We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spring Cottage

Spring cottage, with patio facing the hamlet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring cottage, with patio facing the hamlet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Spring cottage, with patio facing the hamlet
Rear private patio, with BBQ and well kept garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sleepymum...
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hidden gem. This beautiful cottage was cosy and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay The views across the hills from the cottage were delightful. It is ideally situated for peak district walking. However, due to one member of our party being pregnant and another having had a knee operation not much walking took place but that did not stop us getting about in the car. The weather was glorious and with so much to see ans do we were spoilt for choice!! We were even, able to see the well dressing ceremony take place at Tideswell! We ate at The Old Hall Inn, adjacent to Spring Cottage, on our first night. We sat in the wonderful minstrals gallery and all four of us enjoyed our food which was plentiful and very tasty. So much so, that none of us needed breakfast the next day either at the cottage or at the Inn. Can recommend MacBurnhamsthe family butcher in Chapel-en-le-Frith, where we bought some supplies. We look forward to returning to Spring Cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location- easy access to the rest of the peak district without being in the hub of everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are both delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Best Regards
Dan and Nat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue R
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is very comfortable and nicely decorated. Good heating and shower. Lovely walks from the front door and a great selection of beers in the two local pubs. We found this a very special, friendly place and have already booked a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of the lovely accommodation, with very friendly pubs
Liked least: A6 - it's close and you hear a little traffic noise at the back, but not intrusive at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are looking forward to your return visit. Best Regards Nat and Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flosnow
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautifully cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in this beautiful cottage for a week and had a wonderful time. Great location, two amazing pubs, friendly people and a perfect cottage! Our children loved it too!
Thank you to Dan the owner for making our holiday so lovely. We will be back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you for the great review, we look forward to your return visit. Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul v
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Picture perfect delight!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Beautiful Derbyshire location, wonderful facilities, would have happily stayed longer. Owners made sure our stay was a happy one! Close enough to town yet far enough away to feel deep in the country-side. Cottage decorated and restored to a very high standard, looking forward to another visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. Delighted you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Dan and Nat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nandc
uk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in Spring Cottage at the end of August and enjoyed a fantastic week exploring the stunning local countryside. The cottage was extremely comfortable and well-furnished and very clean; everything you would need is provided. It also had a very effective heating system, which warmed the cottage in minutes for those chilly evenings in August! Logs are also provided for an open fire if desired. There is a local shop and a large supermarket in the nearby town and of course the two fantastic pubs (one with restaurant) that Dan and Nat (the hosts) run in Whitehough itself.
We did all three of Dan’s recommended walks, and found the local area so lovely we didn’t need to go further afield. We had a wonderful week and will definitely return – would highly recommend.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing