We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, excellent place to stay, great value”
Review of Newgrange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newgrange Lodge
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I'm a little surprised at another review I saw complaining about the continental breakfast. That's exactly what it was and not only does their web site state that, it was reiterated when I made my reservation. It was just fine for us- a nice break from the full Irish was had nearly everywhere else we stayed.

We checked in after getting lost (due to our GPS, should have just followed the signs) and the guy working the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We joked around with him a while and he made sure we knew about the attractions in the area and how to get to them without getting lost. We unpacked a bit, and not wanting to drive anymore, went down to get some supper. We got a really excellent Irish stew with so much wonderful lamb as well as bread and tea and dessert for 10 euro each. It was in fact the best lamb stew I had in Ireland.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet and a great deal at 55 euros for a twin room. The WiFi worked great in the common areas. The only drawbacks were not great coffee- tasted like instant (I learned to just drink tea in Ireland), the bathroom steamed up quite a bit (minor inconvenience), and the beds were on wheels so they moved around a bit. The great staff more than made up for these small issues.

Pictures are included so you can see everything for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskantiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst at a friends wedding. Didnt realise that it was a hostel type arrangement. Bedroom is passable for one night and at price is fine. What isnt acceptable for that money is the excuse for a breakfast on offer. I have stayed in much cheaper b and bs with a way better breakfast. No butter, cutlery dirty and a poor effort of a non cooked breakfast selection. Avoid this place, if u like something to eat in morn! 70 euro was not value for money here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayneyMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We picked this "hostel" primarily because of its proximity to Newgrange (a must-see passage tomb that predates the pyramids!), but were pleasantly surprised to find it exceeded several other B & B's we stayed at in other parts of Ireland and which were much more expensive. Staff was wonderfully attentive--they thoughtfully placed us away from a youth group so we were not bothered by a large group--and helped us plan the afternoon. There are many great attractions nearby--Slane and Trim Castles, Mellifont, Abbey, etc. We stayed at one of their sister properties in Dublin and they went and they helped get back a jacket we left behind.

Room Tip: They will give you a choice of rooms if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

What an incredible venue close to Newgrange. With a vehicle we were able to access Drogatha, Slane, Tara, Kells etc. The staff were very friendly and catered for a busy number of guests with a great deal of grace and patience. They continually ensured our stay was a terrific experience and displayed a wonderful disposition. We valued the access to wi-fi and appreciated the community lounge areas etc. The continental breakfast was good and regularly replenished when supplies ran low. Our only concern was the size of our room for a family, however, most of our time was spent touring the local area and not in our room!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I had stopped off at Trim for some sightseeing and lunch before heading east to find a place to stay for one night close to Bru na Boinne (Newgrange historic site) on my last day in Ireland. The tourist information center in Trim recommended Newgrange Lodge which she described as a hostel and so much more. I was glad I took her recommendation.

Newgrange Lodge is located about 200 meters east of the Bru na Boinne Visitor Centre entrance and 3-4 km west of the village of Donore. The village has a pub, a pharmacy, and a small grocery store. The Lodge is surrounded by woods and has an open central courtyard with places to sit. There is a large car park in front.

And the Lodge really is a hybrid of hostel and guesthouse (or motel in the American sense). There are private rooms with ensuite baths--not large, but they have TVs and in-floor radiant heat controlled by an individual thermostat. The bathroom had a full-sized tub with shower and plenty of hot water. The Lodge is completely non-smoking except for a designated smoking area. There's a nice lounge with electric fire, a breakfast room with self-made coffee-tea available all day, and a kitchen with pots/dishes/utensils for guests to use. There are even bicycles available for guests. I was able to pop down to the village to pick up something for a light dinner and make it in the kitchen. There are also two computers for guests to use free.

A continental breakfast is included with your room. It's very basic with some cereals, rolls, canned fruit, and coffee or tea. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

From here it's just under an hour to the Dublin Airport (unless your rental car GPS takes you in circles like mine did) so for those arriving jet lagged but wanting to see one of the "must-see" Irish historic sights on your first day, this would make a good first night stop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donore
16.5 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
689 reviews
6.7 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.7 km away
Daly's of Donore
Daly's of Donore
#1 of 1 in Donore
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Lodge

Address: Staleen Road | Newgrange, Donore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Donore
Price Range: ₹ 3,752 - ₹ 7,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newgrange Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly an old farmhouse, Newgrange Lodge provides a unique venue the offer hotel accommodation and traditional Irish hospitality at bed and breakfast rates to both groups and the independent traveler alike. We are located opposite the world famous Heritage site of Newgrange, a tomb pre-dating the pyramids and Stonehenge by 400 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Newgrange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing