuss this with the team who service the cottages twice weekly. We believe the pictures are a good representation of the cottages, however, we will review these in light of your comments and update if required as some furnishings may have been replaced. The cottage has a combi boiler so should always provide hot water to both shower rooms, we offer our apologies that you experienced a problem and that this was not brought to our attention at the time. We would expect any guest with a difficulty to advise us of this so we have the opportunity of investigating and rectifying matters for them and ensuring all is good for the next guest too. Both showers appear to working fine when tested.

There is a mobile number on the information in the cottages. so we are sorry you did not manage to contact the owners on the evening, and as you mentioned, we did receive your email which was responded to immediately. Unfortunately the cottage mobile telephone reception can be patchy in more rural areas. As you have stated this is important to you it would have been useful to know this when you were booking ; if you had discussed your particular requirements we could have advised on the most suitable choice of cottage. The neighbouring cottage, the Old Diary has wifi for guest that prefer this, however, as you have recognised, we do have guest that prefer not to have these facilities on their vacation.

We offer self catering accommodation and as you have mentioned and advise guests in advance on what they can expect and what they need to bring with them. Most guest do cater accordingly, additionally, we can offer a towel rental package from the local laundry service; this can be requested in advance for guest convenience. We find increasingly that guests arrange a delivery for food and provisions so they can relax enjoy their time, all the major supermarkets deliver to the cottages and the local stores are open 7 days a week ,some till 10pm!

We are pleased that you took the time to review the cottage, if we are aware of what our guests require we will advise which cottage may suit them better so they thoroughly enjoy their visit to the Peak Park and we hope you will visit the area again and would be delighted to welcome you again, perhaps at a different cottage at Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliB320
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great cottage in a beautiful setting. Only problem was some of the taps were a bit stiff and my 89 year Aunt couldn't switch them off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was spacious, clean and comfortable
Liked least: close proximity to road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing