We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday let we have had in England”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riding Cottage

Riding Cottage - the horse was passing by and is not a resident!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riding Cottage - the horse was passing by and is not a resident!
Comfortable sitting area. Relax on the reclining leather sofas. Sitting area. Large screen television and wi-fi.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Riding Cottage - the horse was passing by and is not a resident!
Comfortable sitting area. Relax on the reclining leather sofas.
Sitting area. Large screen television and wi-fi.
Kitchen
Kitchen and stairs
Cosy dining area
Main bedroom. King size bed and blackout blinds
Second bedroom: Twin beds and blackout blind
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Riding Cottage, The Stables
Pedestrian access to the Stables Courtyard from Hign Street
Access to the Stables Courtyard from Back High Street
High Street Pateley Bridge
High Street Pateley Bridge
Bridge over river Nidd Pateley Bridge
High Street Pateley Bridge
Studleigh Royal in autumn
Fountains Abbey in autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barthezz2...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Hit because:
Located in the centre of Pately Bridge and within walking distance of shops and parks
Property was clean and comfortable
Beds were comfortable
Wireless and TV good
Communication from the owner good

Miss because:
Property could be described as "in the middle of a beer garden" and on hot days, as we experienced, had a considerable number of people drinking and shouting up to midnight and the band playing on Saturday night was extremely loud. Not great for a family with children.
Even when the noise from the beer garden stopped the noise from the air conditioning machine from the pub could be heard as it kicked in every 10 mins throughout the night.
There are no curtains in the propert so even if we had fallen off to sleep despite the noise we would have been woken at 4am when the sun came up
I would rather there were no toiletries left than half used bottles of shampoo and gel

This is a good property for a couple wanting a lively few nights away or those that can sleep on a washing line but I would have reservations about taking young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to shops
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
I’m glad you liked the cottage but sorry your stay was spoiled by noise from the Crown Inn. I do sympathise because I am a light sleeper myself. The Crown has now put up a notice asking their customers to be mindful of being noisy and to respect their neighbours especially after 10.00pm. They will monitor the situation. I understand that the live music on that particular Saturday was not a band, it was a duo playing acoustic music inside and it finished at 11.00pm.
It is true that the cottage does not have curtains – it has blackout blinds. I’m sorry if you did not like these or find them effective.
I do like to have bottles of handwash in the kitchen and downstairs toilet but as these often last for many weeks it is inevitable that they may be half used. Guests are of course free to bring their own handwash or soap if they prefer.
Finally I try to make it clear in my description of the cottage that it is in the centre of Pateley, in a courtyard behind a public house; if you are seeking guaranteed peace and quiet it may not be the place for you. However I find that most of the time it is very peaceful and many of my guests, including families with children, agree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homeisany...
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday let we have had in England”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Riding Cottage for one month. This cottage is perfectly located with shops and restaurants just steps away. We are avid hikers so we were elated that there were so many beautiful walks straight from the door. The people in Pateley Bridge are very friendly and we found the tourist office to be exceptional... they went to great lengths to help us find the attractions we were interested in.
When we weren't hiking we enjoyed the wonderful Smart TV and the comfortable amenities of the cottage itself. We also enjoyed the community events such as the weekly band concerts in the park.
The area itself is just spectacular in its beauty.
We plan to come back in future and stay in this cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: pub next door can occasionally be a little noisy but this was a minor issue.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Riding Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed 5 th --8th, lovely village ,everything you need inside the cottage is there, very modern indeed,pateley bridge itself was busy friday but sat and sun wasnt ,only 2 pubs on the high st , both serve good food lots of tea shops etc to eat we found another 3 pubs within walking distance of about half hr ,we found lots to do and see and would highly recommend,also the owner janice made the whole letting process easy aswell

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
2 reviews
“The perfect place to get away from reality.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our 3rd stay in Pateley Bridge and 2nd stay at Riding Cottage and yet again it delivered just what we wanted. A break away from reality just enjoying the beautiful scenery. Great walks for all, whether you just want a short stroll or a long hike then Pateley Bridge is the perfect place. There are plenty of lovely tea rooms and a fantastic Italian restaurant. Riding Cottage is extremely well presented, very clean and I can't think of anything the owners haven't thought of. Sarah, Stephen & Celine from Peterborough

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_ager06
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Me and my husband spent a month here and loved it. Based in a lovely quiet town and surrounded by fabulous Yorkshire countryside, the location is great. The cottage itself was very clean, tidy and homely with good facilities including wifi a smart tv. I would highly recommend a stay here and we'll certainly be staying again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing