We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
84
19
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
19
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared kitchen homestay experience perfect place to stay first floor thekkady hospitality cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The prior communication to our stay with Misty Green was terrible. A couple of weeks after booking I received an email to say that our booking was going to be cancelled if we didn't pay up the full cost of the rooms to a paypal account with an email address which didn't match any of the emails on the website etc. Of course I was dubious and contacted the homestay who confirmed they had sent the email requesting the money. Still unsure we came to an agreement that I would pay $5 to reserve the rooms and make the final payments when we arrived.
After a five hour drive to the homestay we were greeted by Maggie and Felix unceremoniously announcing that we were not in fact staying at the Misty Green, but at Felix's sisters homestay about a kilometre away. We had specifically chosen Misty Green due to it's proximity to Periyar Tiger Reserve where we had booked a trip for the next day, and already organised our pick-up from there. Had we been told in advance we would be moving this would not have been an issue, but communication with the trip organisers had always been slow and we knew changing the location would be challenging. In the end we had to organise a tuk tuk to first return us to Misty Green in time for our original pick up.
We stayed at lots of homestays over the course of the trip and this was the only one that wouldn't accept card payment. Again we hadn't been warned of this in advance so found ourselves having to go out to get money from an ATM at the last minute (considering we were paying more than RS10000 I don't think we should be expected to be carrying this money on us). Unfortunately none of the ATMs in the area were working, and so, amongst a lot of stress and arguments, we finally managed to organise the payment through paypal.

The homemade Christmas cake was delicious.
Whilst we didn't stay in Misty Green as we were moved to another homestay (Bamboo Creek), the place we were put was lovely, and did us a delicious meal that night. Very comfortable and beautiful location. Lizzie was very accommodating.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Experience52835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Excellent Place to Stay.Located near to all place we wanted to visit in thekkady. Lovely ambiance, Good & clean rooms. Felix Uncle & Maggie aunty was so nice, Felt like we are with family. The homemade chocolate was so yummy... Everyone should try it.
Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: First Floor Rooms for better view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harikrishnanpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie709, Owner at MistyGreen Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your excellent review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Its another home far away from my own house.. superb facilities, amazing people, wonderful host, and most delicious traditional breakfast.. a family trip aimed at relaxation was truly successful.. i would love to go again and again to have the most beautiful and mesmerizing moments of my life..

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Simpy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

The place turns out to be exactly what we need towards the end of our vacation. A place to relax and calm down. The rooms were also very warm considering how cold the weather was. Service was clearly notch above expectation and great value for money. There was free WiFi which worked very well and we parked the car right outside the room. Right from everything like location, owner's behavior, facilities, cleanliness, comfort to food were excellent .There were certain facilities and services provided by the owner Mr. Felix , which money cannot buy. We were truly delighted & super happy by his hospitality.Needless to mention that it was strategically located and you can cover maximum scenic spots staying here.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank vaishaliaroraa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Home away home that's the feeling I got here.... amazing location... Lovely service....definitely would like to visit again... Friendly and helpful staff, lovely & great first impression of this place. It was clean, stylish and room with excellent service. I hope to be back for longer visit...☺☺

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie709, Owner at MistyGreen Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your excellent review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews