We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spring Cottage

Spring cottage, with patio facing the hamlet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring cottage, with patio facing the hamlet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Spring cottage, with patio facing the hamlet
Rear private patio, with BBQ and well kept garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily R
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spring Cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed at Spring Cottage, which is part of the Old Hall Inn complex and self-catering. If you are of the older generation then this cottage has character and the food at The Old Hall Inn will be enjoyable. Our family are younger and unfortunately our children found the cottage old fashioned and small . They found the food at The Old Hall Inn to be a bit 'grown up' for them also. The main room (there are just two) has a small double bed (a bit small for my husband and I and I did nearly fall out once - quite funny). The window latches in the bathroom were broken so they couldn't be closed, but the owner did explain that it was probably because they were well used and did offer to put something up if we wanted. The upstairs we found small and the heating seemed to come on in the morning upstairs when the hot water was put on so the room was very warm (considering it's summer). The traffic noise was very loud so sitting in the garden wasn't a good experience because of this and opening the bedroom window let the noise in also. The shower is good though and the locals friendly.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn & Cottage. We have various accommodation options, including a much larger cottage if more space is required. You can find a virtual tour of the cottages and rooms on offer on our website as well as a copy of our menus, including our pub classics, seasonal specials and children's menu. We try to cater to all tastes. We cook everything fresh every day and are happy to accommodate requests when possible.

The hot water and heating do work independently of each other, and the heating is controlled by the guests, but we are always happy to assist if the in house instructions aren't clear.

I'm sorry to read that not everything was to your taste, as its our hope that all guests leave completely satisfied, and we read your review with interest. Thank you. Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearfos
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

As there were no rooms left in the Old Hall we rented the cottage, although we didn't know where it was. What a surprise we had when we were shown the cottage. Just perfect, and wished we could have stayed for longer. Everything is there to allow you to stay there just one night as we did or stay for much longer. Just by the two pubs, its in the prefect position. Dan has got managing and running the two pubs to a tee. The location, the food (fantastic steak and steak and ale pudding, and of course a superb breakfast), the cask ale of course, the cleanliness, the service. I could go on. This was our 4th visit and probably the best. Just a brilliant place to be. Well done Dan and see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cozy cottage, just picture perfect
Liked least: Cant think of anything !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
What a great review, thank you. Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Clare106...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous accommodation and food”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My son and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. After a long day spent sightseeing we had a fabulous meal in the pub. Lovely service and really friendly staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: quiet location and good food
Liked least: size ...it was a little bit small
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSM6147
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“clean comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is warm and comfortable and the real fire is an added bonus. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food at the Old Hall is excellent and we fully enjoyed our evenings spent at the restaurant.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel L
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, good location, very much as advertised”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a lovely few days away. Cottage very comfortable with everything we needed. Great food in the pub. My only complaint was the steak and ale pudding - so good it left no room for the gorgeous desserts! Seriously though, the pub had a great selection of beers. Daniel was a good host. Will definitely consider a return visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you for the recommendation, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Best Regards
Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing