We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
92
78
46
33
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
78
46
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areascontinental breakfastvisitor centerdorm roompassage tombfull irishnewgrangeirelandaccommodationensuitedroghedadowthrugbycamping
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst at a friends wedding. Didnt realise that it was a hostel type arrangement. Bedroom is passable for one night and at price is fine. What isnt acceptable for that money is the excuse for a breakfast on offer. I have stayed in much cheaper b and bs with a way better breakfast. No butter, cutlery dirty and a poor effort of a non cooked breakfast selection. Avoid this place, if u like something to eat in morn! 70 euro was not value for money here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayneyMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We picked this "hostel" primarily because of its proximity to Newgrange (a must-see passage tomb that predates the pyramids!), but were pleasantly surprised to find it exceeded several other B & B's we stayed at in other parts of Ireland and which were much more expensive. Staff was wonderfully attentive--they thoughtfully placed us away from a youth group so we were not bothered by a large group--and helped us plan the afternoon. There are many great attractions nearby--Slane and Trim Castles, Mellifont, Abbey, etc. We stayed at one of their sister properties in Dublin and they went and they helped get back a jacket we left behind.

Room Tip: They will give you a choice of rooms if you ask.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

What an incredible venue close to Newgrange. With a vehicle we were able to access Drogatha, Slane, Tara, Kells etc. The staff were very friendly and catered for a busy number of guests with a great deal of grace and patience. They continually ensured our stay was a terrific experience and displayed a wonderful disposition. We valued the access to wi-fi and appreciated the community lounge areas etc. The continental breakfast was good and regularly replenished when supplies ran low. Our only concern was the size of our room for a family, however, most of our time was spent touring the local area and not in our room!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I had stopped off at Trim for some sightseeing and lunch before heading east to find a place to stay for one night close to Bru na Boinne (Newgrange historic site) on my last day in Ireland. The tourist information center in Trim recommended Newgrange Lodge which she described as a hostel and so much more. I was glad I took her recommendation.

Newgrange Lodge is located about 200 meters east of the Bru na Boinne Visitor Centre entrance and 3-4 km west of the village of Donore. The village has a pub, a pharmacy, and a small grocery store. The Lodge is surrounded by woods and has an open central courtyard with places to sit. There is a large car park in front.

And the Lodge really is a hybrid of hostel and guesthouse (or motel in the American sense). There are private rooms with ensuite baths--not large, but they have TVs and in-floor radiant heat controlled by an individual thermostat. The bathroom had a full-sized tub with shower and plenty of hot water. The Lodge is completely non-smoking except for a designated smoking area. There's a nice lounge with electric fire, a breakfast room with self-made coffee-tea available all day, and a kitchen with pots/dishes/utensils for guests to use. There are even bicycles available for guests. I was able to pop down to the village to pick up something for a light dinner and make it in the kitchen. There are also two computers for guests to use free.

A continental breakfast is included with your room. It's very basic with some cereals, rolls, canned fruit, and coffee or tea. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

From here it's just under an hour to the Dublin Airport (unless your rental car GPS takes you in circles like mine did) so for those arriving jet lagged but wanting to see one of the "must-see" Irish historic sights on your first day, this would make a good first night stop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Our company, Eireway Ltd, had our first ever photo workshop here at Newgrange Lodge. We were well taken care of and our customers had a good time. Rooms were clean and tidy and so were the rest of the place. Staff was polite and service minded. Our next workshop will definately be held here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews