We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in lovely setting”

Le Fangourin Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located near the famous Pamplemousses Garden, Le Fangourin lies in the delightful setting, tucked away in the midst of L'Aventure du Sucre Estate, with magnificent views across lush, tropical countryside leading in the distance to Pieter Both Mountain. In this calm, peaceful and relax atmosphere, enjoy a refined meal, with the best Mauritian ingredients. Do not miss our delicious house-made desserts featuring the famous unrefined sugars, including dark chocolate fondant with molasses, crème brûlée with demerara sugar and our home-made cocktails. And for the kids, special menus are available. If you are in a hurry, try our tasty and fresh wraps, paninis or sweet tartlets at the Beau Plan Express Train, just next to the restaurant.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is ideally placed for a visit after the botanic gardens. It is it is part of the Aventure du Sucre which is just across the M3 roundabout opposite the exit for the Gardens. Located in the former sugar estate administrators office it has a lovely view of the grounds & distant mountain range. Inside and outside seating - one sealed area which air conditioned. Great selection of local dishes with something to suit everyone. We shared the Mauritian sharer plate as a starter which was very generous. The tuna tartare was a very large starter. All beautifully presented. Desserts were all excellent - hot chocolate fondant, Panna cotta & crepe brûlée. Accommodated our gluten free friend. Service was also good but they need to remove the sugar from the tables quickly after meals as the local birds were helping themselves....or just serve the sugars with lids.

Thank Globetrotterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwige g, General Manager at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you so much four your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your experience at Le Fangourin Restaurant. We took good note for the lids which in fact were in production with our local carpenter and were delivered yesterday to the restaurant. We wish you a happy festive season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

I recently visited Mauritius after 14 years of absence from my beautiful island and was impressed by the visit at L’Aventure du Sucre. The food at the restaurant was simply divine and the service even if it was slow was great. We were on holiday so we did not mine the wait. I would come back again to that beautiful restaurant.

Thank Virginie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violaine C, Responsable réception at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback on your experience both at the museum and restaurant.
Your kind recommendation is appreciated and looking forward to welcoming you back during a next trip.

Best regards from our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We visited the restaurant after the tour at L'aventure du sucre and we had an octopus salad and pasta and for desert ice cream with flavours from the island. The food was exceptionally good and our waiter, Sharook was very helpful and friendly.
It was a nice experience after the tour, and we would definitely recommend it.

Thank Irina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violaine C, Responsable réception at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your kind comment and your appreciation of the food and assistance of Sharook. We are delighted that you had a nice experience and we are grateful for your recommendation. Looking forward to seeing you back at l'Aventure du Sucre and at our Restaurant. Warm regards from our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We enjoyed the sirloin steak, king prawns, chocolate fondant (excellent) and crème brûlée. However the service was lackadaisical and very slow. Several tables of diners arrived after us and were served and finished well before we were. No bread delivered to the table (other tables received their bread automatically). I think we were just unlucky with our waiter - otherwise an excellent place to eat under a huge tent looking into the gardens

Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violaine C, Responsable réception at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback and take good note of your comments which will be taken on board for improvement. We sincerely regret for this lack of attention and care which has impacted on your experience. We will try to make our best in order to assure a better service. However, your kind recommendation is more than appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back for a better experience. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We had a delicious meal, the surroundings were lovely. Our waiter Sharook was very helpful, polite and made us feel welcome. We would definitely recommend the restaurant!

Thank alex1090568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violaine C, Responsable réception at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for your recommendation of our Restaurant and the nice experience you made with the assistance of Sharook. We are proud that you were given excellent care. Please be reassured of our continued dedication for good service. Hoping to see you again at our Restaurant. Warm regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Fangourin Restaurant also viewed

Moka, Moka District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 
Calodyne, Grand Gaube
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Le Fangourin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing